We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Arbutus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arbutus Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed one night during the heat wave-- and the staff were more than accommodating in bringing us fans for the room and providing a bag of ice for a knee injury. We had 2 rooms both in the front of the hotel-- lovely spacious rooms, just beware that with the windows open for ventilation, the night noise gets a bit much. Bathroom in 114 has a lovely stained glass window for privacy. Staff is wonderfully nice, entire hotel is very clean and breakfast was delicious!

Room Tip: Room 114 is large, right in the front of the hotel overlooking the street-- can be noisy! Room dark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BodhisattvaHand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArbutusBuckleys, Family at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you for your very nice review and apologies for not getting around to replying sooner, we have been very pleasantly busy since.


We are delighted to see that you consider The Arbutus to be VERY NICE and very clean, with the team to be wonderfully nice and that the breakfasts were delicious.


Well done on selecting the year that Ireland had the heat wave and I hope that your knee injury is now a thing of the past.

Hope that 2014 will be your best year yet.

Slán,

Seán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

579 - 585 of 1,483 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

Excellent staff, older rooms; a quiet oasis in a tourist town. The front desk staff were excellent with advice about tourist activities, dinner, lunch spots etc.....Liked the authentic pub in the lobby filled with locals. Good place for a pint after a harrowing drive on the Ring of Kerry.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connecticut-MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArbutusBuckleys, Owner at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review. I have shared your comments with all the “excellent staff” and they all send their appreciation, go raibh maith agat.

You have identified and highlighted a few of the key benefits that guests may enjoy when staying at The Arbutus like SERVICE, the excellent Staff with good advice on where to go, what to see & do and where to eat. LOCATION, A quite oasis in the heart of a bustling town and the AUTHENTIC pub which was filled with locals. There is a saying, when in Rome do as the Romans
do! That is a great bit of advice to anyone on vacation. Sure there are days when one would like a Big Mac and the great thing about McDonalds is that they are the same worldwide, but if one wants to embrace the regional fare, look out for where the locals themselves go and go there. For me The Arbutus is my passion and Buckleys Bar is my pastime, a place where there is banter, conversation and music sessions.


Happy New Year,

Slán,

Seán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

What a delightful place to stay. The people treat you as if you were in your own home. The servers during our morning breakfast were, by far, the nicest, professional, and caring people.
I would most definitely stay here again! Great location, delicious food and highly accommodating.
L.Kay

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaylinda1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArbutusBuckleys, Owner at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Linda,

Happy New Year to you and yours.

Apologies about the delay in replying to your lovely review, thankfully we have been very busy since and we accredited a lot of this to all those past guests who take the time to post a review here on TA for future guests to read about your time while you were here. Thank you very much for your contribution.

We are very, very pleased to read that you felt that you were treated as if you were in your own home. At the Arbutus we believe that hospitality is all about the guests feeling welcome, cared for and appreciated. We love when guests consider us as home away from home, like visiting a caring aunt or their Killarney home.


“I WOULD MOST DEFINITELY STAY HERE AGAIN!” The best feedback any hotel could hope for and then you give the reasons why “Great location, delicious food and highly accommodating.”

We hope that you will visit again, until then,

Slán,

Seán

P.S.
Michelle (& Dennis) went off and had a lovely baby, Emily.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Hi,
I just wanted to thank you for putting myself and Cathy up when we took part in The Cycle Against Suicide, Cycle. Your staff could not have been more helpful, friendly and just plain nice! The hotel receptionist especially, so sorry I didn't catch her name but we were a tad bit tired! But even though you don't wash clothes without a blink of an eye when I asked, she said she would sort it out for us! I loved your town and especially your beautiful hotel and I will be back and I know where I will be staying.
Thanks again,
Ciara.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ciararoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArbutusBuckleys, Family at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Ciara,

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and Cathy on your “peddle” around Ireland in The Cycle Against Suicide.

Thank you, Jim, Bressie and all others who were involved in what will be remembered as one of the key events of 2013. I am sure that it has made a great impact on peoples thinking and perception on suicide and hopefully it will continue to do so. Reducing the number of incidents, removing the stigma associated with it and helping people to cope with suicidal thoughts.

I have heard back from teenagers how seeing high profile “successful” people revealing their vunerability, how they may have struggled emotionally and how they learned to cope was a message that they will remember for a quite a while. To all those who have been bereaved by a family member or friend by suicide and to those who may be struggling with suicide themselves, we wish them peace.

Thank you again and all the best in 2014

Slán,

Seán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

First time in Ireland, and we stayed in Killarney for three nights at the Arbutus. We had a lovely room street side. It was cozy and cute. We pack Mac's brand ear plugs to shut out noise. You will need them as folks like to party up into wee hours of the morning. Anywho, this is a great hotel, nice folks, pubs on both sides. Buckley's is connected to the hotel. We had free parking just up the rode a couple of blocks. We did not eat the breakfast there, but it looked good when we were checking in out. Trying to save our calories for the guiness and irish stew! When we go back, we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Reserve in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmlupner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArbutusBuckleys, Owner at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and also for taking the time to post a review and recommending The Arbutus.

“WHEN WE GO BACK, WE WILL STAY HERE AGAIN.” What more could any business ask for in terms of feedback and a testimonial? And the good news is that when you do return, there are great loyalty benefits that you will enjoy, we may even entice you to offer up some of your daily calories with a complimentary breakfast on one of the mornings. It is important to have a good foundation for the day and our oatmeal porridge and Baileys provides the perfect combination of “soakage” & a “kick start”.

Go raibh míle maith agat,

Slán,

Seán

P.S.

Apologies about the tardiness in replying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

After reading reviews of hotels in Killarney on Trip Advisor, we chose the Arbutus and are very glad we did. I chose a very good rating as a blend of excellent for most things and average for the room itself. The building is nearly 200 years old and was once a monastery and a school for boys back around 1838, but many renovations and much modernization have been done. All public areas such as the lobby, sitting rooms and lounges, and the breakfast room are very attractive with antique furniture and displays.
The staff members are just the most pleasant people you could ever meet - very friendly and helpful. The owner himself is usually on the premises and is a joy to talk to as are all the front desk personnel. I thought the price was reasonable, especially for Europe and for what one gets for the money.
There is a fantastic breakfast with both table service and serve-yourself buffet. Whatever you could want for breakfast was available and was prepared well.
The location of the hotel is very convenient. The Main St. shops etc. are a five minute walk in one direction and the bus station is five minutes away in the opposite direction. Our room (212) faced the street, but traffic noise wasn't a factor because of the modern well-insulated windows.
Now for the room itself which I've called average. Comparing it to others I've had in Europe, it wasn't anything unusual - small, but clean. I wouldn't want to spend too much time in it, but it was fine for sleeping. It had a tiny Toshiba TV with an excellent picture. My biggest complaint was the fact that there was no comfortable chair in which to sit to read and there was no lamp near the chair the room did have, and there was no light at the desk/table either. The floor creaked in places when walked on so one couldn't make one's way quietly to the bathroom in the middle of the night.
The bathroom was very clean with greyish white marble and tile and a deep tub and shower combined.
Would I stay here again? Absolutely, but I'd probably ask to see another room with adequate lighting.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shen60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArbutusBuckleys, Owner at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Shen,

Happy New Year to you and yours. I hope that you are well and that you will have a great year in 2014.

Apologies for the delay in replying to you and thanking you for taking the time to post your holistic and honest review about your time at The Arbutus. It is with great pride and pleasure that I read that such a well travelled couple and Senior Contributor as your good self , was overall very pleased with your sojourn here and that in answer to the ultimate question “Would I stay here again?” you answer Absolutely, but you would probably ask to see another room with adequate lighting.

Hands up, being a historic building no two bedrooms are the same and 212 is not our best, we have many more with better lighting and sitting arrangements. Should you revisit us we will ensure that you get one of these rooms and being a return guest you would also enjoy many loyalty benefits.

“The staff members are just the most pleasant people you could ever meet - very friendly and helpful.” Thank you for this, I have shared it with all concerned. At The Arbutus we believe that we are in THE PEOPLE BUSINESS, the people who stay here and the people who work here is what is important. Over the years a nice essence has developed and there is a kind of law of attraction, where you having done your research and reading reviews decided to stay and then post a review which similar minded people find interesting and it continues and continues. Location, building design, service and value all play their part as well but getting the right match is what is critical, thanks for playing your part.

Until we meet again, slán,

Seán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The accommodations were MOST comfortable, very clean! Great location within the center of town - could walk every where! The staff was exceptional & so friendly! Ina and Michelle at the front desk took care of our every needs! We had a special need to dry our golf clubs and clothing after a rainy day and they took care of us by bringing a heater to our room - WHAT SERVICE! Betty cheerfully greeted us every morning for breakfast and was such a delight! The breakfast was the BEST we had in Ireland! The bar staff at night was also so friendly. Bar food on Friday night was also very good! What a great place - would definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArbutusBuckleys, Owner at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Wayne,

Thank you very, very much for taking the time to post a review about your stay at The Arbutus.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time here, that you think our little hotel is a Great Hotel with most comfortable and clean accommodations, in a great Location, with exceptional friendly & cheerful staff, the best breakfast you had in Ireland and to top it off , “WOULD DEFINITELY RETURN”, super feedback and a powerful testimonial.

Michelle, Ina, Betty and all others involved say thank you.

Happy New Year,

Slán,

Seán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#19 of 38 in Killarney
1,498 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.0 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#12 of 38 in Killarney
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,251 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,283 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbutus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Hotel

Address: Arbutus Hotel College Street | Killarney Town centre, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Killarney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#6 Business Hotel in Killarney
#12 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $92 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arbutus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arbutus is one of Killarney's true original hotels. Located in the town centre it is a historic, family run hotel -The Arbutus is best described as a Country House Manor in the heart of Killarney . Whilst small, it has the luxurious accommodation and service expected from a larger hotel, with the advantage of all the personal attention and discretion that a smaller property can offer. Location, service, knowledge and comfort. It is often described by guests as a home away from home. We look forward to the opportunity of making you feel at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arbutus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing