We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Killarney Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Killarney Inn
Ranked #38 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed here recently as a family of three in a triple room. The room was very big as was the bathroom too. The room had everything we needed. The whole hotel was well laid out and had a good easy accessable parking. It was 11min walk into town to restaurants etc. For the price we paid I couldn't fault it as its very competitive rates. However the place could do with a little pepping up and maybe a female touch to put up better curtins or have a better presence at reception etc. It's not the same as staying at the b&b of a family, it's more like a hotel. One very efficient member of staff was a Moldavian girl who was friendly and remembered everyone's names and room numbers. I would have no hesitation of staying there again for the same price in the high season.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 161 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here, with no great expectations, for a night as part of a Paddywagon Tour ( which we too recommend, even though we were old enough to be grandparents of some of the other travelers ). Our room was pretty bare but quite a decent size with a double bed and a single bed. We were in a second floor rear room (211). There was a porch and a large rear window overlooking an empty but clean lot. Not much of a view, but we weren't in the room for any amount of time. Since the B&B was part of a package, we were not aware of the price, so we can't speak about value for money paid. It was adequate for what we needed.

The place seems to be in the process of being updated. It may have once been a hotel. The bathroom was good size, with a modern shower enclosure. The location was quiet.

Leaving the B&B and walking left (go right and you are in a Holiday Inn), it was a pleasant 15-20 minute walk ( between a light and considerate shower of drizzle ) to the center of town where there are lots of shops, restaurants, pubs, cafes, and a cinema. Lots of things open until late, unlike other places in Ireland

As party of our Paddy wagon tour, we did a horse and buggy ride through part of the national park with great views of the lake, mountains and castle and we also saw lots of deer. It wasn't too cool, but blankets were provided for those who felt the need.

Breakfast was surprisingly good with a larger choice than any of the other B&Bs that we experienced. They even had omelettes on the menu and they were good! We even stayed at a hotel that could not compete with their breakfast!

Room Tip: A/C was not needed but on hotter more humid days it might have been. WiFi had a limited range. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

rivermere house is a great guest house
it is always wonderful to come back here after a days work of touring
the staff are always helpfull and very pleasant
the rooms are every bit as good as a hotel and better !
so well done to the owner and the great staff
i as always will continue to stay at this wonderful guest house

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I’ve stayed in hostels and B&B’s all over Ireland and I found this place just fantastic! The beds were really comfortable and the ensuite had state of the art fixtures and a great shower. This place is so clean and modern that you forget its budget accommodations.

The Rivermere Guesthouse is part of the Harmony Inn chain of budget accommodations in the beautiful tourism town of Killarney. We stayed here because of the location and price and we were not disappointed. There is also a lot of parking out front and it's only a short walk to the town centre.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Team_Edmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I stayed here for a Saturday night in April, I was going to an event in the INEC which is just down the road. I have to say that this was the best value accommodation that I had stayed in in many years, it was only €35.00 per night for a single room including breakfast. I was allocated a very nice twin room which was very comfortable and clean with tea and coffee making facilities provided and a very good bathroom. The Rivermere is in a very good location. Breakfast was basic but good with friendly service, when I was checking out I remarked on what excellent value it was and the very friendly lady at the front desk said 'oh well we will give it to you for €30.00 so and you might come back to us again!!' Would highly recommend and they certainly don't particpate in the great rip-off of the singles!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ardroyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our 10 day All Ireland tour with Paddywagon Tours (highly recommended). Most of the time, we had been staying for one night in each location, so it was nice to be somewhere for longer.

Our room was a decent size with a double bed and a single bed. We were on a lower corner unit, so there were 2 large corner windows, but not much of a view.

The room and inn in general are in need of some updating and a good cleaning (old candies under the bed, etc.) The bathroom was good size and there was a bathtub and a shower (the first bathtub we saw in all of the B & Bs in our travels). The location of our room was quiet.

Leaving the B & B and walking left, it was a pleasant 10 minute or so walk to the center of town where there are lots of shops, restaurants, pubs, churches, cafes, etc. If you leave the B & B and walk right, the river is just a short walk.

We did a horse and jaunting car ride through part of the national park. It was cold, but blankets were provided. It was a nice ride with great views of the lake and castle and we did see lots of flowers and one deer.

Breakfast was good with a larger choice than some of the other B & Bs that we stayed in. In addition to the usual full Irish breakfast and cold cereal/yogurt, etc, they had an omelette and another item on the menu.

Because this B & B was part of our package, we don't know the price, so we can't speak about value for money paid. It was adequate for what we needed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeeMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed a few nights here and were very happy with the hotel.

The rooms were spacious, well appointed, and comfortable beds.

The staff is very friendly and outgoing, they recommended a wonderful place for dinner in town. Breakfast is fantastic and the village is a joy to explore.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwigirl839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
600 reviews
0.5 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.8 mi away
Brook Lodge Hotel
Brook Lodge Hotel
#23 of 38 in Killarney
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
781 reviews
3.1 mi away
Rockfield House
Rockfield House
#34 of 143 in Killarney
112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Inn

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly Rivermere Guesthouse)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: $68 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Killarney Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a beautiful location, just 10 minutes' walk from the town centre and Killarney National Park, the eco-friendly Killarney Inn is a charming B&B with free WiFi and parking. Killarney's bus and train station is 25 minutes away from the property on foot, while the Lakes of Killarney are only 15 minutes' walk away. There is plenty to do in the region, including golfing, fishing and hiking. All of the rooms are spacious and comfortably furnished, with a TV, radio and en-suite facilities, including a power shower. Some of the rooms also have balconies. A Continental breakfast is available every day and a full Irish breakfast can be requested at an additional cost. There is a selection of bars and restaurants within a 10-minute walking area. This is our guests' favourite part of Killarney, according to independent reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Killarney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing