We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge and romantic room!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arbutus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arbutus Hotel
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Huge and romantic room!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This 4 star hotel is located right other heart of Killarney. There is no parking for this hotel but there are a few public parkings around the hotel. We chose the one Blythe mall as it was a little easier for us to haul the luggage although it is a little expensive compare to the other one (€1 per hour vs €3 per day )

The reception and waiting area is lovely. It just gave me a feeling at home. The staff was friendly and helpful

I think we were upgraded to some what looks like a honeymoon suit when we entered the room. It was painted in romantic maroon and it was huge! The room decided into 4 section : A living room with chaise longue over looking at the fire place. The changing room and Bathroom, then the bedroom with " king size bed" which is the combination of 2 twin beds.

The bathroom was huge and clean. There was a bathtub and a separate walk In shower on the other end. The amenities were standard. One little complaint I have was the 2 faucets sink. I really had problem to use it - how should I get warm water from 2 different faucets without either getting only cold or extremely hot water?

Complementary wifi was super!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanessaMunYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArbutusBuckleys, Family at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Vanessa,

Thank you for posting your fabulous review.

What can I say but that the receptionist decided that “The Love birds” had landed when she saw you walk in through the front door and decided that you deserved the honeymoon suite. I myself have been on my honeymoon for the last 23 years. There is always room for romance, we just need the occasional reminder.

Happy New Year.

Slán,

Seán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,064
    247
    39
    19
    6
See reviews for
280
541
48
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here on a recent trip to Killarney, we found the receptionist Michelle very friendly and helpful. We were served a cup of tea and a scone in the bar by a very friendly and attentive barman named Denis. He couldn't have been nicer. The room was lovely and spacious. We would highly recommend the breakfast here it was nicely cooked and Betty that served us was very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArbutusBuckleys, Owner at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Tom,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Arbutus and also thank you for taking the time to post a review here on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to see that you had an “EXCELLENT STAY”. How time flies ? Michelle & Denis, who are married to each other went off and had a baby and now have a bonny 16 week old Emily in their lives. Apologies for the delay in replying.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon and remember that there are loyalty benefits that you qualify for as a return guests.

Happy New Year.

Slán,

Seán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
159 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed one night during the heat wave-- and the staff were more than accommodating in bringing us fans for the room and providing a bag of ice for a knee injury. We had 2 rooms both in the front of the hotel-- lovely spacious rooms, just beware that with the windows open for ventilation, the night noise gets a bit much. Bathroom in 114 has a lovely stained glass window for privacy. Staff is wonderfully nice, entire hotel is very clean and breakfast was delicious!

Room Tip: Room 114 is large, right in the front of the hotel overlooking the street-- can be noisy! Room dark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BodhisattvaHand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArbutusBuckleys, Family at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for your very nice review and apologies for not getting around to replying sooner, we have been very pleasantly busy since.


We are delighted to see that you consider The Arbutus to be VERY NICE and very clean, with the team to be wonderfully nice and that the breakfasts were delicious.


Well done on selecting the year that Ireland had the heat wave and I hope that your knee injury is now a thing of the past.

Hope that 2014 will be your best year yet.

Slán,

Seán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington,CT
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Excellent staff, older rooms; a quiet oasis in a tourist town. The front desk staff were excellent with advice about tourist activities, dinner, lunch spots etc.....Liked the authentic pub in the lobby filled with locals. Good place for a pint after a harrowing drive on the Ring of Kerry.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connecticut-MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArbutusBuckleys, Owner at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review. I have shared your comments with all the “excellent staff” and they all send their appreciation, go raibh maith agat.

You have identified and highlighted a few of the key benefits that guests may enjoy when staying at The Arbutus like SERVICE, the excellent Staff with good advice on where to go, what to see & do and where to eat. LOCATION, A quite oasis in the heart of a bustling town and the AUTHENTIC pub which was filled with locals. There is a saying, when in Rome do as the Romans
do! That is a great bit of advice to anyone on vacation. Sure there are days when one would like a Big Mac and the great thing about McDonalds is that they are the same worldwide, but if one wants to embrace the regional fare, look out for where the locals themselves go and go there. For me The Arbutus is my passion and Buckleys Bar is my pastime, a place where there is banter, conversation and music sessions.


Happy New Year,

Slán,

Seán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

What a delightful place to stay. The people treat you as if you were in your own home. The servers during our morning breakfast were, by far, the nicest, professional, and caring people.
I would most definitely stay here again! Great location, delicious food and highly accommodating.
L.Kay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaylinda1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArbutusBuckleys, Owner at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Linda,

Happy New Year to you and yours.

Apologies about the delay in replying to your lovely review, thankfully we have been very busy since and we accredited a lot of this to all those past guests who take the time to post a review here on TA for future guests to read about your time while you were here. Thank you very much for your contribution.

We are very, very pleased to read that you felt that you were treated as if you were in your own home. At the Arbutus we believe that hospitality is all about the guests feeling welcome, cared for and appreciated. We love when guests consider us as home away from home, like visiting a caring aunt or their Killarney home.


“I WOULD MOST DEFINITELY STAY HERE AGAIN!” The best feedback any hotel could hope for and then you give the reasons why “Great location, delicious food and highly accommodating.”

We hope that you will visit again, until then,

Slán,

Seán

P.S.
Michelle (& Dennis) went off and had a lovely baby, Emily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Hi,
I just wanted to thank you for putting myself and Cathy up when we took part in The Cycle Against Suicide, Cycle. Your staff could not have been more helpful, friendly and just plain nice! The hotel receptionist especially, so sorry I didn't catch her name but we were a tad bit tired! But even though you don't wash clothes without a blink of an eye when I asked, she said she would sort it out for us! I loved your town and especially your beautiful hotel and I will be back and I know where I will be staying.
Thanks again,
Ciara.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ciararoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArbutusBuckleys, Family at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Ciara,

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and Cathy on your “peddle” around Ireland in The Cycle Against Suicide.

Thank you, Jim, Bressie and all others who were involved in what will be remembered as one of the key events of 2013. I am sure that it has made a great impact on peoples thinking and perception on suicide and hopefully it will continue to do so. Reducing the number of incidents, removing the stigma associated with it and helping people to cope with suicidal thoughts.

I have heard back from teenagers how seeing high profile “successful” people revealing their vunerability, how they may have struggled emotionally and how they learned to cope was a message that they will remember for a quite a while. To all those who have been bereaved by a family member or friend by suicide and to those who may be struggling with suicide themselves, we wish them peace.

Thank you again and all the best in 2014

Slán,

Seán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

First time in Ireland, and we stayed in Killarney for three nights at the Arbutus. We had a lovely room street side. It was cozy and cute. We pack Mac's brand ear plugs to shut out noise. You will need them as folks like to party up into wee hours of the morning. Anywho, this is a great hotel, nice folks, pubs on both sides. Buckley's is connected to the hotel. We had free parking just up the rode a couple of blocks. We did not eat the breakfast there, but it looked good when we were checking in out. Trying to save our calories for the guiness and irish stew! When we go back, we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Reserve in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmlupner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArbutusBuckleys, Owner at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and also for taking the time to post a review and recommending The Arbutus.

“WHEN WE GO BACK, WE WILL STAY HERE AGAIN.” What more could any business ask for in terms of feedback and a testimonial? And the good news is that when you do return, there are great loyalty benefits that you will enjoy, we may even entice you to offer up some of your daily calories with a complimentary breakfast on one of the mornings. It is important to have a good foundation for the day and our oatmeal porridge and Baileys provides the perfect combination of “soakage” & a “kick start”.

Go raibh míle maith agat,

Slán,

Seán

P.S.

Apologies about the tardiness in replying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
0.0 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbutus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Hotel

Property: Arbutus Hotel
Address: Arbutus Hotel College Street | Killarney Town centre, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Killarney
#6 Business Hotel in Killarney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#10 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arbutus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arbutus is one of Killarney's true original hotels. Located in the town centre it is a historic, family run hotel -The Arbutus is best described as a Country House Manor in the heart of Killarney . Whilst small, it has the luxurious accommodation and service expected from a larger hotel, with the advantage of all the personal attention and discretion that a smaller property can offer. Location, service, knowledge and comfort. It is often described by guests as a home away from home. We look forward to the opportunity of making you feel at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arbutus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing