We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightfully quaint”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Foley's Townhouse and Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 140 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delightfully quaint”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Decided last min 2 hav a girls night away and mived a different place 4 the wrong date by mistake which ended up in last min booking foleys. Delighted with our mistake!
Arrive 2 a busy killarney but no prob as pulled in2 the secure car park with plenty spaces which is free- Huge bonus points 4 this.
Reception is cold n all I can say is odd. Had 2 go through a dark bar 2 a cold restaurant 2 pay. Bizarre. Receptionist very friendly but not informative. Had 2 ask wat time breakfast is served and got a shocked look and very abrupt 8-10. We didnt hav it included so I was surprised at the lack of effort 2 sell it as I had given a prime opportunity. No where its located, how much extra, mind u we hav no idea what time they even serve normal dinner to. But, I commend the friendly woman basics smiles in this industry can be hard 2 find sometimes.
We were skeptical about the room after seeing the ground level but went up 2 the room and was delighted. We got a twin room which had a king n single seperated by an alcove. Perfect for 2 single ladies who like their space when gettin ready! Although the furniture is extremely dated, it is so well kept. Its a timewarp experience but its done so well it works and you dont notice the joke of a hair dryer on the wall In the bathroom. I always bring my own anyway, same as my toothbrush!
No worries with the cold in reception as their were heaters on in the rooms when we went in and it was lovely.
If looking for a luxurious night away then I would go somewhere else but for a night away 2 enjoys the social elements of killarney it has all the comforts done well and at a reasonable rate.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    56
    9
    8
    6
See reviews for
40
93
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This guesthouse has bed and breakfast so both need to addressed. It's fair to say that neither is good. Let me explain why. The guest rooms are well appointed and spacious in a large rambling building which has a good feel but, and it's a big but, the restaurant which is also a function centre, has the kitchen below and the fumes and stink from multiple meals wafts up the bedrooms and permeates the rooms. The first room we tried became intolerable after a few minutes and we had to be relocated. The second room was better but not good. Unfortunately, we arrived very late and couldn't really change hotels so we coped. I might add that the first room was not properly cleaned and the bathroom and toilet were unacceptably soiled.
Well, we thought, it's a restaurant so our breakfast is going to be good. Not so. There was no buffet as in most hotels we had stayed at but table service with extremely limited choice and poor servings. The fruit juice was watered with cordial. Next a choice of not nice yoghurt or cereal-definitely not both. Next the eggs bacon etc dish again with limited choices OR fresh fruit platter. The fruit was not fresh and it was not a platter. Almost everywhere is better and we've rarely had worse. The hot food was greasy, poor quality and small serves.
The only good thing about this place is the location. Right in the middle of town with its own secure parking makes it superficially mighty attractive but don't be fooled Stay elsewhere and have your dinner at Quinlan's across the road and you'll have a better and cheaper night.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RolandWorldTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We visited the restaurant on Sat 28th December for dinner. Very warm and welcoming with a cosy feel. One of us had a starter of french onion soup which was excellent. Main courses were hot and cold seafood platter, this was wonderful, beautiful selection of different fish and seafood. Second main course was a selection of five different types of fish served in a creamy butter sauce, suffice to say nothing left on the plate, but the plate!! There was still room for a shared meringue. Wonderful experience, hotel reception looked lovely and cosy and we would intend to stay here in the future. Staff were welcoming and very pleasant and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j0yp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Very welcoming and friendly staff who can't do enough to make your stay an excellent experience. The food is excellent and the room was very clean and comfortable.
The whole team should be very proud of what they have created. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerryman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

A short stay in Killarney to allow time to explore the beautiful Co Kerry was enhanced by the welcome, comfort and friendliness of Foley's.
The room was comfortable, the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and the food (breakfasts and one dinner) simply superb.
A great place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WildColonial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Arrived on a sunday afternoon after travelling around 150 miles on our motorbike(triumph) and enquired at main desk for room. We were welcomed by Miora. as we explained that we were cold after the bike journey, she gave us a room with heating that was controlled by us( how good is that) the room was very large, very clean and welcoming. wifi in all rooms. Best of all -- we had a whirlpool path oh what joy!!. Breakfast was delicious lots of choice both cold and hot items. We decided to stay another night and next day we drove 'the ring of Kerry'. When we returned we were cold wet and tired . I asked if the bar was open and the youg lady not only pulled us 2 pints of beer,but insisted on carrying up to the room ( sorry didnt get your name), This hotel was excellent value for money with bike friendly ,gated secure parking, and lovely staff-- would definitely recommend .Also what a bonus i saw Michael Flatley as well!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welsh-she
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We wandered up and down the High Street to find a restaurant without loud pop music playing! Foley's looked inviting and although we had to wait for a table it was worth it. Best T-bone ever for my husband and delicious plaice fillets for me. Friendly, helpful staff and a good experience all round. Decor is good too, loads of atmosphere.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
Brook Lodge Hotel
Brook Lodge Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
283 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
887 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murphy's Guesthouse
Murphy's Guesthouse
#32 of 140 in Killarney
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Abbey Lodge
Abbey Lodge
#30 of 140 in Killarney
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neptunes Hostel
Neptunes Hostel
#9 of 47 in Killarney
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dan Linehan's Bar & B&B
Dan Linehan's Bar & B&B
#42 of 140 in Killarney
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foley's Townhouse and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foley's Townhouse and Restaurant

Property: Foley's Townhouse and Restaurant
Address: 23 & 24 High Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Foley's Townhouse and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Foley's Townhouse and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foley`s Townhouse And Restaurant Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing