We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and excellent service”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

As you as you enter at the Muckross Park Hotel you feel immerse in a different world, the scent in the reception just opposite the Spa entrance is a pure mood booster, and the decor brings you back in time. The Spa itself is a jewel, the right place to relax after a busy day out exploring the area, The hotel is in Killarney National Park and just over 5 minutes drive to the city centre. Perfect for nature and Spa lover. And if you've children, they'll have plenty of space to run around and in October is very easy to spot deer in the park. The staff is friendly and attentive. The rooms a very generous size and don't miss the change to try the restaurant and the pub for some traditional Irish music. I hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanODriscoll, Guest Relations Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear past guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our location in the heart of the Killarney National Park is very unique and does indeed lead to a very relaxing break away.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your dining experience in Mollys, and also your treatments in the Cloisters Spa.

Your comments regarding the team are very welcome and provides great encouragement to us all.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Muckross Park in the future.

With kind regards
Geraldine O Neill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,091
    231
    132
    50
    23
See reviews for
254
894
30
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on our honeymoon in 2008 and again this month and we absolutely love it. The staff are excellent and the hotel itself, exquisite. It's hard to imagine from the road that it is there as you can really only see the pub, Molly Darcys, but when you drive around the back, you see the hotel entrance in all it's glory. (P.s: A lovely welcome with juice and cookies.)
The spa is absolutely stunning- (highly recommend booking in for a treatment during your stay). Even if you don't get any treatments, definitely use the spa. It's so beautiful and i just LOVE the Aromatherapy associates products.

They have bikes that you can borrow- we highly recommend that as well. There is an entrance to Killarney national park opposite the hotel so it's fantastic to go for a nice cycle and enjoy the scenery while working up a good appetite for dinner.
The food on both occasions was gorgeous. Portion sizes are perfect and there is no overuse of anything. (Salt/cream/seasoning, etc). The wine is lovely- a little pricey, but what good wine isn't?

Attention to detail is fabulous, throughout. Dress code is smart casual- but why not go fancy while you're there, its a well worthy spot!

They have amazing special offers on in low season so keep an eye on their Facebook page or get on their mailing list.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JConroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanODriscoll, Guest Relations Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear past guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our location in the heart of the Killarney National Park is very unique and does indeed lead to a very relaxing break away.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your dining experiences in Mollys and G.B Shaws, and also your treatments in the Cloisters Spa.

Your comments regarding the team are very welcome and provides great encouragement to us all.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Muckross Park in the future.

With kind regards
Geraldine O Neill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Got a great deal for myself and my young daughter....our room was so big,beautifully decorated,Molly Darcys bar food as good iv ever had..only downside to our night here,is the pool area etc is only for over 18`s...think the sauna,spa etc is all together,but that wasnt much use to me... we would always choose a hotel with a pool..the websites who sell us deals should make us aware of this...Breakfast was the best iv ever had anywhere in the world...5* for this..just be aware that this gorgeous hotel is really only for adults...unless your child doesnt like to swim!!..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolores C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here the first weekend in November. The purpose of our stay was to switch off and relax - which we easily did. The hotel is beautiful and the spa is excellent. The hotel staff was always very helpful, friendly, eager to answer any query, willing to provide everything you needed. We felt very welcome all the time. There isn't much noise around so you can easily relax. The room was clean, good size and nicely decorated. The bathroom was spacious and clean. Indeed, the TVs I think should be replaced with newer ones. There is a DVD player in the room and we can get DVDs from the reception free of charge. The hotel also provides bikes free of charge. The breakfast was delicious, great selection and although it is a buffet type breakfast it was still hot (unlike in other hotels where it is cold by the time you put it on your plate). You also have the option to order some hot breakfast dishes from the kitchen (like pancakes, omlette, eggs benedict, etc). The food in Molly Darcy is very tasty, well presented and you will not be disappointed with the portions size. The staff in Molly Darcy were also exceptional, we were served very quickly, didn't have to wait for anything and there were no mistakes about our orders.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanODriscoll, Guest Relations Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Past Guest
Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us.
I am delighted you had such a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us, and that you enjoyed your dining experiences in both Mollys and during breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Geraldine O Neill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Just back from a 1 night stay at this hotel. It was brilliant from the minute we entered to the second we left! When we arrived we were met by the porter who brought our bags to reception to help us check in and then to our room. He provided us with a lot of information about our stay. Check in was good friendly and quick. We went to the spa to use the facilities that was also lovely! The rooms are lovely and large! Nice bath and shower also. We had dinner in Molly Darcys which is the pub connected to the hotel. The food was so nice! Lovely service by Mick O Connor! We had a cocktail in the hotel bar also the snug, lovely comfy bar. Cocktails are a nice size! Breakfast was also lovely and service again so professional but so friendly! All in all, highly recommend and would def return!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murzd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanODriscoll, Guest Relations Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Past Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor.
I am delighted to read you had such a lovely stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Geraldine O Neill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here recently for a wedding and having heard mixed reviews about the hotel we were pleasantly surprised. The meal for the wedding was fabulous - The service was excellent also, and we thoroughly enjoyed it as did the other guests. The room we stayed in was very large with a comfy bed and overall well decorated. We used the spa which again was beautiful but we did find the temperature of the water in the pool and hot tub was a bit cold, it didn't turn us off however as we had treatments which were so nice and relaxing. We stayed two nights in the hotel and we found everything from the food and service to be perfect. I would definitely stay here again and will return soon.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frosty3Limerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanODriscoll, Guest Relations Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Past Guest

Thank you for your recent review in Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to read that you had such a pleasant stay with us as part of the wedding party.
At The Muckross Park, we take great pride in ensuring all of our guests needs are met to the highest standard.

Your kind comments regarding your stay with us gives the whole team great encouragement.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind regards
Geraldine O Neill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times in the past & I cannot fault it in any way! The hotel is beautiful & the spa is second to none in my opinion. It is extremely relaxing and the worries of the world just melt away when you are there. The food is exceptional in the main hotel & the food in Molly Darcy's is very tasty too. The hotel is a little bit out from the town of Killarney, this is the only negative that I can associate with the establishment.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cullig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanODriscoll, Guest Relations Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Past Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that you have enjoyed another stay with us, and in particular your dining experiences in the hotel, and The Cloisters Spa - World Luxury Spa 2011

Although we are a five minute drive from the town centre, our location in the heart of Killarney's National Park, is a fantastic base for exploring.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Geraldine O Neill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,160 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
1.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,387 reviews
4.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muckross Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muckross Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#13 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#14 Business Hotel in Killarney
#19 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#22 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Muckross Park Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellence surrounded by beauty - Muckross Park Hotel & Spa is uniquely located in Killarney's majestic National Park with magnificent mountains and lakes close by. The hotel is home to the renowned Spa at Muckross. Elegant, luxurious guestrooms and suites, award winning Yew Tree Restaurant and Monk's Lounge. The hotel has superb guest services and makes for a truly memorable hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Muckross Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muckross Park Hotel And Cloisters Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Cloisters Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing