We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Rate Hotel in the Heart of Killarney!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arbutus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arbutus Hotel
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Ballston Spa, New York
Level Contributor
227 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“First Rate Hotel in the Heart of Killarney!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

My friend and I joked that we had the "princess room"! It was huge--room enough to sleep 7 people! (2 doubles, a twin and a sleep sofa in the sitting area) And the two of us could have taken a bath and a shower at the time since they were separate in our big bathroom. All for just the price of a double! Our travelling companions were definitely jealous.

All the service personnel were very pleasant, the hotel was in the center of the city, and breakfast was delicious. What more can you ask?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwk_berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,063
    247
    39
    19
    6
See reviews for
279
541
48
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights while touring nearby sites. Right downtown with parking conveniently located in the rear, it was easy to get to and easy to find your way out of town. Our room was large and clean but with a view of the duct work out the back. Breakfast was fine and the front desk staff were cheerful and helpful. A good choice in Killarney.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael109_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Conveniently located and very charming hotel. We were traveling in a big group and realized that all rooms were different. While some got fantastic rooms, others got rooms that with very strange layouts. We stayed only one night, so it worked out okay for us. Very close to all restaurants, pubs, nightlife.

Room Tip: Ask to see the layout of the room before picking one. Every room (they were all priced the same) in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gs217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Six of us from the U.S. stayed with the Arbutus in Aug 2013. We were very impressed with the staff, their friendly assistance, the rooms, the bar attached, and the breakfasts. Aside from a middle of the night fire alarm (traced to a careless and absent minded couple with a candle in room!), all of our six night stay was delightful, and we heartily recommend this location to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Arkansas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

These are just a few of the many complimentary words we can use to describe the Arbutus and the great staff. This was our first trip to Ireland and the Arbutus was the perfect choice for us. Located in the heart of downtown Killarney, we were close to all of the great pubs and shopping. Make sure you visit their pub after 9:00 pm and enjoy the relaxing atmosphere and traditional Irish music. Breet working the reception desk gave us perfect recommendations for dinner each night. The breakfast is top notch. We loved the scones! - and the menu choices. Betty in the dining room is a treat. Our room was spacious, comfortable, clean and quiet. We plan to return to Ireland and for us, there is no need to consider staying anywhere else in Killarney.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor in the back - room 225. The weather was warm for October and we had the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I just concluded spending 2 nights in lovely Killarney at the Arbutus Hotel,located in the city centre. Killarney has a great selection of hotels but stay in the city to appreciate the charm of the city and to experience the many lovely pubs and those that have live Irish music nightly. It really is a fine evening strolling city with many stores open late.
The Hotel itself is a grand dame, beautifully decorated and maintained. The hilite is the staff, from the check in lady, Bre to Betty the main server of breakfast. When meeting Betty you need to ask 2 questions - how long has she worked at the Arbutus and where was she born. Just a wonderful charming person and the person you want to meet first thing in the morning. The breakfast itself is a 10 from the fruit to the eggs a standout.

Room Tip: you may want to be away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schaefcand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Four of us stayed three nights at the Arbutus Hotel in Killarney on our week-long tour of Ireland and found it to be a gracious and welcoming hotel. All the staff were friendly and welcoming, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the food service was great! The hotel's location is perfect. No mystery why the Arbutus Hotel is one of Ireland's favorite places to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
0.0 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbutus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Hotel

Property: Arbutus Hotel
Address: Arbutus Hotel College Street | Killarney Town centre, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#6 Business Hotel in Killarney
#6 Family Hotel in Killarney
#10 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arbutus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arbutus is one of Killarney's true original hotels. Located in the town centre it is a historic, family run hotel -The Arbutus is best described as a Country House Manor in the heart of Killarney . Whilst small, it has the luxurious accommodation and service expected from a larger hotel, with the advantage of all the personal attention and discretion that a smaller property can offer. Location, service, knowledge and comfort. It is often described by guests as a home away from home. We look forward to the opportunity of making you feel at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arbutus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing