We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel.”
Review of Arbutus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arbutus Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level 6 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel.”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had a lovely night here. We had 2 kids with us and the room with 2 double beds suited us fine. The staff are very welcoming and helpful. We didn't have dinner there but the breakfast the following morning was excellent. Try the fresh scones. We didn't have any problems with street noise at nighttime.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finbarrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,102
    255
    42
    21
    8
See reviews for
291
569
52
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Just back from a wonderful weekend break in Killarney. The Arbutus is beautiful, and wonderfully located in the centre of Killarney. Nightlife is just around the corner, along with shopping and other attractions. That said, when you step in off the street into the Arbutus, you'd forget you're in a bustling town. The lobby is so gorgeous and inviting, and the staff are the same. Everything is of the highest standard, from the food to the bedrooms. Buckleys bar is also a gem of a pub - best pint of Guinness in Ireland I'm told! Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is an excellent, cozy hotel in the heart of Killarney. They are within walking distance of all the local pubs and restaurants and also within walking distance of a free overnight parking lot. We didn't try the breakfast (it's 12.50 pp) - but did visit the pub for a beer and a coffee.

The service was wonderful and attentive, and the rooms - while a bit tired - were well-appointed.

One piece of advice is to request a room towards the back of the hotel. The local pubs and crowds are very noisy on a weekend night, and we were unable to sleep our first night (after which we switched rooms).

Room Tip: Choose a room toward the back of the hotel to avoid the late night noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CuseSox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArbutusBuckleys, Owner at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2015
Thank you very much for your review and big reccommendation that our little hotel is a great option for anyone coming to Killarney.

Best wishes from all the team @ The Arbutus.

Regards,

Seán Buckley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

How this hotel has won the Tripadvisor award for several years is beyond me, while it is centrally located and the first floor common areas are nicely done, once you get above the first floor, the carpets and walls are very tired, the room we first were put in was very lacking in decor and comfort, it didn't have a tub, so were moved to another room. This room's decor was also very dated and lacking in comfort, but the worst was the tub. I ran water (which ran brown for over several minutes) and the tub water became black. The bottom of the tub and all around the edges were covered in something like soot, which also was on the towels. While the young lady at the reception area couldn't have been nice and more pleasant, when I told her of the dirt in the tub, the only comment was "so sorry". The breakfast was nice, but I would pick another hotel.

Room Tip: pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Candy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

this hotel was luxury with great staff who tried to help you with tour plans when asked without question. very friendly and bar attached was easy to get to. clean and comfortable with big beds. close to all town activities and pubs. would stay again in heart beat

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cary1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed another lovely stay at the Arbutus Hotel in Killarney a few weeks ago. We always look forward to staying at this family run hotel because of the warm welcome and hospitality that never changes, it's always wonderful. From the girls at reception to Betty in the breakfast room, they always have a smile for you and willing to help with whatever you need. We loved our room, very comfortable bed and modern bathroom with all the amenities and quiet for a great sleep. Breakfast is a treat at the Arbutus. There are many choices, we love the french toast, but everything is delicious. And the scones and gingerbread, they are the best! And it is all served by Betty, who also decorates the breakfast room. We loved the Halloween decorations. If you're in the mood for a drink, Buckley's Pub is right next door and you can have a chat with one of the friendly barmen. We even enjoyed a complimentary sausage/chips one day there. We really enjoyed that. Thank you! I highly recommend staying here. Sean, you and your staff run a warm, friendly hotel and we always look forward to our next visit. Thanks all!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosebudBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Lovely small family run hotel. Always try to stay here when in killarney! Staff all so friendly esp. The sisters on reception. Reasonable rates.only complaint is rooms are getting a little tired looking but a sign of the times we're in I suppose! Lookin forward to my next visit already

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BUZ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
899 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,479 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,387 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbutus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Hotel

Property: Arbutus Hotel
Address: Arbutus Hotel College Street | Killarney Town centre, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#6 Family Hotel in Killarney
#6 Business Hotel in Killarney
#12 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arbutus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arbutus is one of Killarney's true original hotels. Located in the town centre it is a historic, family run hotel -The Arbutus is best described as a Country House Manor in the heart of Killarney . Whilst small, it has the luxurious accommodation and service expected from a larger hotel, with the advantage of all the personal attention and discretion that a smaller property can offer. Location, service, knowledge and comfort. It is often described by guests as a home away from home. We look forward to the opportunity of making you feel at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arbutus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing