We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic getaway”
Review of Friars Glen

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killarney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Friars Glen
Ranked #1 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Booked for my GF as a birthday present, great quiet location and friendly staff. Wonderful sitting room with a fire balzing away on our arrival. There are wine glasses and and bottle openers in the sitting room for guests to use. Breakfast in the morning was very relaxed and the food was wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,318)
There are newer reviews for Friars Glen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this B&B, and quite frankly at the end of our trip wished that we had booked several days here instead of only two. The owners Mary and John are wonderful as is Bridget, and all are very helpful. They assisted us with making reservations without any hesitation to go riding, and seemed to be genuinely concerned that we would enjoy our stay and have ample activities to fill our time. They gave us great recommendations for restaurants and I felt the location was absolutely perfect for the vibe that we were looking for; in the middle of the most scenic place on Earth, yet close enough to the small city to feel comfortable. We also found a lovely pub and were able to hear trad music both nights of our stay. I am hoping to return within the next year and I would be devastated if I could not get reservations at this B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Beautiful, lovely, private, and pristine B&B out in the beautiful countryside. It looked like something out of a magazine as we drove up. Outstanding breakfast. Mary was incredibly warm, welcoming, and helpful as she gave us tips on where to go, things to do, how to save money. Brigette was charming and funny and also extremely helpful as she gave us all kinds of advice on sightseeing, directions, and armed us with maps. She told us what we could realistically do and see in the amount of time we had. Our room was heavenly, very clean, and the bed was very comfortable. I slept like a baby. Location was excellent as it was right by the Ring of Kerry, in the National Park, and close to Killarney.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex-Randa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

On our way to Friars we wondered if 2 nights was too much since we we driving all over Ireland. First off 2 nights is perfect, I would have really been bummed to have had to leave only after one day. There is a fire going every night in the fab sitting room that I sat in both evenings w my bottles of beer, other travelers & Mary/John the owners to chat & get tips & review maps of the next days adventures. It's a must to order their porridge with baileys. Just tell Bridget "tiny" portion so u can still have room for your Irish breakfast. They even have an ice machine. We saw deer in the yard while we ate which was pretty cool. I definitely know why this place is #1

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank xyliafanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Friars Glen is located on the edge of Killarney National Park. Our room on the second floor had a good view of the forests and mountains. The building and location gave it the feel of a hunting lodge. In fact, we were there during rutting season for red deer and saw several groups of deer in the back field during our three night stay. One group was being led by a huge 10 point buck. It was quite impressive.

Our room was large, clean and comfortable. Mary was quite helpful in recommending where to eat and what to see. The breakfasts were quite good as well. It would be hard to find a better place to have a quiet night's rest in a great setting.

Room Tip: Reserve a room in the back for the best views.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

There is a reason Friars Glen is number one, and that is the effort that Mary, Brigid and John put into making sure that their customers are completely happy, always putting in that extra effort. By the time you leave, you feel you are leaving old friends behind.

We got a great deal for booking three nights, and found we could have easily stayed longer. As well as being reluctant to leave our lovely lodging, there was still so much to see and do in the area.

Our room was lovely, very spacious as was the bathroom. On arrival we were offfered a hot drink, very welcome after a day's travel. Then Brigid sat with us going over possible itineraries and making great suggestions. On one day we were there the road on part of our chosen route was to be closed, and Brigid came up with an alternative that was one of the highlights of our trip.

And the breakfasts - wow. We had stayed at quite a number of wonderful B and B's on this trip, and thought we couldn't find better breakfasts than we had, but Friars Glen surpassed them all. So much variety, and all cooked to order. We had found other B and B's requested your order the night before, but here you were given a menu and it was all freshly cooked. Absolutely delicious. And as a bonus we got to watch the deer outside the dining room window each morning.

Our stay at Friars Glen was one of the highlights of our trip. It is in a beautiful location in the National Park.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodsjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were fortunate to book a 2 day stay on little notice - they had a last minute cancellation. Mary and John were charming and extremely informative. In addiiton to spending extensive time with us planning our sightseeing in the Killarney area, Mary also provided maps and informaiton on the Ring of Kerry and the Dingle Peninsula. The rooms were spotless and breakfast was fantastic. A beautiful spot to stay. She also provided a recommendation to visit the Muckross Castle and surrounding rounds, it was beautiful. And best of all was the recommendation to have dinner at Molly Darcys, an easy walk and full of Irish singing and dancing. We even exended our stay by one day and would have stayed longer if they had a room available. The best part of our trip

Room Tip: Any room is fantastic. We stayed in one room for the first 2 days and moved to a new room for day 3...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.3 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#11 of 39 in Killarney
2,296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
1,564 reviews
5.2 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
1.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 39 in Killarney
2,255 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#2 of 39 in Killarney
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friars Glen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friars Glen

Address: Mangerton Rd | Muckross, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: $42 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friars Glen is a four star traditional-style country house offering guests top quality bed and breakfast accommodation. We have ten en suite, spacious, comfortable bedrooms that are quiet and restful. We offer an extensive. delicious breakfast that includes a cold buffet and freshly prepared to-order choices to set you up for your day. Friars Glen has a homely, friendly good humoured atmosphere and with experienced advice we aim to help our guests make the most of their holiday in Ireland's South West. Surrounded by mountains and woodland, Friars Glen is located 5km from Killarney Town and within Killarney National Park, close to Muckross House and Gardens and in the centre of the Park. There are many hikes and trails from our doorstep. Friars Glen is an ideal centre for day tours to Ring of Kerry, Dingle and West Cork. For however long you choose to stay at Friars Glen we assure you of great accommodation and lots to see and do. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Friars Glen Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing