We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant meal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Foley's Townhouse and Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We wandered up and down the High Street to find a restaurant without loud pop music playing! Foley's looked inviting and although we had to wait for a table it was worth it. Best T-bone ever for my husband and delicious plaice fillets for me. Friendly, helpful staff and a good experience all round. Decor is good too, loads of atmosphere.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 233 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed for one night after having a meal in the restaurant below. The room was clean, a little small but very comfy. Couldn't quite work out the heating, so was either baltic or boiling, but didn't really spend enough time in there to work it out. The highlight was the bathroom which had lovely tiles and a good shower and bath jacuzzi if you wanted to use it.

If you scratched below the surface there were a few things in the room that were a bit tired or outdated but these could be overlooked. Also the owner of the building must love buying furniture because its everywhere, even the corridors are littered with drawers and couches.

The house is situated on the main street of Killarney which is great for seeing the town. But the room was severely lacking in sound proofing and we were awoken by the street cleaner.

The breakfast was excellent and despite a very stingy looking menu where it said you were only allowed this or that, it turned out to be plentiful and you could help yourself to the cold stuff and toast kept on coming.

This place would ideally suit older couples who didn't want to walk far and were up at the crack of dawn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

super staff, nice rooms, best Breakfast , LOVED Killarney, Make sure to get a Sweater, wander around town , all with in walking distance of the train station, but pack light, MUST do Killarney riding stable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holycowhappydonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked a "Superior" room for one night, and enjoyed it so much, we stayed two. Lovely room with Jacuzzi bath. Excellent food and breakfast. Really friendly staff. Despite being right in the middle of town, Foleys has private secure car parking on site. We stayed eight nights in Ireland, and this was the best, both hotel and place. Memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harvestmoon1448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have to say I was surprised to see all the positive review on Foley's. We stayed here for 1 night and were shocked at how outdated the room was upon entering. The carpet was quite old and the bed furnishings were similar to my grandmother's house. The bathroom was at least clean and nice. The issues came when we laid down to bed and could hear every movement from the room above. It was as if the ceiling above were going to fall in on us. If staying here I strongly suggest the top floor to avoid this noise....but I don't think that will get rid of the hallway noise when anyone walks by. The the place is just outdated so you hear everything going on as the wood creaks.
Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff, the food was average, but the location was great. Yes the room was a bit dated but hey it's Ireland. I would definately stay there again. The local pubs are great. Had the time of my life.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharkies67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is my second time writing my review about this accommodation, the first one I put up was through their own website and was not put on their reviews.
My husband and I went away for a night in Killarney last weekend and were disgusted with our stay in Foleys guesthouse. The rooms are very small and dated, we were awake most of the night with the noise of the cooling systems just below our window and followed by the 7am noise coming up from the kitchen. Breakfast in the morning wasn't much better, the pudding was so thinly sliced that it was east cremate them, one piece of bacon very dry, the egg was fine!!!! and only one slice of toast per person. The manager also tried to charge us an extra ten euro for the room than what was advertised. When we complained in the morning at reception, all we got was we're sorry... Overall a bad experience and I would not recommend it and won't be staying their again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rudolf P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.3 mi away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
560 reviews
2.8 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Murphy's Guesthouse
Murphy's Guesthouse
#32 of 143 in Killarney
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Crystal Springs Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Killarney Lodge
Killarney Lodge
#8 of 143 in Killarney
426 reviews
0.6 mi away
Woodlawn House Killarney
Woodlawn House Killarney
#15 of 143 in Killarney
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foley's Townhouse and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foley's Townhouse and Restaurant

Address: 23 & 24 High Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: $142 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Foley's Townhouse and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foley`s Townhouse And Restaurant Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing