We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad service and dated hotel”
Review of Gleneagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gleneagle Hotel
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

On checking in we were asked to wait 15 minutes for our room to be ready, despite being past check in time, in the meantime we were over charged for our room. It has taken a month and we are still waiting for a refund and havn't had so much as an apology.
The majority of the rooms are seriously dated. You need to pay extra for a room that even resembles modern. However, even in these rooms the TV is absolutely tiny and the bathroom was very small and in need of refurbishment.
Our balcony, although it had a nice view (we had to request this specifically) was grubby and lock the doors onto it was almost hanging off. The rooms with the view are only towards the front of the hotel, where the sound of traffic is not blocked byt the poor quality windows. There was also plenty of noise form drunk teenagers loitering outside the main reception.
I have to say I would not recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Killarney. It is overpriced and sub-par at best.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

In response to this trip advisor review I would like to point out that the hotel has looked into this problem and has since spoken directly with the Guest and as a result identified where the problem lay and the Hotel was not at fault with the banking problem.

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

930 - 936 of 1,438 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

Is good to see the current management of the Gleneagles have returned the hotel to its former splendour.
Friendly greeting at reception.
Rooms spotless and decor very modern.
music late at night was free.Taxi costs €8 to Killarney town.
Swimming pool/Leisure center included in cost.
Breakfast room was busy but everything was good standard.
Will re-visit again.

Room Tip: ask for room with a view. This overlooks the mountains and you get a balcony for same price. Room 20...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisCork_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Guests,

What a lovely review.. Thank you for sharing your experience on your recent visit with us. We are very grateful to you for taking the time to make your feedback known and for other people to see and we certainly look forward to having you visit us again, hopefully soon.

Many Thanks
Kind Regards

Caroline Papin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Front and 1st floor is lively and nice and you think, okay so far so good. We're staying for 2 nights. Then we get to our room and for me this is important, I want somewhere I can relax, watch some TV, plan outings etc. We were told these rooms were recently refurbished but tbh it's drab. I don't know what their target market is, it's definitely 70's styled in my opinion. It's decorated in a lot of dark wood, ash brown and a lot of it! Then the curtains are really dark brown too. It's got these little orange accents thrown in with orange lamps on the mirrors beside the TV & orange cushions. Then we come to the TV, I'd reckon the TV was 20 inch with few stations, so much for relaxing watching TV, a lot of news channels and all the Irish ones with BBC1&2. Boring! The TV ahould be bigger and better channels. Some of the rooms require one of those old fashioned keys with a huge tag so you don't run away with it and security wise, the room number is on that huge tag how bad is that if you happened to drop it. Our room door wouldn't close without really pushing it closed. Other rooms had the card type entry that easily fits in your pocket.
Then I tried for WIFI and there is no WIFI except for the lobby, this is ridiculous, every other hotel has WIFI, it's like this hotel wants to be dragged into the 21st century, it's even got that 70's ceilings with the stippled look. WIFI on each floor can't be that expensive if other hotels can provide it.
The food we felt wasn't of good quality, you'd also think vegetables were expensive and potatoes scarce. I'd reckon many tin cans were opened and heated in a microwave.
The good points. We don't have much to say except the staff are great, helpful, kind and chatty, this in my opinion is the hotels best asset, their staff. They have a Spa, swimming pool etc but we didn't get to visit any of these.
They call themselves 3 star.... Hmmm luxurious it's not.
I wouldn't suggest this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Just go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiggerMaligger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Past Guests,

I wish to thank you for your kind comments about out our staff and how great they are. I am disappointed to hear you had such negative feedback on many aspects of your stay. We clearly are not to your taste and we are sorry you feel this way about the Hotel.

Perhaps on a future visit you could consider our sister hotel, the Brehon just next door. This is a 4 star deluxe hotel that possibly would be more suitable to your needs and like.

Once again sincere apologies for the fact we did not live up to your expectations.

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Thisis without doubt the
Worst place we have ever stayed in. We went for a week with our three kids to stay in one of the so called 4 star apartments. Take note that the hotel itself is not 4star, it's a 3 star and like something from 1980s Ireland that has missed out on a step in evolution. The place is dirty, in need of some serious repairs and the service provided is awful. The kids club is a few young adults who just check kids into the pool and then leave them off while they chat with each other.

The apartments face onto the back of a hotel with filthy over flowing bins spilling over onto the ground. At night the place gets really noisy depending on what's on in the INEC. We complained but to no avail. It seems to be what they cater for.

I hate when Isee places like this representing what holidaying in Ireland represents. It is the definition of why so many of us travel out of Ireland to holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Midlanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Past Guests

Having read this report we are very disappointed at and how negative your review is based on your stay 12 months ago.
We would like to advise other people that our Hotel is not run down as it is put above, yes the building is older however we are striving to continue with our refurbishment program.
We are a very Family Hotel and very child friendly. We run an extensive Kids Club program during the summer which we receive great feedback on and many very positive reviews on this forum.

Everyone is entitled to their opinion however their opinion is not always a true reflection and sometimes just their own personal dislike. I would however like to point out that we are a 3 Star Hotel and do not claim to be a 4 Star however our sister hotel the Brehon next door is a 4 Star deluxe hotel, this maybe where the confusion with the star rating lay.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Two day stay with the kids. Very large hotel but very good standards. First night there were a number of elderly tour parties .The second night Harley Davidson Bikers meeting was in town (same general age group). No problems at all. Both groups were very friendly and quiet.

Breakfast and dinner was run with military precision. Swimming Pool was grand but they could have done with a water dispenser , particularly as the steam rom is very hot.

Room Tip: Family rooms were pleasantly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave0rla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Guests ,

Thank you for your recent review on your break with us. You got to witness two very different aspects of what the Gleneagle can offer. We are host to the Bikefest Weekend every year - the June Bank Holiday weekend and this is truly an amazing weekend, whether you are a Harley Davidson fan or not it is a very enjoyable weekend to be part of and attracts people of all age groups.

Thank you for your kind comments about the restaurant & swimming pool and we hope to welcome you back in the future soon again.

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

There was 9 of us in one group then joined by 8 others. We booked for the full weekend with B&B one evening meal. For the meal we had only a choice of 3 main dishes and none of them very nice. The food quality was so poor and so over priced. And the price of the drink was also over priced. None of the 17 of us will ever stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Past Guests,

I would appreciate if you could contact me directly in relation to your recent stay with us. I would very much like to discuss further with you as we would like to get more information and look into your comments in more detail.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay, there was plenty to do for all the family. Our children loved the pool and very clean and spacious leisure centre. The food in the restaurant was very good . Staff were most helpful and pleasant. Our room was very spacious and very clean, however some of the features were a little outdated but this didn't impinge on our relaxing stay in any way.
On our return home I discovered that I had left a lovely necklace in the bathroom and when I contacted the hotel management two weeks later, it was mailed to me the following morning. We were very impressed by this!!!
Overall it was a most enjoyable stay and highly recommended for family stays.

Room Tip: A room at back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you sincerely from all the team for this lovely review on your stay with us and for your feedback in relation to the staff and the food in particular.

We are so happy your children got to make use and fully enjoy the pool, it’s a great facility we have and fun for all the family.

I will share your comments with the Accommodation Manager and pass on your thanks for returning you necklace that you left behind and we happy you received it back.
Looking forward to having you stay soon again,

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#7 of 38 in Killarney
2,347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
604 reviews
1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#20 of 38 in Killarney
949 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#26 of 38 in Killarney
1,314 reviews
0.7 mi away
Randles Hotel
Randles Hotel
#21 of 38 in Killarney
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagle Hotel

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range: $92 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleneagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gleneagle is a family owned hotel which has been in business for over fifty years. We continuously strive to improve our hotel and facilities, all the while maintaining a warm welcome for our guests. Our location, overlooking Killarney National Park, inspires us to create memorable and amazing experiences with a level of service and standard of hospitality second to none.The Gleneagle Hotel is Ireland’s leading leisure and entertainment destination. Where else can you find such extensive leisure facilities, world-class entertainment and genuine hospitality without having to step beyond our front door? Like all the great things in life, it’s best to experience it for yourself and with this in mind we hope to welcome you to The Gleneagle Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Gleneagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagle Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing