We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Foley's Townhouse and Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

A short stay in Killarney to allow time to explore the beautiful Co Kerry was enhanced by the welcome, comfort and friendliness of Foley's.
The room was comfortable, the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and the food (breakfasts and one dinner) simply superb.
A great place!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WildColonial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Foley's Townhouse and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 223 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

Arrived on a sunday afternoon after travelling around 150 miles on our motorbike(triumph) and enquired at main desk for room. We were welcomed by Miora. as we explained that we were cold after the bike journey, she gave us a room with heating that was controlled by us( how good is that) the room was very large, very clean and welcoming. wifi in all rooms. Best of all -- we had a whirlpool path oh what joy!!. Breakfast was delicious lots of choice both cold and hot items. We decided to stay another night and next day we drove 'the ring of Kerry'. When we returned we were cold wet and tired . I asked if the bar was open and the youg lady not only pulled us 2 pints of beer,but insisted on carrying up to the room ( sorry didnt get your name), This hotel was excellent value for money with bike friendly ,gated secure parking, and lovely staff-- would definitely recommend .Also what a bonus i saw Michael Flatley as well!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welsh-she
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We wandered up and down the High Street to find a restaurant without loud pop music playing! Foley's looked inviting and although we had to wait for a table it was worth it. Best T-bone ever for my husband and delicious plaice fillets for me. Friendly, helpful staff and a good experience all round. Decor is good too, loads of atmosphere.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed for one night after having a meal in the restaurant below. The room was clean, a little small but very comfy. Couldn't quite work out the heating, so was either baltic or boiling, but didn't really spend enough time in there to work it out. The highlight was the bathroom which had lovely tiles and a good shower and bath jacuzzi if you wanted to use it.

If you scratched below the surface there were a few things in the room that were a bit tired or outdated but these could be overlooked. Also the owner of the building must love buying furniture because its everywhere, even the corridors are littered with drawers and couches.

The house is situated on the main street of Killarney which is great for seeing the town. But the room was severely lacking in sound proofing and we were awoken by the street cleaner.

The breakfast was excellent and despite a very stingy looking menu where it said you were only allowed this or that, it turned out to be plentiful and you could help yourself to the cold stuff and toast kept on coming.

This place would ideally suit older couples who didn't want to walk far and were up at the crack of dawn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the main street.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

super staff, nice rooms, best Breakfast , LOVED Killarney, Make sure to get a Sweater, wander around town , all with in walking distance of the train station, but pack light, MUST do Killarney riding stable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holycowhappydonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked a "Superior" room for one night, and enjoyed it so much, we stayed two. Lovely room with Jacuzzi bath. Excellent food and breakfast. Really friendly staff. Despite being right in the middle of town, Foleys has private secure car parking on site. We stayed eight nights in Ireland, and this was the best, both hotel and place. Memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harvestmoon1448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have to say I was surprised to see all the positive review on Foley's. We stayed here for 1 night and were shocked at how outdated the room was upon entering. The carpet was quite old and the bed furnishings were similar to my grandmother's house. The bathroom was at least clean and nice. The issues came when we laid down to bed and could hear every movement from the room above. It was as if the ceiling above were going to fall in on us. If staying here I strongly suggest the top floor to avoid this noise....but I don't think that will get rid of the hallway noise when anyone walks by. The the place is just outdated so you hear everything going on as the wood creaks.
Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
Brook Lodge Hotel
Brook Lodge Hotel
#26 of 39 in Killarney
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#5 of 39 in Killarney
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murphy's Guesthouse
Murphy's Guesthouse
#37 of 143 in Killarney
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Windway House
Windway House
#17 of 143 in Killarney
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neptunes Hostel
Neptunes Hostel
#8 of 47 in Killarney
345 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old Weir Lodge
Old Weir Lodge
#7 of 143 in Killarney
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foley's Townhouse and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foley's Townhouse and Restaurant

Address: 23 & 24 High Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: $118 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Foley's Townhouse and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foley`s Townhouse And Restaurant Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing