We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful house and location!”
Review of Friars Glen

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killarney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Friars Glen
Ranked #1 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We spent one night at Friars Glen Country House and would have been happy to have stayed much longer. Beautiful house, surrounded by Killarney National Park; a gracious welcome; comfortably elegant sitting room with a peat fire; huge bedroom with great linens and bathroom; and an excellent breakfast. It felt more like a small, elegant hotel. It is located outside of Killarney center, but close to the National Park entrance.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acetraveler76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,112 - 1,118 of 1,358 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2009

Friar's Glen was a great B&B! We arrived a little early in the day, and Mary was more than welcoming. The place was nicely decorated, and MAry was more than helpful answering a ton of questions I had about the national park, hiking trails, attractions and restaurants. The rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. The Inn is so close to the park, and looking out the windows at the mountains was fantastic, and leaving the Inn to go for a Nature walk was quite easy. It also was close enough to town that when we wanted to do a tourist walk or go to eat, it was not out of the way. Breakfast was fantastic! I had banana fritters, and there is a nice cereal, fruit yogurt help yourself bar setup! A very enjoyable time, and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toenailsinmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

Friar's Glen is a storybook B&B, the one you always hope you will find. The house itslef is lovely, surrounded by lush gardens, rolling lawns and dense woods. The living room has a roaring fire every night and the bedrooms are immaculate and comfortable. The best part of Friars Glen though are the hosts, John & Mary, and particularly Brigit. She gave me wonderful advice on how to spend my time in Killarney and was cheerful and delightful every time I saw her. Breakfast was fantastic. I honestly hated to leave and when I return I will plan to stay for much longer.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
Thank KateGoesAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

What a wonderful B&B! Friendly staff (Bridget is wonderful), fantastically comfortable and clean room, and the best breakfast I had on my trip. The grounds are just lovely. We were able to buy a bottle of wine and drink it in the parlor by the fire - a great evening. I can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2009

We heard about Friars Glen from friends and booked for 3 nights. They could not have been more right about how nice it is. From the moment we arrived Mary and John saw to our every need. The room was fantastic and we loved the peat fire that was laid every night.

It's a short ways to Killarney town by car (5 minutes), which was not a problem at all. Parking was very accessible and inexpensive. Many things to do and good pubs to explore. In addition, Muckross House and the Killarney National Forest and Ross Castle are right there. All three attractions were worth it.

Took a tour of the Ring of Kerry and Mary set everything up for us, with the bus picking us up and dropping us right at the door.

Breakfast was great and as others have commented Bridget was very informative about local attractions. I'd recommend Friars Glen very highly to anyone traveling to the area.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank jpkprovidence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

We found Friar's Glen by chance after being disappointed with our first choice in the area. This is a relatively new stone structure, beautifully built in a fabulous setting in the Killarney National Park. We were attracted by the entrance to Friar's Glen. We walked up thinking we would just check it out and see if there was a room available for three nights. We rang the bell unexpectedly and were cheerfully greeted by John Fuller, the co owner with his wife, Mary. He had a room to show us and we instantly decided to take it. The place was infinitely superior and spirit-lifting in every way to the place we'd booked into, from which we successfully and immediately canceled and moved out of. Our room at Friar's Glen was large and comfortable with lovely furnishings. The bathroom had a tub, which I greatly appreciated. Everything about the room and bath was fresh, appealing and beautifully built.

In the morning, breakfast was served by Bridgit who was genuinely friendly and very helpful with loads of local knowledge, guidance and advice about things to do and see in the area, as well as good restaurants to eat in. The owner, Mary Fuller came out at breakfast to introduce herself also. Both she and her husband John were just as nice as they could be. We felt like we'd landed in heaven for three days.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2009

Doing a whirlwind tour of Ireland was great fun. From Dublin to Glendalough to Cashel to Killarney to Doolin to Galway to Clifden and back to Dublin we saw many wonderful sights. But if there is a next time, we'd skip all the long distance travel and spend more time in County Kerry. And Friars Glen is THE place to stay. Rooms are generous and comfortable, Mary and staff are quite helpful with any and every question, it's in a beautiful place, close to everything, and the legendary Irish Breakfast is the BEST here. We have no hesitations recommending Friars Glen....you'll love it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank czechago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.3 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,603 reviews
5.2 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,460 reviews
5.3 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
1.8 mi away
Cahernane House
Cahernane House
#20 of 38 in Killarney
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friars Glen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friars Glen

Address: Mangerton Rd | Muckross, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: $41 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friars Glen is a four star traditional-style country house offering guests top quality bed and breakfast accommodation. We have ten en suite, spacious, comfortable bedrooms that are quiet and restful. We offer an extensive. delicious breakfast that includes a cold buffet and freshly prepared to-order choices to set you up for your day. Friars Glen has a homely, friendly good humoured atmosphere and with experienced advice we aim to help our guests make the most of their holiday in Ireland's South West. Surrounded by mountains and woodland, Friars Glen is located 5km from Killarney Town and within Killarney National Park, close to Muckross House and Gardens and in the centre of the Park. There are many hikes and trails from our doorstep. Friars Glen is an ideal centre for day tours to Ring of Kerry, Dingle and West Cork. For however long you choose to stay at Friars Glen we assure you of great accommodation and lots to see and do. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Friars Glen Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing