We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok without the breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gleneagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gleneagle Hotel
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ok without the breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

The staff was exceptionally nice. Some of the features were dated but everything was clean. It was reasonably comfortable. (Note: like many hotels in this area, there is no airconditioning. A fan might be nice to bring along.) i would forego the breakfast and eat somewhere else; it was "typical Irish" but barely warm and tasteless/bland. We have a family member who has many food allergies and they gave him a very fishy smelling smoked fish for breakfast. I shouldn't complain since they did accommodate him but it wasn't the salmon that they advertised. I just wasn't impressed with the breakfast. The views are pretty. It is convenient to the Killarney National Park, the Gap of Dunloe and the Ring of Kerry drive.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DrJaneMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Past Guests,

We are delighted to hear you found our staff to be exceptionally nice, it is one of the main positive comments we receive in the Hotel and one we are very proud of. I know so many loyal customers that return here to us simply because of the staff and how friendly we are.

I gather you stayed during the beautiful really hot week that we were so lucky to have had as I can assure you it’s not to often throughout the year we get requests for Fan’s, in saying that we have a supply of fans available upon request, shame you did not let us know we would have happily provided you with one.

Apologies if the breakfast was not to your satisfaction and we hope this wont deter you from returning in the future. Please feel free to contact me in advance and I will gladly assist with any special request you may have for breakfast or indeed for dinner.

Many Thanks
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    340
    158
    122
    117
See reviews for
395
375
22
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have stayed in The Gleneagle Hotel and in their River Apartments on many occasions, I must say I have always found the staff extremely professional and welcoming. A variety of food and drink as well as music and hospitality are on offer. Great bedrooms with comfortable beds and a delicious breakfast.The Aquila Club Leisure Centre has a 25m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room. it is well worth a visit and a great place to chill out. The Gleneagle is great value for money. I really enjoyed my stay as I always do.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarleylassCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Can’t thank you enough for this extremely positive review… Its such a pleasure to learn that you really enjoyed every aspect of your recent break. I love the mention about the staff and how professional & welcoming they are. This will be shared with all the team and will bring great satisfaction to everyone.

It’s great to hear you experienced all the facilities we have to offer and more so that you enjoyed yourself to the full…

Don’t leave it too long to return and once again we are very grateful for your review.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellerup
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at the Gleneagle Hotel for 3 days attending an international workshop in Scottich Country Dancing with more than 100 participants. Our rooms were nice and quiet, and the facilities for dancing were excellent. The hotel is quite big, hence some walking distance may be involved. The staff were generally friendly and helpful, and food were good considering we were a big party. The hotel is situated somewhat outside the city limit, hence there is quite a walk to town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LOEHellerup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Past Guests,

Thank you so much for your review and for the lovely comments regarding our staff being helpful and friendly. We are so happy you enjoyed the food and the facilities during your stay.

I remember well your group and how very pleasant everybody was. I hope you got to visit Killarney and took part in some of the organized activities and tours that were part of your break. It was a pleasure for us to host your event and hope you get the opportunity to return one day.

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback,

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed at this hotel last year for a two night stay. Check in was quick and our room was beautiful and cleaned everyday including sheets. We had breakfast both morning which was delicious and ate at there restaurant for a three course meal which again was fantastic. Killarney itself is a beautiful town and I got got engaged in another hotel in Killarney so I have found memories of killarney, I would definitely recommend this hotel for couples, family's ans special occasions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolineBee09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Past Guests

It is such a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us and that you have such positive feedback to share.

Killarney recently was named best holiday town in Ireland in the Irish Times – “Best places to holiday in Ireland” and we are very proud of what we have on our doorstep here in Killarney.

We hope that you continue to make happy memories here and that you continue to visit us at the Gleneagle where we can help make those memories special.

Many Thanks & Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Where do i start ???? Went on the Pitch & Putt Break to this fab Hotel (13th - 17th May )and from start to finish had a ball. The people at Reception were so helpful with every one of our group 40 in total.Pity they couldnt fix the weather as well as they look after everyone,s needs. Booked our dinners for 6pm on the 4 evenings and the service is Brilliant. Congrats to Geraldine Tangney & ALL the staff for everything . One of our friends had a little mishap and the care & attention shown to her was very good . Thanks to Martin Brett & the first aid team for the kindness to our friend. Now what can i say about Caroline Papin who went FAR beyond her role of Guest Relations Manager. I wanted to purchase something in Killarney on the morning of our departure but because our train was at 9.30 i didnt have time to go to this shop & Caroline kindly obliged and sent the message up by post . Thanks again . Where else would you get this service. So anyone thinking of going here on a holiday i would highly recomend it for service / value and friendly staff. Cant wait to get back so roll on my September break.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Elizabeth,

Thanks so much for this amazing review. We are so delighted you had a ball during your week despite the terrible weather. Goes to show you can still enjoy yourself at the Gleneagle even it’s pouring rain all week.

It was such a pleasure to have met you and to be able to assist you with that little errand to town and that you received it also. Shopping is a hobby for me so it really was a Pleasure…

Martin and Geraldine are delighted with the personal mention also and send they’re regards also. Can’t wait to meet up again in September for the next Pitch n Putt break and if not before…

Thank you once again
Caroline Papin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed in the Gleneagle Hotel last week for two nights. Very enjoyable stay. Room was fantastic. We had great entertainment which made the nights - you didn't have to leave. The down side was there was no food available after 5pm in the bar so we had to go out to eat the first night. For such a big hotel I thought it was bad. The pool was lovely. The staff were friendly and helpful. Would go back again but do allow people to order bar food up to 9 pm as most hotels do.

Room Tip: All the rooms were quite we were on the 4th floor with a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathydarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guests,

Delighted to hear you had such a fantastic 2 night break with us recently. Love your comments about the Staff being so friendly & helpful, it’s one of the major compliments we get here and something we are all very proud of. Great to hear you enjoyed the Entertainment & the pool also.

In relation to the Bar food, it will be served until 9pm during summer and only finishes at 5pm during off season periods and we always have our other Restaurant open from 6pm daily serving both A la Carte & Table d’hôte menus with some grate offers available.

Hope you get to visit soon again and Thank You for your review.

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed in the Gleneagle Hotel again recently and we had a great stay. Lots of the rooms
have been upgraded and are stylishly furnished and very comfortable. The food in the hotel
is very good and not too expensive. There is always something going on here with entertainment
to suit all tastes e.g., country dancing on a Saturday afternoon; ballroom dancing groups or salsa
or line dancing groups and also the big entertainment with top international stars.

The spa in the hotel is very nice and children love the pool and with the childrens club this
gives parents a great break.

We think this is a great hotel and offers great value for money and it has the added advantage of
a dedicated and very friendly and efficient staff headed up up Caroline in customer services.

Gleneage is located near the town (great shopping) and has a dedicated shuttle to the town and of course to the
Muckross House and Killarney National Park. It is also only a little over an hour fromDingle.

Would recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: if you want a view of Torc Mountain, ask for a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniemike9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Wow ….

What a fantastic review you have taken the time to write. We really can tell you love your holidays at the Gleneagle and in Killarney itself.

Thank you so much for highlighting your experiences here and for the lovely comments about the staff and the personal mention also.. Its is very much appreciated and the staff will be delighted with your review which will be printed and shared with all the teams.

We really do have so much to offer here and with so many great packages there is always something to suit all age’s groups throughout the year.

We certainly hope you don’t leave it to long to come back and stay and let us welcome you and continue to offer the very best that we can.

Many Thanks
Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#35 of 39 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#21 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.3 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
Randles Hotel
Randles Hotel
#19 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagle Hotel

Property: Gleneagle Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleneagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gleneagle is a family owned hotel which has been in business for over fifty years. We continuously strive to improve our hotel and facilities, all the while maintaining a warm welcome for our guests. Our location, overlooking Killarney National Park, inspires us to create memorable and amazing experiences with a level of service and standard of hospitality second to none.The Gleneagle Hotel is Ireland’s leading leisure and entertainment destination. Where else can you find such extensive leisure facilities, world-class entertainment and genuine hospitality without having to step beyond our front door? Like all the great things in life, it’s best to experience it for yourself and with this in mind we hope to welcome you to The Gleneagle Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and LateRooms so you can book your Gleneagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagle Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing