We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arbutus Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Fairview(Killarney)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Killarney Royal(Killarney)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Failte Hotel(Killarney)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Scotts Hotel(Killarney)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ross(Killarney)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,510)
Filter reviews
1,510 results
Traveler rating
1,161
273
46
23
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,161
273
46
23
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesginger cakebuckley's barold world charmfamily run hotelattached pubtraditional irish musiccharming hotelold stylewithin walking distancemiddle of townirish hospitalitycentral locationhome from homefull irish breakfastbrown breadporridge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
697 - 702 of 1,510 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Great location v friendly staff who made you feel v welcome.Lovely breakfast & Betty who served us could not have been more helpful.Room we stayed in was nicely decorated with a lovely bathroomWould highly recommend & will definitely stay there again.

Maire

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Maire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArbutusBuckleys, Family at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Maire
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at The Arbutus and for your lovely comments in your review. We really appreciate the effort that is required in taking the time to post a review when there are other more pressing things demanding your time.

We are chuffed to read how much you enjoyed your time with us and that you would highly recommend the hotel to others, but most importantly that you will definitely stay here again. What greater compliment can any hotel get than for a guest to say those words “WILL DEFINITELY STAY THERE AGAIN”.

I came across the following on a blog recently;

The Moral Compass

Many businesses are in the same business, just like yours.
Many target the same customer and have similar propositions;
many are more of the same.
So what is it that marks out those that are more successful than others?
Why is it that they have a higher repeat business ratio?
Why is it guests say simple things like *“they are just very nice people”?*
The answer? ‘Values’ it’s that slightly below the radar ethos, culture,
and attitude that is interwoven in every organisation. It’s not obvious,
rarely taught but ever present.
**Values are what you stand for, what you believe in and are, in some ways, the moral compass of your business.

Without a doubt I am probably the luckiest hotel manager in all of Ireland. I have a great team whose values are all in the right place and when I heard you say; “v friendly staff who made you feel v welcome.Lovely breakfast & Betty who served us could not have been more helpful” The Moral Compass story came to mind.
Thank you again for your lovely kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back and please remember that there is a loyalty reward for repeat guests.

Regards,

Seán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

A very welcoming hotel with great location in the middle of Klliarney. The staff were very hospitable and intention to detail was fantastic.The cosy fire in the lobby made the cup of tea and a chat a little special. Betty the breakfast lady made made my sister and i a delicious breakfast. We'l defiantly will be back in May

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royclarke61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArbutusBuckleys, Owner at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Roy,

Where does the time go? Apologies for the delay in my replying, but Thankfully we have been very busy and I guess time does fly when are.

Thank you for you and the “sister” for visiting us and for making yourselves at home in The Arbutus. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Slán,

Seán

P.S.

The mountains are screaming for a good hike and Skellig is waiting for a visit too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel has a character. Loved the lounge downstairs, looking out on the street
and with big open fire where you can sip your tea or coffee. We liked that the manager
showed us the room without obligation and this hotel is quite a pleasant surprise right in the centre of town. We requested a quiet room as we were very tired from travelling and we
got that and the best night's sleep I had in 2012 - combination of a great bed, quiet room
and being tired! Liked that they let us have an extra lie in and breakfast half an hour
later than normal. That you will not get in a bigger hotel for many reasons. I liked the
manager's friendliness and felt he genuinely cared about his customers. We live in
Ireland so it's not such a change for us (weather/scenery/food) but I think non Irish
tourists and particularly American would love the whole 'Irish vibe' here in Killarney.
Gave the hotel 3 stars for value, that is because Killarney is quite expensive overall
for hotels. This hotel is priced accordingly. Home made scones great at breakfast.
Overall, we loved our stay in this hotel and would definitely return.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room as we were tired and you only have to ask the manager for whatever you need.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galwaycouple42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArbutusBuckleys, Owner at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your glowing review here on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that to see that overall that you found the Arbutus to be a quite a pleasant surprise, you enjoyed your stay and what greater compliment can a hotel get than to hear that you would definitely return.

You describe your time at The Arbutus so well. The hotel has indeed built up a character of it’s own over the years that is the result of being refurbished and maintained with love and passion, resulting in an eclectic mix of the last century of styles. One of the most recent improvements has been the introduction of super luxury mattresses in some of our rooms and it would appear that you got one of these rooms.


LOVED THE LOUNGE DOWNSTAIRS, LOOKING OUT ON THE STREET
AND WITH BIG OPEN FIRE WHERE YOU CAN SIP YOUR TEA OR COFFEE. It is amazing how many guests comment on this as one of the benefits of staying at The Arbutus. To be in a lovely drawing room, in the heart of Killarney and watching others pass by, I’d love it myself.


Thank you again,

Slán,

Seán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had a saturday overnight stay in the Arbutus Hotel..It was welcoming,warm & comfortable.
The attention to detail was excellent.The breakfast was YUM !Hopefully this was the first of many
visits. We loook forward to returning very soon.

Room Tip: ask for room 225...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 52mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArbutusBuckleys, Family at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

M&M,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Delighted to see that you hope that your recent visit will be the first of many, that is what we hope for too.

A hotel that was warm and welcoming, where the attention to detail was excellent and the breakfasts were YUM. I love it. THANKS!

We look forward to your return very soon.

Slán,

Seán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

A wonderful gem of a hotel right in the centre of town. Hospitality second to none without being overpowering or intrusive. Breakfast was a real treat with a great selection and the fresh baked scones and gingerbread are to die for! Betty in the dining room is a real treasure and made our sons stay all the more enjoyable, although he keeps asking for more Baileys...!! Ina was also incredibly helpful as we left an item behind and they couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cymru25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArbutusBuckleys, Family at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Cymru,

Thank you for selecting the Arbutus as your place to stay in Killarney and in a town where there is such a great choice to choose from you have awarded us the “HARD TO FIND BETTER!” award. Thank you very, very much for such great feedback and recommendation. We will carry it with pride and promise.

I hope that you have managed to wean your son off the Baileys, explain to him that it is for holidays and special occasions only.


HOSPITALITY SECOND TO NONE WITHOUT BEING OVERPOWERING OR INTRUSIVE. A fine balance indeed to be sought somewhere between both. All I can say is that at The Arbutus each and everyone of the teams heart and wishes are in the right place, they all want the guest to feel confortablem cared for and to make the most of their time in Killarney.

Slán,

Seán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews