We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Hotel”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We toured for 12 days throughout Ireland and stayed in several hotels - this was the absolute best. Our Tour Group stayed two nights. I regret we couldn't have stayed longer and enjoyed the Spa too. If I get back to Ireland, this is the place I want to stay. An extra plus for those who want a bit of entertaining beyond the relaxing Spa and coziness of the hotel, is the Molly Darcy Pub. It's right there and the night we visited they had a wonderful Irish Band signing lots of Folk songs ( not just the typical Irish music) and River dancers who were wonderful to watch. Several of us got together at the Molly Darcy Pub after a long day of touring and enjoyed a few, laughed and danced a bit too. This was one of the highlights of our tour!

Room Tip: Stay as long as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJKate2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,070
    229
    132
    48
    23
See reviews for
247
883
29
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have just returned home from our stay at the Muchross Park Hotel. We were greeted upon check in with hot towels to freshen up and a glass of fruit juice while the receptionist sorted out our room allocation. Our room was large and beautifully decorated with everything you would need for a comfortable stay. The staff were friendly and very helpful and made you feel like nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was buffet style altough there was a menu with alternatives if you couldn't see anything you liked laid out. The hotel is situated in beautiful grounds with gardens that are lit up with fairy lights and lanterns. A truly wonderful and relaxing romantic stay and would definitely stay there again. Caron and Tony

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaronCronin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Beautiful hotel with fantastic Spa, cozy Lounge, bustling pub, excellent restaurant, and lovely common areas. The room was large and quiet with a huge tub for soaking in after a long flight and a very comfy bed. Room service was prompt and they have tasty tempting cookies and juice in the lobby when you come back in from a day of sightseeing and walking through the gorgeous forest across the way. The staff were very helpful in arranging tours and transportation and suggestions for meals in town. Their Yew Tree restaurant is a must visit! The food is superb.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawntrills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Muchross Park hotel is by far the best hotel in Killarney. From the moment you enter the hotel a gentle calm overcomes you, a combined result of a luxurious hotel and wonderfully attentive staff.
This was my fourth stay at the hotel over the past 5 years and although it has been 4 years since our last visit, it was just as excellent as I had remembered. We were married here four years ago and I am so delighted we had the chance to return. We visited the hotel last weekend with our baby and some other family members and our every need was catered too.
We were allocated a fantastic room, no. 123, which on arrival had travel cot made up for the baby and a nice bottle of wine on ice for mum and dad. Staff on reception and in the restaurant made the stay very relaxing by catering to all our needs and those of our little daughter. Nothing seemed too much for James on reception.
The spa was wonderful as ever. Fantastic therapists and very relaxing dip in the outdoor hot tub. Children are not allowed in the spa area, which makes it nice and relaxing for those parents looking for a nice escape!
The food in both the restaurant and Pub is fantastic, even better than I remember on our previous visits. We regularly dine in top end restaurants in London and the restaurant in this hotel is certainly on par.
Location is great if you are looking for relaxation and a stroll in the park. We were here for 4 days and did not even make it into killarney once. The entrance to Muckross park is just across the road and a trip on the jaunting cart is a must, also perfect for sending babies to sleep, as we discovered!

I cannot thank the staff enough for making this another wonderful stay. We would not even consider another hotel in Killarney and look forward to visiting again very soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Fantastic location beautiful hotel in gorgeous surroundings. Stayed for four nights would highly recommend. Well worthy of its five stars. Staff were very helpful and cheerful. It was our first time in Killarney and Teddy (Concierge) advised us places to visit and things we could enjoy, he was very knowledgeable it really helped. Also it was so nice to meet Vivien who was on a work exchange from Taiwan to Killarney for 6 months very interesting to talk about her experience. Overall we had a fab stay and look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athy, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

one of the best hotels ever stayed in ireland, it had all the oppulence you would expect, but with a warmth that was lacking in the other hotel (four seasons) which i will review later.......staff, food, ambience, atmosphere....it had it all.
Nothing seemed a problem, and you know when you get the feeing your a burden if yu have a query about something, the staff here were so obliging but it came naturally.
will most definitely return.

Room Tip: superior was beautiful. maybe request without yard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pippy688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We got married here a few months back in March and I can honestly say we couldn't have wished for more.
The staff were so accommodating towards us and our family and friends and really helped make our day so special. From the food tastings to the last minute preparations, everything was catered for.
We had our civil ceremony in the medieval style atrium and it felt like I was walking into my own fairy tale with all the flowers and candles.
Our drinks reception was in the cosy Monks Lounge which is normally used for afternoon tea's etc but was made available for our guests while we were away to take our pictures.
Delicious canapes were served and the entertainment really created a great atmosphere to keep our guests happy.
As the hotel is such a stunning location, we only popped out to the Muckross abbey across the road for a few pictures and opted to take most of the pictures inside the hotel itself.
Our meal/party was in the Abbey Suite and again that medieval feel to the room made our fairy tale complete.
The food was just out of this world and even our most fussy guests commented on how much they enjoyed the meal.
We stayed in the Tower Suite on the night of our wedding and it was just amazing. Such a stunning suite where we also enjoyed a very generous room service for breakfast the next morning. My parents were in awe of the Belfry suite in which they stayed. Both suites are so well decorated and so comfortable!
Really it couldn't have been a better experience. We really cannot thank the manager Sean who coordinated our wedding and all the staff enough for what they did for us and it has been an unforgettable day.

Room Tip: All rooms that we saw were amazing, but if the suites are available, it is worth paying for the upgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patriciadjong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,111 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
1.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,354 reviews
4.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muckross Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muckross Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#13 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#14 Business Hotel in Killarney
#19 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#22 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Muckross Park Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellence surrounded by beauty - Muckross Park Hotel & Spa is uniquely located in Killarney's majestic National Park with magnificent mountains and lakes close by. The hotel is home to the renowned Spa at Muckross. Elegant, luxurious guestrooms and suites, award winning Yew Tree Restaurant and Monk's Lounge. The hotel has superb guest services and makes for a truly memorable hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Muckross Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muckross Park Hotel And Cloisters Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Cloisters Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing