We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gleneagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gleneagle Hotel
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Two day stay with the kids. Very large hotel but very good standards. First night there were a number of elderly tour parties .The second night Harley Davidson Bikers meeting was in town (same general age group). No problems at all. Both groups were very friendly and quiet.

Breakfast and dinner was run with military precision. Swimming Pool was grand but they could have done with a water dispenser , particularly as the steam rom is very hot.

Room Tip: Family rooms were pleasantly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave0rla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guests ,

Thank you for your recent review on your break with us. You got to witness two very different aspects of what the Gleneagle can offer. We are host to the Bikefest Weekend every year - the June Bank Holiday weekend and this is truly an amazing weekend, whether you are a Harley Davidson fan or not it is a very enjoyable weekend to be part of and attracts people of all age groups.

Thank you for your kind comments about the restaurant & swimming pool and we hope to welcome you back in the future soon again.

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    340
    158
    122
    117
See reviews for
395
374
22
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

There was 9 of us in one group then joined by 8 others. We booked for the full weekend with B&B one evening meal. For the meal we had only a choice of 3 main dishes and none of them very nice. The food quality was so poor and so over priced. And the price of the drink was also over priced. None of the 17 of us will ever stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Past Guests,

I would appreciate if you could contact me directly in relation to your recent stay with us. I would very much like to discuss further with you as we would like to get more information and look into your comments in more detail.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay, there was plenty to do for all the family. Our children loved the pool and very clean and spacious leisure centre. The food in the restaurant was very good . Staff were most helpful and pleasant. Our room was very spacious and very clean, however some of the features were a little outdated but this didn't impinge on our relaxing stay in any way.
On our return home I discovered that I had left a lovely necklace in the bathroom and when I contacted the hotel management two weeks later, it was mailed to me the following morning. We were very impressed by this!!!
Overall it was a most enjoyable stay and highly recommended for family stays.

Room Tip: A room at back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you sincerely from all the team for this lovely review on your stay with us and for your feedback in relation to the staff and the food in particular.

We are so happy your children got to make use and fully enjoy the pool, it’s a great facility we have and fun for all the family.

I will share your comments with the Accommodation Manager and pass on your thanks for returning you necklace that you left behind and we happy you received it back.
Looking forward to having you stay soon again,

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Had a lovely weekend in Gleneagle again this year. Booked on line about a month beforehand and everything was sorted and waiting for us when we arrived. The Breakfast was good, even though it was busy, and the staff very helpful.
If I had a negative point to make it was the fact that there was a swimming competition taking place for local school children on the Saturday, which meant the main pool was off limits for the morning. We were not advised of this in advance at time of booking, but it was not a really big deal as the toddlers pool was almost empty anyway and the adult pool reopened about 3 hours ahead of schedule.
Even allowing for the pool thing, it was a great stay and thoroughly enjoyed by us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom-kilkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guests

Delighted to hear you enjoyed another stay with us. There was a local Swimathon for children which was a great event for all the local Kids that took part.

We wish to thank you for your understanding with the main pool being closed for the short period that this was on and we hope you got to make plenty use of the pool for the duration of your stay.

Hope you decide to return soon again and if you wish to contact us prior to your arrival we can advise of what’s on during your stay.

Many Thanks
Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

The staff was exceptionally nice. Some of the features were dated but everything was clean. It was reasonably comfortable. (Note: like many hotels in this area, there is no airconditioning. A fan might be nice to bring along.) i would forego the breakfast and eat somewhere else; it was "typical Irish" but barely warm and tasteless/bland. We have a family member who has many food allergies and they gave him a very fishy smelling smoked fish for breakfast. I shouldn't complain since they did accommodate him but it wasn't the salmon that they advertised. I just wasn't impressed with the breakfast. The views are pretty. It is convenient to the Killarney National Park, the Gap of Dunloe and the Ring of Kerry drive.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DrJaneMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Past Guests,

We are delighted to hear you found our staff to be exceptionally nice, it is one of the main positive comments we receive in the Hotel and one we are very proud of. I know so many loyal customers that return here to us simply because of the staff and how friendly we are.

I gather you stayed during the beautiful really hot week that we were so lucky to have had as I can assure you it’s not to often throughout the year we get requests for Fan’s, in saying that we have a supply of fans available upon request, shame you did not let us know we would have happily provided you with one.

Apologies if the breakfast was not to your satisfaction and we hope this wont deter you from returning in the future. Please feel free to contact me in advance and I will gladly assist with any special request you may have for breakfast or indeed for dinner.

Many Thanks
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have stayed in The Gleneagle Hotel and in their River Apartments on many occasions, I must say I have always found the staff extremely professional and welcoming. A variety of food and drink as well as music and hospitality are on offer. Great bedrooms with comfortable beds and a delicious breakfast.The Aquila Club Leisure Centre has a 25m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room. it is well worth a visit and a great place to chill out. The Gleneagle is great value for money. I really enjoyed my stay as I always do.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarleylassCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Can’t thank you enough for this extremely positive review… Its such a pleasure to learn that you really enjoyed every aspect of your recent break. I love the mention about the staff and how professional & welcoming they are. This will be shared with all the team and will bring great satisfaction to everyone.

It’s great to hear you experienced all the facilities we have to offer and more so that you enjoyed yourself to the full…

Don’t leave it too long to return and once again we are very grateful for your review.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellerup
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at the Gleneagle Hotel for 3 days attending an international workshop in Scottich Country Dancing with more than 100 participants. Our rooms were nice and quiet, and the facilities for dancing were excellent. The hotel is quite big, hence some walking distance may be involved. The staff were generally friendly and helpful, and food were good considering we were a big party. The hotel is situated somewhat outside the city limit, hence there is quite a walk to town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LOEHellerup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Past Guests,

Thank you so much for your review and for the lovely comments regarding our staff being helpful and friendly. We are so happy you enjoyed the food and the facilities during your stay.

I remember well your group and how very pleasant everybody was. I hope you got to visit Killarney and took part in some of the organized activities and tours that were part of your break. It was a pleasure for us to host your event and hope you get the opportunity to return one day.

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback,

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#35 of 39 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#21 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.3 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
Randles Hotel
Randles Hotel
#19 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagle Hotel

Property: Gleneagle Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleneagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gleneagle is a family owned hotel which has been in business for over fifty years. We continuously strive to improve our hotel and facilities, all the while maintaining a warm welcome for our guests. Our location, overlooking Killarney National Park, inspires us to create memorable and amazing experiences with a level of service and standard of hospitality second to none.The Gleneagle Hotel is Ireland’s leading leisure and entertainment destination. Where else can you find such extensive leisure facilities, world-class entertainment and genuine hospitality without having to step beyond our front door? Like all the great things in life, it’s best to experience it for yourself and with this in mind we hope to welcome you to The Gleneagle Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Gleneagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagle Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing