We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A TOUCH OF THE IRISH HOSPITALITY -- MUCKROSS PARK HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A TOUCH OF THE IRISH HOSPITALITY -- MUCKROSS PARK HOTEL”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Muckross Park Hotel has everything that you could wish for. Nothing is too much bother as I found out when requesting some specialist wheat and gluten free diet food which wasn't on the menu.

It is the only hotel that is situated in Killarney National Park and has the beauty of this place right on its doorstep. In keeping with a five star hotel, it has its own shuttle service and can arrange any mode of transport on your behalf. The town of Killarney is just a few minutes away.

The food is excellent -- served always with a friendly smile. The restaurant has its own character and ambience about it which makes you just want to linger and chill out, enjoying that second glass of wine.

Don't get put off by the view from the front of this hotel which consists mainly of Molly Darcy's Traditional Irish Pub which is all part of the hotel along with the Monk's Bar. Once you drive into the car park at the rear you will see what a fine and outstanding building this is. I have posted a photo in this article.

Seeing is believing. Check it out for yourselves.

Room Tip: Make your choice -- room with large bathroom, access to wireless for Internet (not available everywh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeOHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,047
    228
    131
    48
    23
See reviews for
240
869
28
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were guests at the Muckross Park Hotel recently as we attended a wedding celebration in the hotel. I have to compliment the hotel staff on their warm and genuine hospitality, and the many little details that we noticed through out our stay that make all the difference. The rooms are very well appointed and certainly luxurious, it is perhaps however time to remove the old fashioned TV cabinets that house the Old fashioned CRT TV's. Mount a nice LCD TV on the wall and you gain all that space? Carpet needs looking at also.
A stand out person during our stay was one of the Managers Niall, he was there on arrival and met us as we checked in. He was very visible through our stay and we also met him in the bar after the wedding where he was offering slippers to the ladies, whom may have tired from a long day in their heels, and dancing, nice touch.
Room service breakfast was without doubt the best I have had via roomservice. It was hot, fresh looking, delivered on time, with a complimentary news paper. The scrambled eggs were perfect.
Departure was smooth and we were wished well and presented some bottled water for our onward trip. We decided to hang around, and have lunch in Molly Darcy's. Must say the service and food here is great, and it has such a comfortable decor. The proliferation of celebrity photos throughout didn't seem to fit in, and the music selection needs a looking at, there is only so much Damien Rice you can listen to.

All in all a great stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoCGlobalTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
151 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We really enjoyed our 1-night stay over Easter. Our room wasn't ready on a arrival so we were given a bottle of wine as an apology - a very nice touch which more than made up for the minor inconvenience, Our room was quiet and comfortable and the bathroom well appointed. Dinner in the bar was slightly disappointing but breakfast next morning was excellent with plenty of choices.

There is a €10 pp charge for the use of the spa, which seems a bit cheeky since the pool is relatively small and there's no steam room. However all the facilities are well kept and the view from the outdoor hot tub alone is worth the charge.

The location is great, you can just cross the road to the gates of the park where you can walk through beautiful scenery to Muckross House.

Service was excellent - there seems to be a high staff to guest ratio and all staff members were helpful and friendly One quibble was the internet connection on the hotel's wifi was slow and blocked many sites, including iTunes and Netflix.

If you want a special treat, I'd recommend the Muckross Park!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dublin_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Second time staying here. Had a great time. Picked up bikes at reception. The National park is across the road so cycled around one of the lakes. Dinner in the restaraunt and breakfast were top class. The Spa was of a similar standard. We got a special offer through Living Social on this occasion so was great value for money. 5* hotels in Killarney are not cheap but more special offers have started to appear and Killarney is a lovely place to be in when the sun shines.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eoghan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had a great time here. Staff were amazing. Only wished we stayed longer. Thermal suites were lovely and spa staff very friendly. Food great and bottles of water for drive home. Would definitely stay again. Only 5 minute drive into Killarney town.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cscregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Purchased a voucher for a 2- night stay on the Living Social website: I think that the price paid represents excellent value for the standard of service received.The staff are the biggest asset here: all very pleasant and helpful. Food was of a high standard (breakfast and in the bar); the thermal suite is beautiful and the ability to walk from your room to it in robes is a nice feature! Nice touches included facecloths at check-in, warm cookies and juice in reception, bottled water when taking out bikes (free) and agin on check out. The hotel is opposite the national park, probably 1/2km from National Park gate and 3km from the town. The weather was very cold when we were in Killarney but the hotel is so pleasant its not an issue to stay indoors! Well done to all and thanks!

Room Tip: Room 108, facing the road, but no noticeable noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcarrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

One night stay, high expectations as in scenic location and also as 5 star. Sadly the room disappointed. For a 5 star hotel and expensive relative to others in the region, it was rather dull and not very big. Worse of all in such a scenic location the room was looking out on a back yard. Also was asked to pay €10 per head for use of the Spa.

On the positive side, the pub Molly Darcy's as part of the hotel was nice, the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was top notch.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a scenic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#6 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
4.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muckross Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muckross Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#14 Business Hotel in Killarney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#19 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#22 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Muckross Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellence surrounded by beauty - Muckross Park Hotel & Spa is uniquely located in Killarney's majestic National Park with magnificent mountains and lakes close by. The hotel is home to the renowned Spa at Muckross. Elegant, luxurious guestrooms and suites, award winning Yew Tree Restaurant and Monk's Lounge. The hotel has superb guest services and makes for a truly memorable hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Muckross Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muckross Park Hotel And Cloisters Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Cloisters Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing