We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Spent two days at the hotel. Accommodation was very clean and comfortable. Staff meet you as soon as you arrive, and assist you with luggage to your room. All staff we came in contact with were both polite and helpful. Thank you Danny and Donagh. Breakfast was first class with a choice of menu from either kitchen or self service.
No problem recommending a stay here anytime.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank daver204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

826 - 832 of 1,607 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2014

I had the please of staying in room 211 in this fantastic hotel for the May Bank Holiday Weekend while the Rally of the Lakes were also on.

From the time we arrived to the time we left this hotel was pure heaven. We were greeted on check in by James and Chris who went above and beyond to make us welcome. This continued throughout our stay and everytime we came in contact with any staff member.

I must say that our contact with Caroline and David prior to our stay was also absolutely fantastic.

The hotel and ground are absolutely beautiful and in a perfect area in Killarney.

The real gem of the hotel has to be the food and the wonderful staff. We cannot wait to return very very soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDSS2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here. Staff were very pleasant, helpful and willing to share information.

Rooms were spacious and comfortable with a king sized bed.

Location is about 4.5k from killarney town, very close to the muckross park. Taxis are plentiful and cost about €10-12 one way into town. The hotel has a shuttle but unfortunately, they don't have a regular schedule of departures and pickups. On our stay, the shuttle bus wasn't available in the early evening which is unfortunate as it could easily be used to drop residents into town for dinner, instead of sitting idle - as an added benefit offered by hotels of similar standard.

Breakfast is delicious, varied and plentiful. There's a hot and cold buffet selection as well as a short hot menu which can be ordered directly from the kitchen. There are a number of homemade treats such as a delightful rhubarb yogurt and miniature hot dishes such as choux pastry with poached eggs, salmon hollandaise short crust fingers, mini- waffles, etc which are yummy and demonstrate thoughtful, innovative and unique twists by the chef on some breakfast favourites.

We were too busy enjoying the delights of killarney and it's surrounds to try out the spa and restaurant facilities. The hotel has complimentary bikes which are great for touring the national park as many sights are quite spread out from each other.

Cleanliness of open guest spaces could be improved. On our stay, there was a collection of bottles, glasses and food trays left beside the stairs for the entire day, before it was finally cleared- unacceptable for a 5 star hotel.

Overall, this is a pleasant place to stay with an old world charm, but more of a four star standard than five star.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank whisper_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed here Tuesday night and can't speak highly enough of the staff or the hotel itself. One of our party was a wheelchair user and we had quite a lot of luggage but from the moment we entered the hotel Okos on reception and Chris the porter took care of everything, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are large and well appointed and the bathrooms spacious. We had dinner in Mollly Darcys bar which was very good and relatively inexpensive, however the breakfast was truly delightful, especially the smoothies and French toast! Would love to have stayed longer and will hopefully be back soon:-)

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank Dolly1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Lovely four poster bed, complimentary mini bar, bottle of wine and handmade chocs in our Suite. Plenty of old world charm and luxury. On arrival, We were met with a lovely smile by the porter, Danny, head of guest relations who gave us a friendly welcome, checked us in and walked us to our room. He ensured we had everything we needed. Very personalised service. Just Amazing staff here, who go the extra mile to make your stay as enjoyable as possible and really make the hotel a five star experience. Cloisters spa was fabulous especially the outdoor hot tub. We availed of the complimentary bicycles and cycled into Killarney. Breakfast was superb, had the smoothie, organic rhubarb yoghurt and grilled salmon with poached egg from the kitchen, yum! Again, the waiting staff were excellent. Truly a five star experience and soooo can't wait for the opportunity to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonOConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed here last weekend and hated coming home, the staff can not do enough for u. I am so bad with names but we had a lovely guy take in our bags and to our room, hot towels to freshen up after our complimentry bike ride. Lovely chocs and wine. And leave it to breakfast it was amazing... I see someone wrote the hotel is over rated and outdated i have to disagree will be going back again on the offer up i see today once again,. Hated coming home even got bottle water and mints on leaving for our journey lovely jesture. No faults
Martina From Laois

Room Tip: Our room was huge, comfie bed, beautiful warm bathroom, just loved it all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinakeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed in a 2 room apartment next to the hotel, the bedrooms were fine but the living and kitchen areas were fairly drab and in need of updating.
The Cloisters Spa was complementary which is very nice and there is also complementary bike use.
The grounds are very well maintained with a decent Irish themed bar on site.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treblecle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,388 reviews
4.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
4.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,326 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,474 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muckross Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muckross Park Hotel & Spa

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#13 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#14 Business Hotel in Killarney
#19 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#22 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $181 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Muckross Park Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellence surrounded by beauty - Muckross Park Hotel & Spa is uniquely located in Killarney's majestic National Park with magnificent mountains and lakes close by. The hotel is home to the renowned Spa at Muckross. Elegant, luxurious guestrooms and suites, award winning Yew Tree Restaurant and Monk's Lounge. The hotel has superb guest services and makes for a truly memorable hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Muckross Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muckross Park Hotel And Cloisters Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Cloisters Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing