We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A modern hotel above a great pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Murphy's Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Murphy's Guesthouse
Ranked #29 of 145 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A modern hotel above a great pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Great value for money with clean, quiet rooms tucked above and behind a great pub. The beds were comfortable and the Wifi worked well. The full Irish breakfast was above average. I would recommend this place to family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_TimS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Good Afternoon from everyone in Murphys,

Thank you for your delightful recent review.

I am delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for recommending us to your family and friends.

We hope to see you all again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    81
    20
    7
    8
See reviews for
38
98
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Murphys of Killarney is a wonderful place to stay my family and I stayed there for my birthday and enjoyed the great hospitality as the breakfast is lovely and when I finished my breakfast the staff came out with a slice of birthday cake and sang happy birthday which I appreciated very much so I would highly recommend murphy's of Killarney

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Review233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Good Afternoon from everyone in Murphys,

Thank you for your wonderful recent review.

I am delighted to hear you had such a lovely stay with us and that you spent your birthday here with us in Murphys.

I hope we will see you all again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
186 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Good things: wonderful service (especially Maureen), modern rooms, elevator, fine living room, great breakfast off the menu in the pub. Negatives: parking is a pain, we had a room in the back but still had a fair amount of noise until about 11:15. The location worked for us because one couple needed to catch a train early in the morning, otherwise I would recommend that you find a place outside of the city on a quite street with good parking.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rerBellevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Good Afternoon from Killarney,

Thank you for your recent review.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay although I am sorry to hear about the noise. As we are centrally located there can be a bit of noise but we can offer rooms at the back of the hotel as to avoid this.

I hope we will see you all again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morwell, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Comfortable accommodation and good value for money. Parking is not at the hotel but on the roadside and paid until 6pm a and Ned to move at 9 am in the morning or pay.
Great cooked breakfast.
Was in convenient location in the old part of town

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyB2646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Good Afternoon from everyone in Murphys,

Thank you for your recent review.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do not have our own car park as we are centrally located but we are close to many car parks.

We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

So, far this is the worst place we've stayed in Ireland, but we've stayed at some much nicer places. This is perfectly fine for a pull off the road place to stay for a night (which is exactly what we did), but I probably wouldn't want to stay here longer than that. The room was large, and largely quiet - even with the window open. There was no air conditioning so it was very hot in the room during this heat wave in Ireland. The location is right in the heart of town, but there is no parking - you must find street parking which can be difficult!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrdcs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Good Afternoon from Murphys,

Thank you for your recent review.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the stay and that it was what you were looking for. Although we do not have air conditioning we do have fans available in every room.

We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Murphy's guesthouse for two nights during our visit to Killarney. It was the perfect location with easy walking to all shops and pubs. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and well apportioned. Could not ask for better accommodations during this leg of our trip. Each night we had drinks in their pub and the manager joined us each night to catch up on our day. Now that's service! We will definitely stay here again when we return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sirenia33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Good Afternoon from Murphys,

Thank you very much for your wonderful recent review.

I am delighted to hear you had such a lovely stay with us and found all aspects of Murphys to be just what you were looking for.

We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed at Murphy's Guesthouse for three nights. The rooms were nice size and clean. Our rooms faced another building and there was virtually not outside noise to contend with. As we initially drove into the city, we were concerned about the parking, but quickly found there are several parking lots in the area. The location is perfect! Lots of stores, fabulous restaurants and pubs! The breakfast was very good as well. We drove each day to visit the regional attractions and the traffic getting out of the area was a bit congested, but once out of the central part of town, all was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooksey280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Good Afternoon from Killarney,

Thank you for your recent review.

I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we will see you again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#20 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Failte Hotel
Failte Hotel
#38 of 39 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#25 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Arbutus Hotel
Arbutus Hotel
#8 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dan Linehan's Bar & B&B
Dan Linehan's Bar & B&B
#54 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Killarney Lodge
Killarney Lodge
#7 of 145 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's Guesthouse

Property: Murphy's Guesthouse
Address: 18 College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's Guesthouse is a centrally located, comfortable Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Killarney Town. This accommodation is situated within easy walking distance of both train and bus stations and all local amenities. It is 8 minutes walk to the entrance of Killarney National Park. Our rooms are recently refurbished and lift access is provided to all floors. This accommodation offers tea and coffee making facilities, free wifi access and flat screen televisions in all rooms. We provide a choice of continental and delicious freshly cooked Irish breakfasts. Murphy's: A Sense of Tradition and The Warmest of Welcomes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Murphy's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s Bar & Guesthouse Hotel Killarney
Murphy`s Bar And Guesthouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing