We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs Down”
Review of Gleneagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gleneagle Hotel
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Doolin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Thumbs Down”
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We, my husband and I, arrived late in the evening of 11 May at 11 o'clock and inquired if they had a double room available. The receptionist on duty told me that all doubles were occupied but that they had a 'suite' available and the charge was €120. When I inquired the price of a double room for that night, she informed me that it was €90. I offered €100 for the 'suite' but the receptionist declined and reiterated that the price was €120. We have been to Gleneagle Hotel on a number of occasions previously and have always enjoyed it and I mentioned this. However I decided that I would not pay this and left the hotel. The Killarney Court Hotel accommodated us at this late hour and we had an enjoyable stay in the hotel and enjoyed the lovely town of Killarney. We are in the tourist business ourselves and were surprised that the hotel could turn away business at that late hour in these recessionary times. I doubt very much if they filled the room afterwards. We have enjoyed the Gleneagle previously and its leisure center and their wonderful breakfasts but were disappointed with the treatment we received on this occasion.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rainbowhostel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2010
We would like to express our disappointment for failing to reach this Trip Advisor Member’s expectations on this occasion. I would like to point out that I have checked back at our system on this particular night and discussed with the Receptionist that was on duty (who remembers clearly these customers) and all our double rooms were in fact sold leaving only 2 Suites available.
These Suites normally have a supplement of €70 per night however she did in fact , more than half this in order to try & accommodate these customers. I can understand that people may have a budget to work off however there is only so much leeway that we can work on and these customers being in the Tourist Business themselves, I’m sure fully understand how difficult it is in these recessionary times.

We would also like to use this opportunity to encourage any of our guests, who are unhappy with an element of our establishment, to make themselves known to management or our Guest Relations team during their stay. Perhaps we would then be able to address the issue before they depart as we strongly believe that we, here at the Gleneagle provide an excellent service and value for money.

Many Thanks

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    368
    171
    126
    124
See reviews for
445
403
23
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Spent two days at the hotel while attending the IIMHL confenerce. This wasn't our first choice but booked because the conference was being held at the INEC. First impression was the lobby needed new carpet (very worn and repaired with tape). Elevator was dirty and noisy so used the stairs after our first trip. Hallways had damaged walls, needed painting and were hot and smelly. Room looked worn and was not overly clean. Breakfast was okay and meals provided as part of the conference were well presented and good. Staff were friendly and helpful when we couldn't regulate the radiator and provided a fan. Would be recommend this hotel unless it is refurbished.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bandunusual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2010
We would like to express our disappointment for failing to reach this Trip Advisor Member’s expectations during their brief stay with us during a recent Conference Having taken into account their various comments and ratings it is apparent to us that The Gleneagle was not the appropriate choice of accommodation for this customer.

Perhaps our sister hotel, The Brehon, which is located just next door would have been better suited their needs. Opened in 2004, The Brehon is a four-star luxury hotel, with elegantly styled rooms, exquisite dining options and a relaxed and peaceful atmosphere.

The Gleneagle is a significantly older hotel and the building has evolved much over the years and we are constantly striving to refurbish and improve our décor. Many of our bedrooms have in fact been refurbished and more are currently undergoing a soft refurbishment however this is an ongoing project that we are striving to complete.

We pride ourselves on providing our guests with everything they need under one roof, whether it is a concert in the INEC, a cabaret act in the Ballroom or activities to keep the children occupied come rain or shine.
Overall the feedback we received from the majority of delegates so far has been very positive from this conference however we wish to thank this member for their feedback and will take their comments on board and work towards rectifying these issues
We sincerely hope that this information will encourage this member to reassess their opinion of this establishment.
Kind Regards
Caroline Papin,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wexford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

myself and four of my friends stayed here for one night!!we were attending a concert. three of us stayed in a family room and they charged us e225!! was a crazy price and totally not worth it!! was small and not very clean, supplied towels but not enough!! we decided we would have dinner in the hotel which was a huge mistake!! waiter had very little english and rushed us, we felt we were in the way! they had a 3 course meal which charged e24, which we though was good value at the time,the dinner was horrible, and cold, i got chicken breast wrapped in bacon, id say the used the left over bacon from the morning breakfast, no way was it fresh!! nearly got sick after it!! overall result would never stay here again and would not recommend it!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank free1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2010
We would like to express our disappointment for failing to reach this Trip Advisor Member’s expectations during their brief stay with us. We would like to point out that the rate charged for the room was based on the 3 people sharing on B&B Basis and also the Ticket for the Concert that they atteneded.

We would also like to use this opportunity to encourage any of our guests, who are unhappy with an element of our establishment, to make themselves known to management or our Guest Relations team during their stay. Perhaps we would then be able to address the issue before they depart.

We were very surprised to hear these customers did not enjoy their meal here with us, we are constantly getting very positive feedback about our Food and how wonderful it is and our reports from our Guest Satisfacion Cards show extremely high results. May we suggest had these customeres mentioned the fact that they were not satisied with their meal on the evening our Restaurant Manager or Supervisor would have kindly offered n alternative dish and ensured their satisfaction on the night.

We pride ourselves on providing our guests with everything they need under one roof, whether it is a concert in the INEC, a cabaret act in the Ballroom or activities to keep the children occupied come rain or shine. We would also like to point out that the majority of our guests are actually repeat visitors who constantly convey how much they enjoy their time with us. These include a diverse spectrum of people from corporate clients to people attending our many special interest breaks.

We thank this Trip Advisor member for their comments. We monitor Trip advisor closely and it is a valuable source of customer feedback for us. If this member would like to discuss the observations raised further I encourage them to contact us directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

I recently stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend, we recieved a voucher for 2 nights b&b and 1 evening meal. The minute we walked inside the hotel we knew it was bad as the decor is extremely outdated and the carpets were extremely worn. We checked in a reception and were given our room, it was on the very top floor. Our room was located at the bottom of the corridor and while walking there i thought the floor was going to collapse it was creaking so much! When i got into the room i could not belive what i saw i thought i was after stepping into time machine the room looked like it had not been redocorated in about 30 years, the room was furnished with very dark furniture which reminded me of a church. The bathroom was not much better it was very dark and they had a limited amount of towels and soap products. We booked into the 'Flesk' restaurant for dinner at 8pm that evening, we went in to be greeted by a friendly waiter and were shown to our seats, the menu was very poor as there was not much to choose from, the waitress came to take our order and we had to order all 3 courses at the same time, i had ordered stew for my main course and i could not believe what was put in front of me the only way i could describe it was a pool of water, for dessert my boyfriend had the rice pudding and nearly gagged when he tried to swallow it. The 3 courses were served in record speed of 40mins! After this we decided we would not be availing of the 2nd night and checked out early the next morning. I would definatley not be recommending this hotel to anyone..it was appalling.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ash22Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2010
We are very disappointed to read this member’s review. Had they made their dissatisfaction known to a member of our Management during their stay we may have been able to make their stay more comfortable by offering a room move straight away.
Having read the report on the Restaurant and the Menu not having enough choice we were taken by surprise as our Menu has at least 4 – 5 Starters & Main Courses along with a selection of desserts every night. We continuously get great feedback about our food & the variety that we provide. Our Irish stew is one of the more favourable dishes and has yet to receive such negative feedback.

In general our service is one in which we pride ourselves on, providing our guests with everything they need under one roof, whether it is a concert in the INEC, a cabaret act in the Ballroom or activities to keep the children occupied come rain or shine. We would also like to point out that the majority of our guests are actually repeat visitors who constantly convey how much they enjoy their time with us. These include a diverse spectrum of people from corporate clients to people attending our many special interest breaks.

We thank this Trip Advisor member for their comments. We monitor Trip advisor closely and it is a valuable source of customer feedback for us. If this member would like to discuss the observations raised further I encourage them to contact us directly.

Many Thanks
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

Apartments are well priced, well furnished and well planned.
Really comfortable home away from home with everything you need including laundry, full kitchen, large eating area and living area, two good sized bedrooms and bathrooms all impaculately clean. The small touches such as leaving cereal to start your breakfasts etc are appreciated.

The only thing i could fault is that it would bave been useful to have wifi for free within actual apartments. Instead you have to walk to Gleneagle hotel about 500 metres away.

will be back though for sure.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Prinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2010
We would like to thank this Trip Advisor Member for your positive comments on our Gleneagle Riverside Apartments. We pride ourselves on our service and our aim to please all our customers and ensure that they have a very memorable stay.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you again for your lovely warm comments and have taken on board your comments in relation to the Wifi.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Many Thanks
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

Stayed for four days in April with a Pitch and Putt Group. Facilities could not be faulted - cleanliness, comfort and service all excellent. Would like to see some fresh fruit for breakfast, that's not a criticism, just a suggestion. Was disappointed that Snooker Room was only open at weekend, don't advertise it if it's not available. Otherwise everything great - pool, gym, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room! will be back in September!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2010
We would like to thank this member for taking the time to post both their positive and negative feedback. We are always grateful for all comments brought to our attention and delighted that you took the time to post your thoughts.

May I just add, that should anyone have any special requests we are more than happy to meet all guests needs where possible.

We would also like to use this opportunity to encourage any of our guests, who are unhappy with an element of our establishment, to make themselves known to management or our Guest Relations team during their stay. Perhaps we would then be able to address the issue before they depart.

Many Thanks
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin ireland
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

used to stay here years ago,when i had lots of energy and long hair.....now my hair is thin and so is the welcome in gleneagles.....serious make over is needed....fresh staff required......fresh air in hotel would help.....clean floors doors and windows may even give one some hope.....................but no that would be too much to expect.....shop around much better hotels in killarney.....all only a mile away......................sorry

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomhannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#12 of 38 in Killarney
2,222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
576 reviews
1.1 mi away
Killarney Oaks Hotel
Killarney Oaks Hotel
#30 of 38 in Killarney
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
496 reviews
2.1 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,545 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagle Hotel

Property: Gleneagle Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleneagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gleneagle is a family owned hotel which has been in business for over fifty years. We continuously strive to improve our hotel and facilities, all the while maintaining a warm welcome for our guests. Our location, overlooking Killarney National Park, inspires us to create memorable and amazing experiences with a level of service and standard of hospitality second to none.The Gleneagle Hotel is Ireland’s leading leisure and entertainment destination. Where else can you find such extensive leisure facilities, world-class entertainment and genuine hospitality without having to step beyond our front door? Like all the great things in life, it’s best to experience it for yourself and with this in mind we hope to welcome you to The Gleneagle Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HRS, Priceline, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Gleneagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagle Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing