We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed Feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Gleneagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gleneagle Hotel
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

I stayed in the Gleneagle with my fiance for two nights b&b and 1 dinner. I have mixed feelings about the whole experience. In relation to the room, it was a nice size and very clean and the bar food is perfectly fine. However, the restaurant food left alot to be desired and on checking out, the receptionist tried to make us pay for a dinner, even though it was part of our deal. When we explained that dinner on one of the nights was part of the deal, he just shrugged and said 'right, then just the room service charge then' for the breakfast we had ordered to our room!! The hotel itself is really a matter of personal taste, there were alot of kids running around and a bit of a tacky feel at times, but on the upside, the room was lovely and the hotel is fabulously placed for tourist attractions.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MollyWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
I would firstly like to thank this Trip Advisor member for taking the time to share their feedback and to thank them for their positive comments in relation to the bedroom & the Bar Food.

I wish to apologise for the fact that there was an incorrect dinner posting charged to your account. This would only have happened due to a technical error and most definitely was not deliberate, and yes, the Receptionist should have explained this to you better.

I notice that this customer’s date of stay was in August last year and would like to say that since then we have made vast improvements with our ongoing soft refurbishment plans which has included the Main Lobby area with new beautiful new carpet, wallpaper and décor which has provided a great lift to the reception area and all our regular customers have commented very positively on it and love the new look.

We hope that one day this customer will return and be pleasantly surprised and won’t have such mixed feelings.

(Please feel free to contact me directly should you decide to return and I will endeavour to ensure you fully enjoy your visit)

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    344
    163
    123
    120
See reviews for
402
382
23
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2010

We cant understand why people are making such awful comments on this Hotel.
We had the most enjoyable break ever.
everything has been pleasant from the very beginning.
at the desk a very courteous lady checked us in in room 344 which had a very nice view
and a young porter helped us with luggage.
The room was spotless, warm and comfortable. it is really the case of "Home away from

Home" as Sean Keane says in his song "I was loaded with bacon and with sausages and tea" and this is the case when it comes to the buffet breakfast!!

we were always booked in for dinner at 6pm and not a minute later. we found the food
lovely and well presented, we were offered nice bottles of wine and has to be said that
these waitron know their job. So a big thank to the Restaurant Manager Geraldine and
the Chef brigade in the kitchen.

Killarney is a lovely little town with plenty to do around. And if you don't want to
leave the Hotel relax by the fireplace and enjoy a book and a cup of tea.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judeandaidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
On behalf of all the Management & Staff here at the Gleneagle we would like to thank this Trip Advisor Member for taking the time to express such heartfelt gratitude on their visit with us.

It is very much appreciated as all too often people sadly just tend to post negative comments about our hotel and we know from our huge amount of repeat clientele that there are many people that feel and experience what this customer described above.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you return in the very near future.


Many Thanks Again
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

me and my boyfriend got a pair of tickets to concert in inec and we said we'd stay in gleneagle for convenience, would have much preferred paying for a taxi or walking someplace than staying there again!!

arrived up into the hallway where our room was...roof was dripping with water and buckets were on the ground...not a great first impression. Fair enough if there was a problem, but we should have been informed of this when we checked in. Got into the room...no heating on and went for a shower...no hot water. Rang down to reception and to be fair they dealt with it quickly but when you're paying money for a room, this shouldn't happen.

next...dinner, my 16 year old brother could do better, waitress who met us a door just walked off and left us like a pair of eejits, eventually was told to find a table for ourselves..bit random i thought. Food was so bad we went out to chipper van that was outside for concert.

next morning...cleaners outside having a fine old chat outside our bedroom door at half 8. then someone knocked on our door asking about our room, we were like what the hell, its half 8, we're on holidays!!

we then spent a bit of time filling out the comment card, when we checked out we weren't asked how our stay was and the comment card was just put in a box. This angered me so much that when i was a mile down the road I rang the hotel and asked to speak to a manager, which i did. Explained how i felt, got the same story that caroline is giving everyone, that everyone else had a great stay..utterly bonkers, look at majority of comments...they are all bad. Will not be staying in this place again....and caroline if I'm going to get a sarcastic comment off you about this...don't bother responding to it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
I would like to acknowledge this Trip Advisor members comment and just say how very disappointed I am at having read this report.

There are many issues pointed out here that have been all discussed with the Manager on Duty.
These issues are being presently dealt with by this Manager and the customer directly.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Antrim Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2010

Second stay here and it was EXCELLENT!!
Reception and other areas are undergoing refurbishment and looking very smart.
We had a lovely room on 5th floor with everything you would need.
It was bitterly cold when we were there and the rooms were always lovely and warm.
Crisp white bedlinen and a blue'velvet' blanket kept us warm at night,and copious hot water was available for showers and baths.
Food in the restaurant was great, good choice, well cooked and beautifully presented.
The staff here make the hotel so welcoming,very friendly and nothing was any trouble.
Didn't use the leisure centre,so can not comment on that.
Great entertainment every night.
I can not understand the negative reviews about this hotel.
Yes, a few areas are a little 'tired', but everywhere is spotlessly clean. This is an excellent three star hotel which has a great atmosphere, good food, incredible staff ,and offers fantastic value for money.
We would stay here anytime.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sentosa54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2010
We would like to thank this Trip Advisor Member for your positive comments on our their recent visit to the Gleneagle.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that thank you again for your lovely warm comments, what a delight to read. Wishing you a very Happy New Year and we certainly look forward to seeing you in 2011.



Many Thanks
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyheigue, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2010

From the time we got to the reception desk to the time we left the staff were courtious and passed on tips that made our stay a pleasure. The Meal at the restuarant was outstanding and for a 3 course meal plus tea or coffee to last 55 minutes includes taking the order is outstanding. There were lots of people being served at the time. If you pay for your meal in advance at the desk you get all that for €20. Where do you get that for a 4 star hotel? Among the many places to sit and enjoy a chat or just reading in front of the fireplace we found such a place on the side of the main connection corridor. That room belonged to a different century and the atmosphere was lovely. No TV or piped Music just relaxed atmosphere and a big fireplace. Wow.
All else is what you expect from a 4 star hotel, from the bedroom to the breakfast the following morning. If you combine it with a concert then it is outstanding as they also run the INEC, which is spectacular.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RosesWarudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2010
I would personally like to say a very Big Thank you to this trip Advisor member for such a wonderful report on their recent visit. We our indeed very proud of our staff and the service in which everyone delivers and of the fantastic atmosphere that makes the Gleneagle what it is.

Yes, our special promotional menus are certainly excellent value for money and we consistently receive very positive feedback.
May I also point out that we are in fact a 3 Star Hotel and not a 4 Star as was mentioned, this in turn makes it all the more delightful to receive such posititive feedback.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and our sincere thanks and gratitude to you for taking the time out of this busy period to relay your experiences on your stay with us.

Merry Christmas and hope you visit again in the coming year.

Many Thanks
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarascon-sur-Ariege, France
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2010

This hotel is located in a wonderful location surrounded by mountains, lakes and green everywhere !!!!
staff very nice and always smiling : we met the PR manager Caroline and she is so sweet and she can split in two to help you !!!!!!!
we can leave our kids in the leisure center with no problem and they give so much fun to them. they are not very good swimmers so they had also swimming lessons from a very expert staff.
food is very good and breakfast in the room is a real treat.
we woll book again in january. see you soon !!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chriscarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2010
I just want to say a big thank you to this Trip Advisor Member for this beautiful positive feedback on their experience at the Gleneagle Hotel.
This is exactly as it is here at the Hotel and we all care very much and yes always want to go out of our way to please our customers. It’s like many people say to me “ HOME FROM HOME”….

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you again for taking the time to post your feedback. Unfortunately it’s the people who only tend to post negative comments on trip advisor that give people the wrong impression of what we really have to offer and how we really are a great team who constantly want to do our best for the customers.

As the Guest Relations Manager, I know people that have been very loyal customers for many years and families that have returned just because of the fantastic experience they’ve had here and the range of facilities and Kids Club activities we run during summer & special holidays.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon again and if I can be of any assistance in the future please do not hesitate in contacting me in advance of your booking.

Joyeux Noel et Bonne Annẽe.....

Merci Beaucoup et a Bientồt.
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

The only reason we stayed at this hotel was because we received a good offer, now I understand why we received a good offer - its a very ,very low 3 star hotel .

Where to start !!!

The rooms - welcome back to the 1970's,very old interior design,lovely patch work in the bath , filthy mirrors in both the bedroom and bathroom which is not acceptable to todays standard ,the only plus is that the room was spacious

Leisure Centre - this was a joke ! fastest trip to a leisure centre I ever had ,firstly no lockers in the changing room-disgraceful ! ,steam room we are still laughing today over it basically it was a room full of steam with green plastic garden chairs :-) sauna fits 4 people ,anymore it would feel like like a cattle mart ,the whirl pool big in size ,operates every 3 mins according to the sign, more like every 15 mins and after waiting for it to start operating had two pumps working, it was more like one big hot bath supplied with lovely mould around the edging !!!
The pool was scary,1st leisure centre/pool I have ever visited and I have visited alot , no smell of chlorine in the air and cloudy pool water-scary ! one lap of pool and we were out of it god knows what you could catch !!! this leisure centre cries out to be shut down and renovated and to think people actually pay membership fees for this !!! also the 1st hotel in any country that I ever came across that charges a 1euro fee towel use in a leisure centre , and by the way if you are planning on staying here might be a good idea to bring your own bath towel and they only supply you with a towel n0t much bigger than a hand towel !

The meal - the day before our stay we recieved a call confirming that our reservation for our meal at 8.30p.m. .When we went down for our meal we were told there was no reservation made and that our name was not on the list ,however as the waiter walked away we noticed and that yes we were on the list but for 6pm ,and now we had to wait for a table -not impressed !!!

The following morning after breakfast we went back to our room to find out door card no longer worked also another couple in the room next to ours had the same issue ,since our room couldnt have been any further away ,this was the final straw for this hotel !

Overall, this is a old run-down hotel, pay extra and stay at a nicer hotel in Killarney ,
grand for families,but for couples defo not a place to stay unless you like children running riot around at all hours of day and night

I have stayed at alot of hotels in the states and I would cringe at what our American friends would think of this hotel !!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corkchick2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2010
Where do I start !!!!

How disappointing I find to receive such negative feedback. Yes we are a 3 star Hotel but by no means a filty, run down hotel and we would not be operating such a sucessful company if this was totally true. This report is based on this customers Opinion.

Yes indeed we have some amazingly good offers, like last weekend, for example 2 Nights B&B plus an Evening meal for €99pp also including nightly entertainment till late both nights and I must say that everyone else that stayed on this special offer were actually quite thrilled to receive such great value.
Perhaps our sister Hotel just next door, the Brehon, which is a 4 Star Delux Hotel would would have been more suited to this customers particular taste.

We do not agree with the comments relating to the jacuzzi as the water is filtered on a 24 hour cycle and the bubbles pump operates on timed basis (3 mins cycle).This is clearly explained on a sign at the entrance to the jacuzzi.

The seating in the steamroom is plastic and removable as it is easier to clean than fixed furniture. We have spoken to our members about this comment and they feel that in their experience they like our steamroom, it is spacious and the Dry Sauna is compact and fits 4 comfortably.

In relation to the lack of chlorine smell, our large pool area rarely has a smell of chlorine which our customers comment positively on. We test the pool and jacuzzi water 6 times daily to ensure the chlorine levels are adequate and meet all Health & Safety Regulations.

I am sorry that this customer felt the need to write such negative comments and not experience the Gleneagle hotel in any positive form as the majority of our customers do and leave Thanking us for a wonderful stay.
Everyone is entitled to their opinion however their opinion is not always a true reflection and sometimes just their own personal dislike.

So please do not allow a report like this put you off your stay you may find you are pleasanly surprised….. And should anyone wish to contact me in relation to any comments I will be happy to discuss.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 39 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#25 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#20 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagle Hotel

Property: Gleneagle Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleneagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gleneagle is a family owned hotel which has been in business for over fifty years. We continuously strive to improve our hotel and facilities, all the while maintaining a warm welcome for our guests. Our location, overlooking Killarney National Park, inspires us to create memorable and amazing experiences with a level of service and standard of hospitality second to none.The Gleneagle Hotel is Ireland’s leading leisure and entertainment destination. Where else can you find such extensive leisure facilities, world-class entertainment and genuine hospitality without having to step beyond our front door? Like all the great things in life, it’s best to experience it for yourself and with this in mind we hope to welcome you to The Gleneagle Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Gleneagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagle Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing