We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice house or small hotel ?”
Review of Old Weir Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Weir Lodge
Ranked #7 of 141 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cork
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“nice house or small hotel ?”
Reviewed July 6, 2008

My self and two friends are just back from a night at the old weir lodge in killarney, i didnt book this as we were part of a hen night so all the booking was done by the wedding party. the location on the muckross road is good and within walking distance of the town. the staff are firendly . We were three girls sharing and we had a room with three single beds and one double at the top of the house. it had all the things that one might need , tea making facilities and shampoo's , ice making machine on the first floor. there was a lift and a large breakfast room. there is a menu for breakfast and the food was lovely and the service friendly, it had one of those " help your self toasters" but it had home made scones and fruit bread and the nicest porrige i had for ages. the cost was 65 euro each which i thought was steep as we had been told it would be 52 euro . in all it was a nice house , or was it a small hotel ? i would go back if i needed a reliable place to stay but i prefer a hotel.

  • Liked — porrige
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank louCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    103
    15
    1
    3
See reviews for
120
194
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2006

We stayed at the Old Weir Lodge for 6 nights in August while we explored southwest Ireland during the day. Since we were travelling with our 21 year old daughter for this vacation we wanted to have a large room and we were not disappointed. Our room was the biggest we have ever stayed in. There were 2 single beds and a double bed and a small sitting area and a good size bathroom. The innkeepers were very nice and helpful. The included breakfast was fantastic. The inn is about a 5 to 8 minute walk to the center of town. All in all it was a very nice stay. I would recommend the Old Weir Lodge.

  • Liked — value, staff
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Vector4481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2006

Liked the Old Weir Lodge - cozier than a major hotel. Rooms are a decent size, bathrooms are a bit small. No air conditioning but at least the windows open. Breakfasts are great - great service. Bring an iron - none in the rooms and could not get one from the front desk. The hotel is a short walk from the city center, so it was very convenient. Pleasant experience at this place!

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — No air conditioning, small bathrooms
  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KCSable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2006

I recently stayed at the lodge with some friends, our stay was second to none, I would reccommend the lodge for it's clanliness, service, friendly welcome and the most awesome breakfasts!! The lodge is in a fantastic location, only a short walk to town and a stones throw from the national park.

Helpful?
5 Thank polly83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 22, 2006

Just returned from 8 days in Ireland and the two nights spent at the Old Weir Lodge was by far the nicest place. It is conveniently located from town and even the walk home in rain was pleasant. Check in/check out was great and the selection/quality of the breakfast which was included was outstanding. Everone was delightful, the rooms spacious and overall service was excellent. I highly recomend the Old Weir Lodge!!!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 24, 2006

we stayed in the old weir lodge over a weekend last year. wonderful experience.. the staff were superb in particular ruth who dazzled us with her knowledge of the area. the rooms were immaculate and modern, with every home comfort. the breakfast was really nice and i would highly recommend this b&b.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 19, 2005

Stayed here last week as part of a small group.when you arrive and dont get that b n b feel it puts everything aelse off.the room and brekfast were fine but the initial welcome spoiled it for me.i would not return. its a pity.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.4 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,223 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,228 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#12 of 38 in Killarney
754 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,485 reviews
3.2 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Weir Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Weir Lodge

Property: Old Weir Lodge
Address: Old Weir Lodge Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Weir Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent, luxurious, family-run 4 star (AA 5 Diamond) guesthouse 5 minutes walk from Town, on main road, towards National. Set in large landscaped garden. 30 large bedrooms, some with King or Queen sized beds, bath, power-showers, orthopedic beds, telephone, multi-channel TV, tea/coffee facilities, ice, hairdryers. 2 lounges, fresh flowers, private parking, home baking, traditional, vegetarian, coeliac breakfasts. Friendly staff, ground floor bedrooms, elevator. Drying room. Non-smoking guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Old Weir Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing