We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, lots of old people, what a HARD bed!”
Review of Gleneagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gleneagle Hotel
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great staff, lots of old people, what a HARD bed!”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

I would have left this hotel a 2 star review; but the service was superb.

Although they did not have hot chocolate, they made a glass for my wife who does not drink coffee. Instead of doing a tour bus for the Ring of Kerry, Caroline at Guest Services gave us some of her favorite recommended spots on the loop and we did the adventure at our own pace. It was her alone that saved our review of this hotel, she was absolutely wonderful and made our stay here.

The hotel is ideally located just down the road from Muckross home and gardens. We enjoyed a reasonably priced Carriage Ride and spent hours meandering the beautiful estate. The ride was worth it to learn about the rich history that accompanied the free walk and gorgeous views.

Even with the outstanding service, without an upgrade to the beds I could not stay here again. I have some back problems, and this was the hardest bed I have ever slept on. Literally, quite literally, our shaggy carpet back home I would consider to beabout as comfortable.

The hotel also seemed to be somewhat of a retirement community. However, this was no bother-just something to know if you are looking for a more energetic atmosphere.

All said and done, for the price, quality of service, and amenities, this is a 4-star hotel. Had we paid more, I would have been disappointed. Without Caroline, alltogether this review would have been the opposite!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Timbre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guests,

I would personally like to say a huge thank you to you for taking the time to write this review on your recent visit last week and for the personal mention to myself. It was my pleasure to assist you both and offer my advice on places to visit. I hope you got to enjoy the Ring of Kerry drive and got to visit some of the places I recommended and that you also made it to Blarney & Kinsale as planned..

It is such a shame you were only here for 1 night and that we had not more time to talk and had I known you were not happy with your bed I would have certainly offered you a room move and ensured your you got a bed more comfortable for your back.

I am sorry I never got this opportunity to improve this part of your stay but should you ever have the occasion to visit Ireland again please come stay with us in Killarney and contact me and I will ensure you get the best Night’s sleep and that this does not spoil your opinion of the Gleneagle.

Once again I wish to offer sincere thanks and gratitude to you for taking the time out to relay your experiences on your stay with us. Please feel free to contact me in the future and I will assist in any way possible.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    346
    164
    123
    121
See reviews for
404
385
22
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We had a lovely stay in the Gleneagle.
Our room was a good size and the shower was very powerful.beds so comfie.
We had dinner in the bar thought the menu could be better if im honest.
The desserts very over priced i asked for a selection of ice cream 3 small scoops in a bowel more like what you would give a child .
And i think this cost 6.50 euro.
Its a very busy hotel with plenty going on between shows etc.
I loved the breakfast plenty of fresh fruit youurts,brown bread ,scones and of course your fry up.
What i really loved was your toast was allready done so no standing waiting to use toaster which i hate in a hotel.
Very good value hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tammycorkireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guests,

In response to your review we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit and that you found the Gleneagle such good value to stay here, considering the facilities we have here all under the one roof to include the Leisure Centre and the Nightly Entertainment, Gift Shop and Free Parking it is indeed great value.

Sorry to hear you were disappointed with the Bar Menu on this occasion and the Dessert s, however the ice cream selection is in fact €4.50 and not €6.50 which is in fact pretty reasonable. Great to hear you enjoyed the Breakfast so much and thank you for highlighting this in your review, especially the Toast situation as this has been an issue in the past so delighted to hear that you were happy with this aspect.

We hope you choose to return to us in the future and if we can be of any assistance please let us know and we will be happy to help.

Kindest Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
longford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed in the hotel last night for one night.Everything was perfect from the room to the staff,and the breakfast was out of this world.
Cant wait to return this summer for a longer stay.
Thanks gleneagle for a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulmulle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your short but very complimentary review on your recent stay with us, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed it so much.

We are very grateful when people take the time to share their positive feedback as all too often it can be forgotten to share the good experiences.

Thank you so much from all the team here at the Gleneagle we all appreciate it and we look forward to you returning in the summer. If I can be of any assistance please feel free to contact me directly.

Kindest Regards

Caroline Papin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed in February, booked into one of their 2 bedroomed apartments. On arrival the fridge was stocked with bread, milk, jams, butter, tea, coffee, etc, all we had to do was boil the kettle for a welcoming cup of coffee. Restaurants and bars were very family friendly, staff were patient and well mannered. Didnt ever seem like the kids were a nuisance. Check in/out was very efficient, and even ordering food later in the evening through reception was effortless.
We will return...

Room Tip: Appartments are well worth the extra few euros if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DekeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for your review on our Gleneagle Riverside Apartments. We pride ourselves on our service and our aim to please all our customers and ensure that they have a very memorable stay.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you again for your lovely comments we certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Many Thanks
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

For a hotel with a big reputation I was so disappointed with visit to this hotel on Patrick's day. We decided to go have some lunch restaurant was closed so had to eat in bar . Took a seat at a table which I guess was not cleaned during the day . Was 10 min waiting decided maybe I had to order at bar. Approached bar and advised by staff to sit down and they would come over that took another 15 min. Staff was so rude everything was a issue. Food came out cold. It was disgraceful if u have any sense u will avoid here.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jaffa1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guests,

I wish to sincerely apologise for the poor service you received on St Patricks Day. I can assure you this was not our usual standard by any means and would be happy to discuss this with you should you wish to contact me directly as unfortunately on this forum I am unable to get your contact details.

I await your contact to discuss further and once again apologies on behalf of all the service team they felt very let down at having read your report as unfortunately what happened on this day was something out of their control.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Spent the weekend at Gleneagles hotel Killarney - youngest daughter was taking part in All Ireland Variety competition. A large group of us stayed from Fri-Monday.
Hotel was well organised, courteous staff friendly and helpful.
Hotel,rooms were reasonably sized(standard) clean and all in good working order.
Staff put up with a lot of young children from the 4 large groups who took part.
Hotel is very spacious and has plenty to offer for young and older.
Not too far from the town where theres an abundance of hotels bars restaurants and plenty of scenic activities to take in
Enjoyable stay, would plan to go back again
Paul

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guests

I would like to say a very big thank you to you for such a wonderful report on their recent visit for the All Ireland Variety Show Competitions.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and our sincere thanks and gratitude to you for taking the time write this review and for your lovely comments in relation to the staff. I hope your Daughter did well in the competitions and hopefully you get to return to visit us in the near future.

Many Thanks
Kindest Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
609 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,048 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

While in Belfast before Christmas, I seen a notice in the window for a 5 day, 4 night tour to Killarney including B&B and evening meal in this hotel for 199 Pounds PPS, and thought it was great value. I have been several times, but at this price it would be foolish to turn it down. The bus left the Europa Bus Centre at 9.30am, and had us at the hotel shortly after 5pm, and I have to say that it was a lovely trip down.

Our Tour Guide/Driver was Dirk, and he was excellent. He was very knowledgeable, and had a great way about him, and did Ulsterbus proud. Our first stop was The Coachman's Inn at Dublin airport for lunch, followed by another stop in Nenagh at the Fairways Bar, and both places were ready and waiting for us.

The hotel itself was very comfortable, with great staff, and the rooms were lovely. It's a big hotel, and Dirk told us that they started off with 12 rooms, and just kept expanding. Each evening there was dancing in the ballroom, but that's not my cup of tea, so I gave that a miss.

Included in the trip was a tour of the Ring of Kerry and the Dingle peninsula, and an optional trip to Cork for 15 Euro extra, and again our "captain" did a great job, and I enjoyed the 3 of them. Unfortunately the time flew by, and we hit the road on Friday morning, heading back to Belfast, stopping at the Fairways Bar, Moneygall [for photos, thanks Dirk], and the Coachman's.

I was very impressed with the trip, so much so, that I picked up an Ulsterbus brochure to see what else they have to offer. Looking forward to my next trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank letterkennycaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guests

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for talking the time to share your experiences and fantastic photos with us. We are delighted to see this review, as it represents the experiences of many of our guests that travel on our Ulsterbus Tours.

Over the years The Gleneagle Hotel and Ulster Bus have developed a wonderful working relationship and we wish to thank all the drivers that do a wonderful job at ensuring everyone is well looked after on the day trips and the journeys to and from the Hotel.

We are blessed here with thousands of wonderful customers who return to us again and again over the years and wish to invite more guests that have been on these tours to also share their feedback and experience on our tours with Ulsterbus.

We really enjoyed the photographs and feel you have a talent that you should be proud of. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If there is anything we can do to make your next visit even more memorable please feel free to contact me personally.

With Kindest Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#35 of 38 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 38 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#26 of 38 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#21 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagle Hotel

Property: Gleneagle Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleneagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gleneagle is a family owned hotel which has been in business for over fifty years. We continuously strive to improve our hotel and facilities, all the while maintaining a warm welcome for our guests. Our location, overlooking Killarney National Park, inspires us to create memorable and amazing experiences with a level of service and standard of hospitality second to none.The Gleneagle Hotel is Ireland’s leading leisure and entertainment destination. Where else can you find such extensive leisure facilities, world-class entertainment and genuine hospitality without having to step beyond our front door? Like all the great things in life, it’s best to experience it for yourself and with this in mind we hope to welcome you to The Gleneagle Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HRS, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Gleneagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagle Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing