We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Wedding Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Killorglin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant Wedding Venue”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had our wedding here in January 2014,

This hotel and their staff could not do enough for us, Many many months beforehand in our quest to find the ideal wedding venue we popped in one day and met with Niall who from that day we knew this was for us from introducing us to the hotel and everything that the hotel and its staff have to offer to the many meetings, menu tastings we knew this venue was perfect and we made the right choice, I honestly can say hand on heart its one of the best decisions we made to choose this hotel for our wedding.

The chef ,friendly waiting & bar staff to the wonderful porter Teddy,the lovely receptionists and of course our personal wedding coordinator Niall they could genuinely not do enough for us and our guests, throughout the wedding and the lead up to it,the setting,the food ( and I am picky) the rooms are fabulous and we had a ball, We live locally to Killarney and since often pop in for Sunday lunch or just to reminisce and always the same high standards, this hotel and the people working here would bring a smile to your face, they all are hard working in making this one of the most pleasurable enjoyable hotels to stay in Killarney,it deserves 6 stars from us after our experience in January 2014

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peltor12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,070
    229
    132
    48
    23
See reviews for
247
883
29
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I stayed in Muckross Park in April, and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. the food was fantastic, the spa/leisure area was top, top class and despite it being midweek, the hotel had a great atmosphere with guests from all over the world staying!
I'll without doubt be back to this hotel again

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrymcg9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We had our wedding at the Muckross Park Hotel on the 28th of December 2013 and had the most incredible day. Good food and service were very important criteria when searching for a venue for our wedding. We were passing the hotel one day and dropped in for a wedding brochure and were immediately impressed with the customer service and loved the Abbey suite. We love good food and the food in Muckross Park hotel has never disappointed us. Shane Edwards was appointed our Wedding Co-ordinator and how lucky were we to get someone so professional, organised and so lovely to work with. He has great ideas and nothing was ever a problem when we contacted or met him.
We stayed in the hotel a few times before the wedding and the staff were always so nice and always enquiring about our upcoming wedding. We dropped in decorations that we wanted to use the night before the wedding and Shane decorated the venue exactly the way we wanted it. We had our drinks reception in the atrium and it was just so lovely with a warm rustic Christmas feel to it. The service and food on the day were incredible. All of our guests commented on how lovely and helpful the staff are. Nearly everyone said to us that it was the best wedding food they ever had. We really could not have picked a better wedding venue. We were looked after so well from the moment we got out of the wedding car to us leaving the hotel a few days later. One of our friends woke up with a headache the day after the wedding and was driven to a pharmacy by a member of staff. That just shows you how the staff goes over and above to help their guests. Guests from our wedding are still talking about how amazing the hotel is. As we are both from Cork and live in Cork the majority of our guests were from Cork. Our guests really were blown away by the service, food and hotel décor so I think the Muckross Park Hotel will be getting a lot more Cork weddings because no hotel in Cork compares to this one.

We can’t wait to go back to the hotel for a weekend and we cannot recommend it enough to any couple who are looking for a wedding venue that has first class service, incredible food, luxury and staff that go over and above on a day to day basis. Muckross Park Hotel is a five star hotel and an award winning hotel for a reason. Thank you to Shane Edwards and all of the staff for making our day extra special. Muckross Park Hotel will always have a special place in our hearts.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Just after a 2 night stay in the Muckross Park Hotel . It was the best short stay I ever had. The staff , the spa , the food , the accommodation are all excellent. We where on the spring special offer break it was excellent value . I would recommend this hotel to everyone .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica K k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed for one night midweek in April and from the moment we walked through to check in to the moment we left we were treated like royalty! The staff are so professional yet friendly and helpful and are trained to a five star level. The hotel is really nicely decorated - modern yet with an old world charm which is exactly what we like. We stayed in the older part of the hotel and the room was immaculate. I honestly couldn't fault one thing. We had dinner in the Yew Tree Restaurant - the food was top class and again the service was excellent (from complementary starters to petit fours with your coffee). The breakfast was one of the best we've had- much more than your average run of the mill scrambled eggs on toast! I read alot of reviews complaining that the Monks Lounge was closed.. yes we would have liked to have availed of this but the fact that Molly Darcys bar is next door makes up for it.
I had a pregnancy massage in the Cloisters Spa the following morning also and it was excellent - again really friendly and professional staff. We will definitely be back there and I would also recommend it to anyone looking to spoil themselves for a getaway to Killarney.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martina186600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

I booked 2 rooms recently arriving on a Sunday night and had much the same experience as Conor (the 11th March reviewer).

The positives first...
Hotel spotlessly clean with friendly staff. (James especially at reception)
Breakfast buffet good but very little atmosphere in dining room.

The negatives.

I, too arrived on a Sunday to discover Monks Lounge closed. As the website stated that Yew Tree was closed on a Sunday night, we had eaten earlier on our journey and only required a lighter meal. It did actually open on the Sunday night!
We eventually went outside in the rain and eat in Molly Darceys. Very limited menu as most choices were "gone" .
A bed sheet was draped on hooks from the window to counteract daylight and both service and food quality left a lot to be desired.

Monday night was no better, Monks Lounge again closed as was The Yew Tree. The pool area was also closed at 7pm and did not open til 10am each day.
Very disappointing that we were never informed when booking.

I have stayed in several other hotels in Killarney, The Killarney Park, Hotel Europe, Brehon, Malton etc.. and always enjoyed the experience.

Our rooms while tastefully furnished, quiet and very clean looked onto a shed and not very nice area.

All in all, I cannot see us returning to Muckross Park.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Igoraontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Writing this on the last evening of a superb 4 night stay in this fine hotel. From the moment we arrived when we were welcomed with hot towels nothing was too much trouble for the very friendly staff. Our room was very comfortable, the breakfast was excellent each morning and the time we spent in the spa was wonderful. One down side - we did become addicted to the complimentary biscuits in the reception ! If it could be improved it would be that while it is in a wonderful location - just across the road from the Killarney national park - the hotel itself doesn't really have any views to speak of but it is very quiet and peaceful and a great place for a relaxing escape. We hope to return very soon. A previous contributor thought that it was a bit dated - for us that is part of its charm. Thanks to all .....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcguireronald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,113 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
1.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,355 reviews
4.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muckross Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muckross Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#13 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#14 Business Hotel in Killarney
#19 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#22 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Muckross Park Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellence surrounded by beauty - Muckross Park Hotel & Spa is uniquely located in Killarney's majestic National Park with magnificent mountains and lakes close by. The hotel is home to the renowned Spa at Muckross. Elegant, luxurious guestrooms and suites, award winning Yew Tree Restaurant and Monk's Lounge. The hotel has superb guest services and makes for a truly memorable hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Muckross Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muckross Park Hotel And Cloisters Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Cloisters Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing