We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE perfect holiday location”
Review of Gleneagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gleneagle Hotel
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“THE perfect holiday location”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, with a very large group of mature people in late November. Despite the fact that the Hotel was fully booked the service was incredibly good. The Staff were brilliant and the food was excellent. The highlight of the week was the Christmas Crackers Gala Night, which was unforgetable. Have never seen teamwork with staff of this calibe ever before. This was the party of all parties. We had a beautifully comfortable, spacious room. The location of the hotel is excellent. We were blessed with great weather which made our stay even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheeba398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted you have such amazing feedback on your visit in November and more so of that you enjoyed the Christams Craicer Gala Dinner Night. These are always a huge success and creates great atmosphere for the Christmas period.

We hope we continue to be the best that can to that all our guests and that we get to welcome you in the very near future also.

Sincere Thanks from all the Management and Staff at the Gleneagle Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    357
    165
    124
    122
See reviews for
416
393
22
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed 2 nights over the New Year period therefore a very busy time in the Hotel with many events taking place.
On arrival,the check in was very good, the Receptionist very helpful with regards to the choice of rooms,
Our room was lovely, very warm and comfortable, beautiful clean linen and the most amazing soft towels in the bathroom, everything very clean.
The food in the bar was good and the breakfast each morning very nice with plenty of choice.
Would have liked to experience some traditional local Irish hospitality from the staff, but very disappointing.
On a security issue, the main walkway/corridor was very busy with people coming and going from all the different events,allowing hundreds of non-residents to be milling around, it is a shame the accommodation is not further removed from this area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guests,

Firstly I would like to say how delighted we are at reading all your compliments regarding your check in and for highlighting all the positive aspects including your room and your dining experiences that stood out for you during your stay.

I am surprised at hearing your disappointment in relation to the staff as this is the one area that we receive the most compliments on. The Gleneagle is indeed very proud of the fact that we employ over 23 different nationalities from all over the world for many years, many of whom can even speak the basic Gealic Language.

On the security issue , when we have busy nights with concerts on in the INEC or other venues we always have a full team of highly qualified security staff and Managers on Duty to ensure that everything is under control and our guests satisfaction and safety is always our number one priority.

We hope that you choose to visit us in the future and should you have any issues you wish to discuss please feel free to bring it to our attention at any stage.

Many Thanks
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed in the Gleneagle on Mon.20th Jan and were given a lovely room with a balcony which was nice as it was still sunny at that time. The room was very nice too and spotless. We appreciated the lovely mugs for our coffee and tea and we used them. They gave us a voucher too towards dinner. Now I must say that the food was delicious and there was plenty of it. The service was exceptional and we were impressed with the attention to detail… especially the fact that the entertainment for the evening was already posted on the notice board at breakfast time the next morning. We spent the evening in the Green Room where the entertainment was tasteful and suitable for dancing. All brochures advertising future offers were clearly available and any questions were totally answered by the reception staff. Thanks Caroline. We will definitely be back and so will some of our friends. Thanks for the welcome :-))

Room Tip: Room 209 had sunshine on the balcony in the evening. Great sleep as it was very quiet and peaceful t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guests

We are delighted that you found all aspects of your stay so enjoyable and wish to thank you for taking the time to share this valuable feedback on this forum.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you in the near future and hope to continue to please and be the best we can Thank you again for your review, it is very much appreciated and the chefs are thrilled to see you found the food delicious.

If we can be of any assistance in the future please do not hesitate in contacting us directly.

Kindest Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Since taking up Ballroom dancing approximately two years ago, I have stayed at the Gleneagle Hotel every weekend for the Billy Morrissey Country Dancing which is located close to the heart of Killarney. From the moment you enter the Gleneagle you know you are someplace unmistakably special. The ballroom is one of my favourite dancing venues. We would arrive on a Friday evening and always found the staff on Reception to be extremely helpful and friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. The bedrooms are superbly comfortable and lavish. We would then enjoy dinner in the Flesk Restaurant where the food is always good and there is a fine wine list. After a full Irish Breakfast the following morning we would then avail of the swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room which is totally relaxing. I have also used the Hair Salon and again I found the staff here very helpful. We are heading off to the Gleneagle again on Friday, 17th January, 2014 for the Billy Morrissey weekend and we simply cannot wait to get there as we feel the Gleneagle Hotel is excellent, very clean and great value.

Angela in Crosshaven, Co Cork

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Angela,

What can we say only a very big Thank You for this fantastic review. We are delighted to hear that you have been visiting us so often and enjoy the Billy Morrissey Country Music Dancing and that you really make the most of all we have to offer here in the Hotel.

I hope you had a good weekend with us this weekend and made the most of that Ballroom Dance Floor…

Looking forward to your next visit,
Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I love Killarney and my stay in The Gleneagle didn't change that! My boyfriend and I headed down for New years Eve and the NYE concert in the INEC. We got a great deal in The Gleneagle which is ideal when going to the INEC but in fact also a good location for Killarney town, Muckross, The National park etc.
Staff were excellent from the moment we arrived to moment we left. I know Killarney a bit but it was still good to get advice from Ann at reception and bar staff on things to do that we hadn't done before.
Our room was perfect, exactly what we needed. Breakfast was included in our rate and it was nice. We didn't have dinner in the hotel so I can't comment on food in the restaurants.
I'll be looking out for events in the INEC again in 2014 and will definitely be returning to The Gleneagle.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanefromDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your review. This is exactly what the Gleneagle is about and we are delighted you had such an Amazing time and thank you so much for the very honest and positive review and for complimenting Ann from Reception and the Bar staff- they are delighted.

Hope you get to visit us soon again and please come say Hello and make yourself known to us.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bantry, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We have been going to this hotel for past 15 years and have always found it excellent. Even with the turnover of staff over the past 15 years we have always found them very friendly, helpful and courteous.
The service in the hotel is always excellent. We attend an annual gala dinner and the food is fantastic. Our rooms are clean and warm, the housekeeping staff are very helpful.
We were greeted at the reception by Caroline who couldn't do enough for us.
My husband used the Aquila Club swimming pool and found it to be excellent.
Breakfast was fabulous and the waitress th had waited our table at the Gala Dinner the night before and was cheerful and helpful on the night and in the morning, the staff in general were chatty and fun which is more than can be said for some of us who had a late night.
My husband and I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and will return again next year and maybe during the year if time allows.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guests,

I would personally like to say a very Big Thank you to you for such a wonderful report on your recent visit. We our indeed very proud of our staff and the service in which everyone delivers and of course the fantastic atmosphere that makes the Gleneagle what it is and many thanks for the personal mention, so nice to see..

We are delighted to hear you had such a great time and our sincere thanks and gratitude to you for taking the time out to relay your experiences and feedback on your stay with us. We look forward to you returning in the future and I would be delighted to assist you in way possible in the future.

Many Thanks
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I recently attended my friends winter wedding at the gleneagle hotel. My overall experience of the day in the hotel was simply amazing , from the time we arrived for the civil ceremony which was held in the separate function room beautifully set up for the service. The experience continued with relaxing drink reception. The food was excellent as well as the service .
This hotel wowed me when I was the best man for my friends wedding in 2004. And again in 2006 for my own wedding....it shows how the hotel, management and staff are continuing to deliver excellent hospitality .
My family and friends offen visit this hotel for different occasions and never once have been disappointed .
I would highly recommend the gleneagle hotel..

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Hightower3233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

We wish to offer our sincere thanks to you for taking the time to post such a positive review on your experience for your friend’s wedding here at the Gleneagle.

I remember this wedding and the civil reception in the Ballroom was indeed beautiful. The entire day was a huge success and everyone who attended was such a pleasure to look after.

Thank you so much for all your compliments regarding the service and food, it is very much appreciated and we hope you continue to visit and recommend our Hotel in the future.

Kindest Regards
Caroline Papin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 38 in Killarney
1,243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#26 of 38 in Killarney
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#35 of 38 in Killarney
561 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagle Hotel

Property: Gleneagle Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleneagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gleneagle is a family owned hotel which has been in business for over fifty years. We continuously strive to improve our hotel and facilities, all the while maintaining a warm welcome for our guests. Our location, overlooking Killarney National Park, inspires us to create memorable and amazing experiences with a level of service and standard of hospitality second to none.The Gleneagle Hotel is Ireland’s leading leisure and entertainment destination. Where else can you find such extensive leisure facilities, world-class entertainment and genuine hospitality without having to step beyond our front door? Like all the great things in life, it’s best to experience it for yourself and with this in mind we hope to welcome you to The Gleneagle Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HRS, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Gleneagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagle Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing