We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Gleneagle Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gleneagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gleneagle Hotel
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
middlesex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gleneagle Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed here many times it is a nice hotel a little bit dated The apartments are much nicer and would choose to stay in one of them than the hotel they are all very nice and very clean. Food was not up to much for a hotel .
Killarney is a lovely Town and has lots on offer .

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandeigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
We are disappointed that this guest did not fully enjoy they’re stay in the Hotel, maybe the apartments are more suited to their particular needs and requirements. They are lovely apartments with 2 separate bedrooms ( 1 of which is en suite) and a main bathroom also. There are cooking facilities also and customers have use of the Hotel’s facilities and Entertainment nightly.

In relation to the Food, may I just say that the level of feedback I get from all our Guest Satisfaction reports is Extremely high. And as Guest Relations Manager, I also receive a lot of praise about our Food and for our variety of Menu’s and value for money.
Killarney is indeed a fantastic town and the Gleneagle Hotel and Apartments are an EXCELLENT choice for Families & couples young and old. We cater for everyone here.

We hope these customers enjoy their next visit and we look forward to their feedback.
Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    309
    146
    118
    110
See reviews for
356
324
21
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We were given a present for Christmas for 2 tickets to INEC and an overnight stay at this 'supposed to be Hotel', but what a disappointment , the hotel rooms were so shabby, faded bed linen cracked tiles in bathroom, furniture marked and stained,old style radiators that spent the night making a cracking like noise. When we came out from the show there was music in two bars none of which one could get seating inside or outside. When I reported this to management in the morning the answer I got was " This is only a 3 star hotel, what would you expect, if you decide to come to Killarney again you should consider staying in our sister Hotel- The Brehon". I think this appalling the most I expected was 'sorry' but not even that. So be prepared for a shabby hotel if you decide to visit

Room Tip: Ask for a room in The New Section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank irishtravelpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
In response to this email I wish to highlight that we always want our guests to have a good time when they visit our hotel and we realise that not every guest has the same expectations and desires. What is ideal for one person is far from ideal for another. We realised this when developing the Gleneagle Hotel Group and specifically designed our properties to offer different products and experiences to suit every type of customer.

We remember this guest very well. She came and attended a concert in the INEC on the night she arrived. This was the Brendan Grace Show and the concert was a sell out.

At the end of the concert there was live music in two separate venues available to anyone who wished to enter. This guest did not complain or ask for assistance in getting issues rectified at any time prior to checking out the following day.

She had 3 main complaints. Firstly she complained about the seats she had been allocated for the concert. The Gleneagle however had nothing to do with this. The seats were purchased from Ticketmaster where there is a seating plan allowing the purchaser to pick the seats themselves from the seats available at the time of purchase.

The second part of this lady’s complaint was that she did not have seating available in the Green Room Bar when she wanted to go in after the concert. She told our staff that we should have enough seating in the bar for everyone in the hotel should they wish to use it. As she wanted to have a relaxing place to sit down after the concert.

As it turned out our staff on the night had put in extra chairs to facilitate the customers coming from the concert and who wished to join in the fun in the Green Room with the fantastic Mr Tony Sings.The overall response on this night from approximately 600 other guests staying in the hotel and the 2000 attending the concert was that a great night was had by nearly all. They enjoyed the fun and atmosphere that started at 8pm and went on late into the night.

The Manager on Duty the next morning did explain to this lady that it was only to be expected that other hotel venues would be busy directly after the concert given the number of people attending and it would be unrealistic to have 600 chairs in any hotel bar. When all the venues, lobbies and lounges are taken into consideration there were ample areas for the hotel guests to sit on the night.

The third part of her complaint was about the standard of the bedroom, its furnishings and soft furnishings. She had no specific complaint about any fault, but more that she felt the room was aged and not to her standards. We took the time to inform her of the different products available within the group and even the grounds. We told her if we had known earlier in her stay we could have tried to relocate her to our sister property and should she wish to return again to another show in the INEC she may find the overall package provided by the Brehon Hotel more to her liking.

We are disappointed with this review for two reasons, firstly this person is selecting and piecing together parts of the response to her complaints on the day to give the impression that the hotel and our staff do not care about its customers, which is untrue. Secondly had this lady complained in time we would have never had this issues and she would have had a lovely stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Killarney hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Stayed in one of the recently refurbished rooms which is lovely with a fantastic view of the Kerry mountains. The bar is brilliant and entertainment is great.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyIrishPaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I have been here 2 years in row. It is probably one of the best hotels in Ireland I have stayed in, for what is included in the price it is value for money. I would definatley recommend this hotel to families! It has a playroom for children of all ages and in the leisure centre they have an blow up slide that went up occasionaly which the kids really enjoyed. Fair enough its a a bit far from the town but for the size of the hotel and for all the facilities in the hotel i didnt mind driving or walking an extra few minutes to get to the town. the food was great, altough there was a long queue for breakfast in the morning that was to be expected with the amount of families staying there! The rooms were a bit dated but they were fine for us as all we were doing was sleeping in them and i did notice that they are renovating the rooms (i was in the Gleneagle Hotel August 2011). Also the Gleneagle Hotel is one of the best hotels i have stayed in for entertainment, it provides free entertainment most nights for people staying in the hotel which i thought was great and also some shows which you had to pay for but if you had to do so it was well worth it. Without a doubt i woild recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovecats278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
We would like to thank this Trip Advisor Member for their positive comments on their stay with us last summer. This is a very true and honest review and is exactly what the Gleneagle is about. The Restaurant does sometimes get busy at Breakfast times in Summer especially when everyone likes to have a lie in and arrive all together, it does sometimes cause a small wait but never for that long.

We are very proud of the fact that we provide entertainment 7 nights a week, We also have Kids Clubs during the Holiday periods that we run during the day and the Teen room for Teenagers in the evenings, we receive so much positive feedback from Families all summer and indeed from the Kids themselves…

We are delighted to see this review and that these customers enjoyed their stay with us the last 2 years and continue to choose the Gleneagle as their holiday destination. We are very Grateful for their honest and genuine feedback.

Many Thanks
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

lovely apartments, pity about hotel, very poor restaurant, food tasteless and way below standard

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shinoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
We wish to acknowledge this review, it is a shame that these customers felt this way about the Hotel as it is far from the norm and not the usual regular feedback that we are used to receiving.

We normally get fantastic praise on our food and the Hotel. It is unfortunate that these customers felt this way and had to provide a negative review on Trip Advisor. We wish to apologise for them not fully enjoying their stay.

Kind Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Stayed in the Gleneagle for a weekend(friday&sat night) and saw dara o Brian in the inec. Overall was a little disappointed, the hotel has def seen better days and service was poor at times. The room we stayed was very old fashioned and bathroom was badly needed upgrading but on plus side was warm and clean. location and the inec are very good.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Insomnia12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
I am extremely disappointed for failing to reach this Trip Advisor Member’s expectations during their stay with us for the Dara O Briain Show at the INEC.

We are a 3 star hotel that is indeed a lively place to visit and a Hotel that people Love for it’s Homely atmosphere. We are aware that we have some areas that need improving, however we have commenced on our refurbishment programme and have a continuous long term plan which we are constantly striving to achieve.

We are an excellent choice when attending a Show or Concert at the INEC as we have everything under the one roof…. from Bars and Restaurants to Entertainment and Leisure facilities. However we also have our sister Hotel the Brehon located 2 minutes across our car park which is a 4 star Deluxe Hotel which some people may prefer while still having full use of our facilities.

We would hope that these customers will return to us in the future and have a more positive experience next time.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

It was like home away from home. The apartment are absolutely beautiful. So nicely designed. They (the Hotel) had milk in the fridge for us, Fresh brown bakery bread, and mini cereal boxes for us for breakfast.

Beautiful place to stay, had dinner in the Brehon hotel next door to apartment again beautiful. Will be back. Thank you Gleneagle.

Room Tip: Only negative is taxi are very expensive in Killarney as it depends on tourism so much....but you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nualamfarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
We would like to thank these customers for their positive review on their recent visit to our Gleneagle Riverside Apartments. It is always appreciated when people take the time to share their positive feedback and to highlight the good experiences they encountered.

I would like to mention also that the Gleneagle provides a Shuttle Bus service from the Hotel (and from the Apartments on request) to and from town and the Train & Bus station on a daily basis. There is a small fee of €2 each way, cheaper than taking a taxi. It also does a daily trip to Muckross House and Gardens and a return collection.

We certainly hope these customers continue to enjoy their holidays at the Gleneagle and should they wish to contact us with any enquiries to please feel free prior to their next visit.

Many Thanks
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#36 of 39 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,820 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 stars 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#26 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 stars 809 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,772 reviews
2.1 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagle Hotel

Property: Gleneagle Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleneagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gleneagle is a family owned hotel which has been in business for over fifty years. We continuously strive to improve our hotel and facilities, all the while maintaining a warm welcome for our guests. Our location, overlooking Killarney National Park, inspires us to create memorable and amazing experiences with a level of service and standard of hospitality second to none.The Gleneagle Hotel is Ireland’s leading leisure and entertainment destination. Where else can you find such extensive leisure facilities, world-class entertainment and genuine hospitality without having to step beyond our front door? Like all the great things in life, it’s best to experience it for yourself and with this in mind we hope to welcome you to The Gleneagle Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Gleneagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagle Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing