We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at the Gleneagle”
Review of Gleneagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gleneagle Hotel
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Our stay at the gleneagle was very enjoyable. The food was excellent. The amount of facilities are brillant. The Teen Zone is fantastic with Dieter and all the lads, no excuse for any young person to be bored (thank you for that). Our room was very comfortable not as much space as last year but comfortable just the same. I think an evening meal should be included in the price.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2010

We would like to thank this Trip Advisor Member for your positive comments on our Gleneagle Riverside Apartments. We pride ourselves on our service and our aim to please all our customers and ensure that they have a very memorable stay.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you again for your lovely warm comments, and will share your comments with Dieter and his team who do a fantastic job and this is one of the many reasons we were voted the best family friendly hotel in Ireland. Once again thank you and we hope to welcome you all back soon, please feel free to contact me in advance of your arrival next time.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Many Thanks
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,245 - 1,251 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2010

10 adults and 8 children desended on this hotel last weekend. The first thing that I noticed was how old and dated the decor was. Bedroom was clean but all the white paint had turned yellow. The entertainment in the hotel for the children was excellent. Plenty of room for all of us to sit together and have a drink. We had dinner in the restaurant one of the nights and then had given us a huge long table and we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladsmammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2010

Thank you to this Trip Advisor Member for taking the time to post your comments
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and have taken your comments on board.

We are delighted the Children enjoyed themselves & hope they joined in all the Kids Club activities. It’s always nice for large parties here as there is always a bit of atmosphere and life going on and with Entertainment every night of the week and late night at weekends, we are the PLACE TO BE….. Thanks you so much and we hope to welcome you all back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

lovely,friendly staff.food very good.rooms clean and bright.4th time to visit the hotel and will be back next year but with the kids,so i'll try the apartments!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreadon31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2010

We would like to thank this Trip Advisor Member for your positive comments on their visit.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you again for your lovely comments.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back next year with the Kiddies. I’m sure they will have a blast with all the Kids Clubs and activities we have on offer for them.

Many Thanks Again
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Stayed here recently for an awards ceremony with a musical group. We stayed in the Riverside Appartments and they were goregeous although I did notice a big hole in the wall beside one of the beds. They were very clean and spacious. The service in the bar for such a large group at the ceremony was good although at times there was only one person behind the bar which when they know there's going to be 750 plus people there probably wasn't the best idea but the food both nights of the awards weekend was fantastic as was our BBQ lunch. We also took a Horse drawn carraige ride around the lakes which was nice the driver tried to tell us as much as he could about what we saw as we went along.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eirecailin23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2010

We would like to thank this Trip Advisor Member for your positive comments on our Gleneagle Riverside Apartments. I am aware of the weekend in question and we were very proud at how successful the weekend went as it does every year. The staff work extremely hard to ensure this weekend is a memorable one for everyone that attends from all over Ireland.

I’m know for a fact that if there was only one member of staff behind the bar at any one stage it was not for very long as I know that our Team of Bar Staff were on duty the whole wekend to ensure the weekend was a success and that the levels of service was maintained.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you again for your lovely comments.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Many Thanks
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We recently stayed at the Riverview Apartments which are part of the Gleneagal Hotel. We have 3 young kids , age range from 9yrs to 21mths . The apartment was spotless and had everything that you would need to make your stay more comfortable. The little extras were a really nice added touch , ie; Fresh bread, milk, butter & cereal, tea, coffee ....esp. when you have young kids. We stayed for 5 nights and could not speak highly enough of all the staff in the hotel, esp. of the staff looking after the kids in the kids club! Our kids really enjoyed it and cant wait to go back . We have told all our family's and friends about it and hope to return in the next yr or so .

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhamilton_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We travelled to this hotel apartments (located behind the Brehon hotel beside the Gleneagle) for one week, we had such a great time we stayed on for two weeks and booked again for next year! My four year old was in the kids club and she had a great time the staff are really good with the kids, they take them swimming everyday and do activities every afternoon. We had a groudfloor apartment which leads on to a green field for the kids to play ball on. The apartment is very spacious and well maintained and clean. The staff are all lovely and you can avail of babysitting which is great!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2010

We would like to thank this Trip Advisor Member for your positive comments on our Gleneagle Riverside Apartments. We pride ourselves on our service and our aim to please all our customers and ensure that they have a very memorable stay.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you again for your lovely warm comments and if you wish to contact me in advance of your arrival next time please do not hesitate in contacting me.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Many Thanks
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Where do I start! Arrival was a disaster, Our agreed rate was 199 euro for 2 nights stay but staff were trying to charge us 249 euro. We declined to pay this rate and eventually we were told a mistake had been made. We were given a room KEY(seriously, dark ages or what!), we arrived at our room to find a smelly, stale, disgusting sad excuse for a room. I rang down to reception to complain and we were told thats all that was available, bear in mind we booked 5 months in advance so i'd expect something a bit better! We were finally told there was another room available so we decided to take a look, its was not much better but after driving 4 hours to stay here we agreed to stay. Bed was so so uncomfortable and the pillows were like sleeping on bricks. Our view was appalling, some sort of old building and not a bit of scenery, disgusted to the highest level!! Shower head had black and blue mould all over it, i resigned to showering in the swimming pool showers although, not great either. Bath was cracked all down the side, was afraid to fill it. Waited 1 hour and 20 minutes for an iron and board to be brought to the room one night. Food was appalling. Sheets were not changed once and the room staff just grunt at you.
If you do decide to visit here or already have a room booked(poor you!!!), i'd advise staying well clear of Flesk restaurant and eating in O'D's Chestnut Tree, not a great range of food but its better and the staff are alot warmer. One guy to look out for in O'D's is a short, blonde gentleman, he couldn't do enough for us and always had a smile on his face, very nice guy.
I could keep going and going on why to avoid and more stories but I think I've made a good enough mark here. Avoid and be well dear traveller lol

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ebreen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2010

I am very disappointed at having read this report and how negative this Trip Advisor member comments are. There are many issues pointed out here that have been all discussed at a Management meeting some I feel to be slightly exaggerated and can I just add that for anyone reading this, DO NOT let this report put you off your visit to the Gleneagle Hotel.

It is beyond my belief why someone would take the time to sit down & write such a report instead of just asking to speak with a member of our Management team while they were here and discussing the issues. So many people just like to go away & post negative comments in order to put other people off coming, when in fact by talking to us and letting us help make their stay more comfortable will at least help people leave our Hotel having had a very enjoyable time and take Home some very happy memories the wonderful time spent in Killarney.

I have stayed in Hotels myself where I have read very Negative comments on Trip Advisor and been very pleasantly surprised by my own experiences.
Everyone is entitled to their opinion however their opinion is not always a true reflection and sometimes just their own personal dislike. Take for example the Bed that was so uncomfortable & the pillows like BRICKS… Considering the volume of people that stay in a Hotel the size of ours and to get 1 person say the bed is not comfortable when I can be honest and say we have had many people actually call us back to ask where we’ve bought our beds as they found them extremely comfortable and wished to find out where they could get one and I’ve yet to come across a pillow as hard as a Brick…again a personal opinion.
All they had to do was ask for the pillows to be swapped in fairness.
So future customers of the Gleneagle Hotel do not allow a report like this put you off your stay you may be pleasantly surprised…..
Kind Regards
Caroline Papin.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
600 reviews
1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,388 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#22 of 38 in Killarney
938 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagle Hotel

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range: $94 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleneagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gleneagle is a family owned hotel which has been in business for over fifty years. We continuously strive to improve our hotel and facilities, all the while maintaining a warm welcome for our guests. Our location, overlooking Killarney National Park, inspires us to create memorable and amazing experiences with a level of service and standard of hospitality second to none.The Gleneagle Hotel is Ireland’s leading leisure and entertainment destination. Where else can you find such extensive leisure facilities, world-class entertainment and genuine hospitality without having to step beyond our front door? Like all the great things in life, it’s best to experience it for yourself and with this in mind we hope to welcome you to The Gleneagle Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gleneagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagle Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing