We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our perfect Killarney stay on our first visit to Ireland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Friars Glen

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killarney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Friars Glen
Ranked #1 of 145 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our perfect Killarney stay on our first visit to Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

From Mary's first warm greeting to our farewell four days later, Friars Glen was the perfect venue for our stay in Killarney. Location perfect - nestled on the edge of Killarney National Park. Amenities perfect - full Irish breakfast each morning at our window table overlooking the private gardens, some days catching a glimpse of the deer as they ventured from the woodland; huge room with king bed and ensuite. We followed Brigid's recommendations each morning on routes to take exploring Killarney and on dining options - they proved invaluable.
We hope to have the opportunity to return to Friars Glen one day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trek2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,197
    28
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
317
654
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night before driving the Ring of Kerry. It was a very comfortable room, and breakfast was great! The hosts were very helpful and gave great advice of places to eat and also helped with planning our drive! We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KayDGee08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We based ourselves for two nights in Killarney at the Friars Glen Country House. The property is minutes from downtown Killarney, literally across the street and just down the road from Muckross House and just off the Ring of Kerry drive. It feels miles away, however, as this gorgeous property sits on many acres that are backed up to the Killarney National Park. The views from our two second-story rooms were magnificent. The quiet property is beautifully appointed, spacious and immaculately clean. Owners Mary and John Fuller are wonderful hosts. They cook a fantastic Irish breakfast that is served by sweet Brigid in a bright and cozy breakfast room where you can watch the deer on the property and plan your upcoming day’s adventures. There is a parlor with a fire going at night that welcomes you. Our only regret is that we did not spend more nights in this stunning property. We cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloud9west
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in October 2013. Great location! Great hosts! Great staff! Just outside the National Park and a short drive into town. Hospitality was superb. Would definitely stay again. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a treat, both for the food and the view! Pheasants, deer, and elk wandering by the picture windows. Excellent recommendations for dining and driving from the owners and the staff.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springboro, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had read so many good reviews of Friar's Glen we re-arranged our itinerary so that we could stay here, and we're glad we did. Mary and John treated everyone like family, and our server Brigette was great fun. The room was fantastic, large, clean. Well worth the money. If we get the chance to come back to Ireland we will definitely be back here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyerFan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed for 2 nights in Friars Glen in June 2013. That it was top of the Tripadvisor ratings did not go unnoticed.
The house is about 10 minutes drive from Killarney town itself. And situated in a scenic rural setting.
When I arrived, the house and it's surroundings were every bit as beautiful as the photos suggest.
We were greeted very warmly by Bridget and shown a very spacious, comfortable and homely room.
The owners Mary and John are a credit to the hospitality industry in this country. Nothing, I mean nothing is too much for them. They gave us ironing board and an iron, gave us tips on where to eat and drink and even gave us lifts when the weather got so bad, we couldn't walk.

I also have to mention the food. The breakfast is more than enough to give anyone a great start to the day. The pancakes are a must to try!

If you are touring Ireland or merely a weekend visitor to Killarney, don't give any other hotel/b+b a second thought.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Heretique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Mary john and bridget made us feel ever so welcome,free cuppa and fruit cake on arrival also given a complimentary local map and free wifi ! we had booked 2 nights ! everytime we came back there was a welcome face laughing and joking,bridget is fantastic and so welcoming even tho my wifes english was not so great for her too understand the kerry accent ! bridget took her time if not a little more too explain everything so a big thank you.The house is postcard perfect picture ! The hospitality industry in ireland and abroad could learn from this guesthouse top class !The day we left john gave us a lift too train station which was above the call but thank you ! great people, great place,great hospitality,will i return "i would be insane if i did not"

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robbieocaolain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.3 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
5.3 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
1.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friars Glen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friars Glen

Property: Friars Glen
Address: Mangerton Rd | Muckross, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friars Glen is a four star traditional-style country house offering guests top quality bed and breakfast accommodation. We have ten en suite, spacious, comfortable bedrooms that are quiet and restful. We offer an extensive. delicious breakfast that includes a cold buffet and freshly prepared to-order choices to set you up for your day. Friars Glen has a homely, friendly good humoured atmosphere and with experienced advice we aim to help our guests make the most of their holiday in Ireland's South West. Surrounded by mountains and woodland, Friars Glen is located 5km from Killarney Town and within Killarney National Park, close to Muckross House and Gardens and in the centre of the Park. There are many hikes and trails from our doorstep. Friars Glen is an ideal centre for day tours to Ring of Kerry, Dingle and West Cork. For however long you choose to stay at Friars Glen we assure you of great accommodation and lots to see and do. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Friars Glen Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing