We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Loved this Hotel. We got a great deal for two nights bb and a wonderful evening meal at this hotel. Great Welcome, lovely Staff. Our room was lovely, really good beds, Toweling Robes and slippers( love this). Lovely Bathroom and the body creams were the nicest ever. Its the type of place you just love pampering yourself. The Spa was totally amazing, out door hot tub bliss. The treatment we had was out of this world. The bar is done in old world and so cosy. We had breakfast on the two mornings in the lovely restaurant. Great choice for breakfast with a lovely bread selection on your table, the breads, scones and pastry cake stand on the table, alone reminded me of a really nice afternoon tea setting. Its all silver service here. You do feel special.

G B Shaws Restaurant is lovely. We enjoyed scallops for starter and We both tried the Black Sole for Dinner and it was lovely. For an inclusive dinner it was top notch . Wines were from €28 and really nice. Well Chilled White.

We had a meal in the bar the following evening. Enjoyed the Sizzling Chicken and some Salmon. Small gripe, Salmon was a little dry, the plates were not hot and the wine was not chilled properly. But an Ice bucket solved the wine issue. .

All in all I would really love to go back. I'd love to see the Hotel at Christmas its just a Magical place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globezila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanODriscoll, Guest Relations Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Past Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor, and I am delighted to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us.
You are right, The Muckross Park is magical at Christmas time, and we would be delighted to welcome you back during the festive season.
Kind Regards
Geraldine O Neill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,620)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,213 - 1,219 of 1,620 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

THE HOTEL

We arrived late Friday night and were promptly checked in. The double room we requested turned out to be two single beds pushed together so after a quick call to reception we were led to the only room with a double left in the hotel - the beautiful Tower Suite.

The room was spacious and tastefully decorated but if you were being critical the view overlooking the parking lot didn't do it justice. The bathroom had a huge spa bath but the room only had luke warm water so that experience was short lived. The beds were extremely comfortable and we enjoyed a good night rest. The following day we were downgraded to a regular room which was just as clean and comfortable (and had hot water) but the TV wouldn't have been out of place in a museum.

Free WIFI was available and boasted decent speeds although a lot of common websites were restricted.

THE PUBS

The hotel has two pubs - the public bar Molly Darcy's and the residents bar Monks. Molly's is a friendly locals pub with good service and a good vibe. Monks is a funky snug bar with modern decor but hidden away and looks to be rarely used.

THE BREAKFAST

We went down to breakfast at 10:00 both mornings (breakfast finished at 10:30) and had to wait in the reception lobby for about 15 minutes until a table became available - not quite 5 star service. When we enquired why the cavernous space had so few tables in it we were given a short abrupt response. The breakfast was decent (although you could chip a tooth on the bacon?!) with a the usual variety - hot and cold buffet and some meals could be made to order.

THE STAFF

Apart from the friendly receptionist that checked us in, the waiter in Molly's and a few breakfast waitrons the rest of the hotel staff were very dour and not at all welcoming or friendly. They just went through the motions and seemed thoroughly unmotivated. As another reviewer put it - we felt like we were visitors and not guests.

The spa staff were the complete opposite - very professional and personable.

THE SPA

The best part of the stay was the magnificent spa - worth staying at the hotel for this alone. It contained a good mixture of steam rooms, saunas, hot beds, indoor and outdoor jacuzzi's, plunge pools and a small pool. To top it off they had treatments on special and the two we had were top class (thanks Liz!). Yes some of the pools could have been warmer but not by much. Most importantly it was very clean and peaceful. We read about there being a cost to use it but we were never asked to pay - perhaps that's for day visitors?

WEDDINGS

After visiting literally dozens of hotels in Killarney we had shortlisted Muckross to host our wedding. After staying there we've struck it off the list - the staff's lack of passion or enthusiasm being the clincher.

CONCLUSION

We travel to Killarney often and have stayed at better hotels for cheaper rates so unfortunately won't be back...unless to make use of the spa.

Room Tip: The Tower Suite is lovely...providing the hot water is working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonRhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanODriscoll, Guest Relations Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Past Guest
Thank you for your review on tripadvisor.

We regret that you were waiting for a table at breakfast. It is very unusual that guests are waiting for a table at breakfast, but unfortunately on the morning in question, no one arrived for breakfast before 9.45am.
We regret that you found some staff members to be dour – our number one comment from our guests in our comment cards is consistently the friendliness of our staff. I note that you found the Receptionist, Bar Waiter, Restaurant Staff & Spa Staff to be friendly, so we are unsure what area you were not satisfied with. We apologise sincerely if the service fell short in an area, as we strive for friendly & quality service throughout the hotel.
We are delighted to read you enjoyed the spa.
The wedding team at Muckross are extremely passionate about what they do, which is ensuring we grant & exceed the wishes of our Brides & Grooms. Our General Manager & Deputy Manager are extremely hands on in ensuring we deliver fantastic wedding days. This is why Southern Brides recently awarded us Best wedding Venue in Munster.
Muckross Park Hotel consistently offers the best value 5* rates in Killarney. When an area of service does not meet our normal standards, we appreciate guests telling us and therefore thank you for your comprehensive review.
Kind Regards
Geraldine O Neill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Had a lovely relaxing time in the Cloisters Spa, got a lovely hot stone massage from Sabrina i can honestly say it was the nices most relating massage i've had in a long time would highly recommmend it. looking forward to a revisit in the future. Keep up the good work

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickie814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanODriscoll, Guest Relations Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Past Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to read that you had such a lovely experience with Sabrina, our Head Therapist in The Cloisters Spa.
The Cloisters Spa was awarded 'World Luxury Spa 2011'
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future,
Kind Regards
Geraldine O Neill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay in Muckross Park. Had nice room with balcony(although we didnt use it due to it being Nov and freezing!!) and hotel was lovely and warm. Great food in the bar, big portions and good standard. Staff in the bar were also very warm and friendly. Hotel is also close to the national park whuch suited us perfectly. However we felt that the spa was a bit of a let down in comparison. Thermal pools were so cold we couldnt use them so we stuck to the heated jacuzzi, heated beds and hot tub instead!!Had spa treatments which we found ok but have enjoyed better elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanODriscoll, Guest Relations Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Deasr Past Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.
I regret that you did not feel the thermal pools were at the correct temperature. All of our facilities within the Spa have temperature checks at regular intervals throughout the day.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and that you found our staff team to be warm and friendly.
Our location in the heart of Killarneys National Park is the ideal base for enjoying natures beauty.
We look forward to welcomng you back in the future,
Kind Regards
Geraldine O Neill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have never been to a hotel with such an incredible spa (which is open to all guests). Obviously, the treatments are extra but both my facial and massage were worth it! The hot tub outdoors overlooking the beautiful grounds is wonderful. But the roman baths, steam room, sauna, and indoor hot tub are all great! Very peaceful. The breakfast is also tops with the ability to order from the menu and do the buffet. It's a popular place for weddings and it can make for a lot of noisy guests, but the hotel took seriously my complaints. And the concierge service is also tops! If you stay here, drive to Dingle. It's well worth the visit--a lovely drive, great seaside town, fun shopping, great food!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yolanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanODriscoll, Guest Relations Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Past Guest
Thank you for your recent review on your stay with us.
I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the Cloisters Spa, which won World Luxury Spa 2011. Our buffet and ala carte breakfast menu's are very well liked, and meet all guests needs.
At the Muckross Park we have an energetic Concierge Team, with unrivalled local knowledge.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Muckross Park in the future.
Kind Regards
Geraldne O Neill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at the Muckross during the off season, but I could just feel the hospitality exude from the Hotel. Our room was roadside, but it did not matter, it was super quiet. The spa is beautiful and relaxing. Teddie was a great advisor for things to do and an aide for how to get there with ease. Madeline had such an inviting hospitalible smile and demeanor. Breakfast was very good and offered a great variety of things to eat.
The pub next door was lively and the bartenders were very friendly. The sizzling chicken was very good.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are situated so they are private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandyFAppleton_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanODriscoll, Guest Relations Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Past Guest
Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us.
I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.
The room you stayed in dates back to 1795 and it exudes the charm and hospitality that Muckross Park is famed for.
Thank you for your special mention for Teddy and Madeline, which I have passed on to them.
I am happy to read also that you enjoyed your dining with us, and enjoyed Mollys also.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Geraldine O Neill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

we held our wedding reception at the muckross park early oct. we had great weather on the day so everything was perfect. the atrium was a beautiful room for the drinks reception although a little tight (we had 200 guests) thankfully some stayed in the garden with the good weather. everyone loved the champagne and canapes and scones. the valencia suite was done up beautifully and everyone loved the food and wine. the wait staff were very helpful and friendly. the bedrooms are lovely and the breakfast in the morning is delicious.anyone we spoke to said it was the best wedding ever so a great day was had by all! thank you daniel and to all at the muckross park for an amazing day!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indietoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanODriscoll, Guest Relations Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Past Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted that you had such a wonderful wedding in The Muckross Park, recently chosen as Munster's Wedding Venue of the Year by ' Southern Brides'.
I wish you all the best in your married life together, and I look forward to welcoming you both back in the future.
Kind Regards
Geraldine O Neill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
4.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
1 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,393 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#7 of 38 in Killarney
2,357 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,490 reviews
2.4 mi away
Great Southern Killarney
Great Southern Killarney
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muckross Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muckross Park Hotel & Spa

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#13 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#14 Business Hotel in Killarney
#19 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#20 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $196 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Muckross Park Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellence surrounded by beauty - Muckross Park Hotel & Spa is uniquely located in Killarney's majestic National Park with magnificent mountains and lakes close by. The hotel is home to the renowned Spa at Muckross. Elegant, luxurious guestrooms and suites, award winning Yew Tree Restaurant and Monk's Lounge. The hotel has superb guest services and makes for a truly memorable hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Muckross Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muckross Park Hotel And Cloisters Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Cloisters Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing