We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but badly in need of rejuvenation.”
Review of Gleneagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gleneagle Hotel
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but badly in need of rejuvenation.”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Myself and my wife chose the Gleaneagles after there was a midweek offer highlighted on The Ray D'Arcy Show on Today FM, 2 nights B&B, €140, very reasonable, given it's a well know hotel, always heard about it since I was a child.

But upon our arrival, it was clear it hasn't changed much since I was a child, it actually felt as if we were walking into a time portal and we were emerging in 1979. To be honest it was a little unsettling. Don't get me wrong, it was tidy, clean, staff were very nice, very welcoming, very helpful.

The rooms didn't improve, the television made us feel as if we moved into the early 90's, but the decor held us firmly in the 80's.

Again all was spotless, impeccable even.

Our sleep however wasn't great, every noise from outside was heard, from cars going by, to the wheelie-bin rumbles in the morning.

Breakfast was truly awful, missing many things one would expect in an irish breakfast! Pre-toasted bread, ammassed under an IR light, leaving the toast as a lukewarm piece of rubber is a massive NO-NO. Dried up bacon and eggs, no pudding and no Crunchy Nut Cornflakes!!

For what we paid, it was ok, but quality should not suffer at the hands of a reduced price. We won't be returning.

Room Tip: bring ear-muffs and your own breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RussellDalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Past Guests

We wish to thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. We are grateful for any genuine feedback we receive however we are disappointed that we did not live up to your standard in some areas.

I would like to mention that we have recently invested a lot into the newly refurbished Lobby area of the hotel and completed the redecoration of four floors of bedrooms. We realize the Hotel is older than some other hotels in Killarney and it is nearly 60 years old however we have an ongoing plan of further refurbishments yet to be carried out which we are constantly striving to achieve.

On the plus side we also have a lot more facilities and entertainment to offer than most other hotels in town and we cater for all age groups here at the Gleneagle.

We are sorry you felt the Breakfast was not sufficient enough and that we unfortunately did not have the cereal you prefer, however we do provide at least 6 different types of cereal and perhaps had you requested we may have had some in stock in the kitchen. We also have signs advertising items that are not on the Buffet but we will always try to accommodate all our Guests with any special requirements they bring to our attention.

Should you ever decide to change your mind and return, I will be delighted to handle your reservation details and will ensure that your next visit is more memorable and I will personally ensure that we have Crunchy Nut Cornflakes for Breakfast.

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    357
    165
    124
    122
See reviews for
416
393
22
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Gleneagle Hotel is located on the outskirts of Killarney town just a couple of kilometres from the centre. It is located on the Muckross Road and is just a short walk (or even better a short cycle) from the grounds of Muckross Abbey and House (definitely worth exploring). As a kid in the late 70's when we holidayed in Kerry we stayed in camps sites and I remember as we would drive past the Gleneagle Hotel thinking "imagine being able to stay there!" The hotel has expanded so much since then but it is still a landmark in the beautiful town of Killarney. I stayed there midweek while on business in the area recently. The hotel complex is very big and if driving in from Killarney town don't go into the first carpark but take the second entrance about 100 meters on. Even in midweek the hotel was buzzing. It is very popular and caters for bus loads of tourists. Having said that the personal attention given to you by staff on arrival is impressive. You are welcomed with a smile and check in is very easy. The décor is dated and the hallways and corridors leading to the rooms can be a bit of a maze. The rooms themselves are clean and comfortable. I have a thing about TV's in hotel rooms and this one wasn't great. Bulky with limited stations and the reception isn't great. The bathrooms could do with some modernisation but all told a comfortable sleep in a clean quiet room was had. I was a bit disappointed with the lack of information regarding bar food etc. When I went to the bar it was empty and there was no indication that food was served. Breakfast was ok with a selection of cereals and cooked breakfasts available. The staff here were extremely courteous and helpful. Apparently there can be delays at breakfast after 9am which is due to the volume of guests who arrive at this time. Overall impression. I have stayed here since my drive bye's in the late 70's and although nothing much has changed it is fair to say that nothing much had to change. It can get pretty busy from about St Patricks weekend through the holiday season with bus loads of tourists but this only adds to the atmosphere. In my view the (Glen)Eagle has definitely landed and if you are visiting Killarney it is worth a visit.

Room Tip: To see the lakes and the grounds of Muckross Abbey hire a bike next door to the Gleneagle Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dublin_Family2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guests,

I wish to say how nice it was to read your detailed yet honest and genuine review on your recent visit to the Gleneagle and loved the description of your childhood memories driving by the Hotel.

It was a lovely touch and it would have been a pleasure to have met you and spoken to you during your visit to hear more and for us to share your story with the staff…

I am sorry that the information regarding the Bar food was not clear for you, our Bar Food venue operation in the hotel is usually in the Green Room Bar (located opposite in the main Lobby) from Monday – Thursday however at weekends it moves to the Backstage Bar AND OD’s Restaurant as usually at weekends we have more venues with Music and the INEC with Concerts or Shows, therefore it is a more suitable venue.

I would like to thank you from all the team for your feedback and warm comments in relation to the Staff and how friendly and courteous you found them. I must say that this is one of the main topics that all Guests compliment us on. We love to see people checking out happy and taking some treasured moment’s home. We hope you continue to visit us here where the Gleneagle has landed!!!

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to meeting you next time hopefully.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here for two nights midweek. Great location near the Killarney National Park. The hotel was very busy at the time but the staff were all great, the rooms were quiet and clean and the food was good also (try the breakfast rashers in particular!). Great swimming pool also. Would recommend and would come again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much on behalf of all the team here for your very complementary review. We are thrilled that you had such an enjoyable stay and we certainly look forward to welcoming you again in the future.


Sincere Thanks

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

16 of Rathkeevin ICA ladies stayed at Gleneagle, March 10th - 14th. We had such a great time Food scrumptious, rooms spotless, staff friendly and helpful, leisure facilities great and entertainment every night brilliant. all 16 of us highly recommend this hotel for your break as a group or singly, once you arrive your not on your own unless you want to be. thank you all at the Gleneagle for such a great time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KakTipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly I would like to say it is such a pleasure to read such an honest and genuine review highlighting everything the Gleneagle has to offer.

Thank you for your time and reassurance for a highly positive yet genuine and fair review and on behalf of all the team here I wish to say that it was our pleasure and we are just so delighted to hear such great feedback from our Guests.

We hope to see you all again in the near future

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I would give this hotel an overall very high rating. The hotel room was very spacious, warm and very clean. The staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient in their duties. The food in the hotel restaurant was excellent. Found a pint of guinness very expensive could be a little cheaper, but that is my only negative . This is our third time to stay in this hotel and would not hesitate in going back again.

Room Tip: We paid an extra €10 per night for a double room with balcony and thought it was well worth the mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauline19641970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your Trip Advisor review. We are all delighted with the feedback and more importantly that you enjoyed their Midweek break with us.

We are very grateful for your comments and we look forward to your 4th Visit…..

Many Thanks & Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just back from a two night stay in the Gleneagle. Have been there a few times before so we knew what to expect. New carpets were laid in the main areas and the place looks nicely spruced up. The staff are very courteous and helpful. The room was lovely and clean. We went to see Dickie Rock on Saurday Night and we really enjoyed the night. There were a big group of females there on the night and they really seemed to be enjoying themselves. Fair enough. Unfortunately, that night they were on the same corridor as us and they were arguing and slamming doors for half the night. At least my two kids got some sleep but I dont know about the other families on the floor. A pity really that people cannot enjoy themselves without going overboard on the booze. I suppose I should have complained but I couldnt see the staff getting anywhere with this particular group. From the look of them "they would have ate you for breakfast". Otherwise a very pleasent stay and would go back there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G22Cork_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post both their positive and negative feedback. We are always grateful for all comments brought to our attention and delighted that you took the time to post your experience with us.


I wish to apologise for the misbehavior and noise from some other guests during your stay however I can assure you that these issues were addressed with the guests concerned by a Senior Manager. This is not something we take lightly and our priority is the comfort and safety of all our guests.

Should you have any problems or issues in the future please contact us straight away so we can take corrective measures immediately.


Many Thanks
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2013

On arrival was given an extremely outdated room with peeling paint on the walls and dirt on the windowsills. The coffee table was badly damaged and covered in dirt and marks where people had left their cups. I couldnt stand the thought of staying in that room so as a last resort told them i could not stay in a room so high up, it was on the fifth floor and the person at reception was helpful in moving us to a room on the first floor. This room, although more modern, was depressing and dark with little lighting. The beds were uncomfortable and the bathroom towels were dirty. The breakfast was seriously simplistic and disappointing in comparison to those in hotels where i have stayed before. As a result i did not want to chance a dinner at the restaurant and ventured elsewhere for dinner. As a young couple it was also difficult as for our whole stay the hotel gave the impression it was more capable of catering for an older generation and not ours. We were extremely surprised to find no iron or ironing board or safe in the room. The staff were for the most part pleasent and helpful but the hotel itself was not welcoming to us as a young couple and we will be seeking accomodation elsewhere in future.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Importantshtuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Past Guests,

We are sorry you found the hotel to be so disappointing and not to your taste. I have brought your comments to the attention of the Housekeeping Manager in relation to the marks on the table upon your arrival. This is not a common occurrence here and I wish to apologise for this.

As a 3 star property do not provide Irons or Ironing Boards in the rooms or Safety deposit Boxes, however we have a large supply of irons & boards available that can be brought to your room upon request and is a complimentary service. We also provide safety deposit boxes that can be arranged from the Front Desk for the duration of your stay. This information is all highlighted in our Guest Directories in all bedrooms.

The Gleneagle caters for all age groups, from families with young children, to young people that attend many of the famous concerts in the INEC and to the older generation. We take great pride in the fact that we are suitable to all age groups and this is one of our strengths that has helped us develop and grow as a business for over 50 years.

I am disappointed in the fact that you did not enjoy your stay here and that we failed to provide you with a positive experience on this occasion. We respect your opinion and thank you for your sharing it with us.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#12 of 38 in Killarney
2,163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 38 in Killarney
1,243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#26 of 38 in Killarney
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
561 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagle Hotel

Property: Gleneagle Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleneagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gleneagle is a family owned hotel which has been in business for over fifty years. We continuously strive to improve our hotel and facilities, all the while maintaining a warm welcome for our guests. Our location, overlooking Killarney National Park, inspires us to create memorable and amazing experiences with a level of service and standard of hospitality second to none.The Gleneagle Hotel is Ireland’s leading leisure and entertainment destination. Where else can you find such extensive leisure facilities, world-class entertainment and genuine hospitality without having to step beyond our front door? Like all the great things in life, it’s best to experience it for yourself and with this in mind we hope to welcome you to The Gleneagle Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HRS, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Gleneagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagle Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing