We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Fabulous hotel & spa. Staff were excllent in the hotel,spa, bar and breakfast area. Room was nice and big and really well decorated. Breakfast was really good also. Molly darcys bar is good, but possibly a bit on the expensive side. It is a real bonus that you are in Killarney national park just by crossing the road - really convenient for walks etc. It's probably a bit far from the town if you wanted to head out in killarney at night - you would need a taxi, but its only a short spin then.
The spa is excllent - we loved the outdoor hottub. Spent loads of time in the spa on both days, really relaxing. Didn't get to do a treatment but I will book something next time as you get €20 discount when you check in on facials and massages.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,222 - 1,228 of 1,603 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were visiting for wedding and had booked in the hotel initially. Having a little one with us the hotel suggested we stay in one of their luxury apartments but could avail of all the hotel amenities. Upon check in we were told we would have to pay 15eur per person for the pool. And 15eur for breakfast per person.
We were given to keys for the apartment but not the code to get in the gate. There is no way to contact reception from the apartments. We had to ring on mobiles (no O2 signal in the apartments).
The apartments are spacious and comfortable, but not luxury. There is a small kitchen with glasses, cutlery and plates etc - functional.
The tv box didn't work so reception sent someone over. This guy, through no fault of his own, had no clue. He took the box from the next apartment - still didn't work. So an electrician arrived.
Issue resolved.
Storage heaters stopped working. Electrician arrived and issued resolved.
Bar service is slow for the number working there. At one stage on the Saturday there was 8 of us sitting together waiting for drinks which took over 20mins. This was acknowledged by the manager who seemed to be on the ball with the customers.
Bar food was quick and tasty though when ordered. The burger was really tasty.
The more formal dining was nice but the wait between courses again was considerable. Which led to one customers calling for "food" when the waiter asked her what was wrong. They had been waiting almost 50mins for their main course.
The food at the wedding was spectacular.
Overall though I wouldn't be rushing back. A lot of work to do to bring this up to the quality of the Europe or even the Brehon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D15_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanODriscoll, Guest Relations Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Past Guest
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.
The Apartments on the complex are priced much cheaper than the hotel, as the hotel is much more luxurious. The apartments are priced in line with 3* self catering accommodation in the area. I regret there was a delay with your food in the restaurant and apologise for same. However, I am delighted you found the food at the wedding spectacular.
Again, thank you for your comments
Kind regards
Geraldine O Neill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in September, in a "king double deluxe" room We thought that the room was large and tastefully decorated, with all the amenities we needed. The wifi worked fine and was complimentary.

The breakfast was delicious. The buffet had a nice selection of fruit, cereals, fried and scrambled eggs, cereal, sausages, bacon, white and black pudding and pastries and toast. From the kitchen, you could order porridge, eggs benedict, pancakes, etc. Everything we had was tasty. My only comment is that I would prefer breakfast to begin earlier than 7:30 (runs from then til 10:30). We wanted to get an early start to our drive around the Ring of Kerry, to avoid the buses, and the late start time meant we had to eat quickly.

We thoroughly enjoyed the vitality pool. It was so relaxing and inviting and we used this area quite a few times.

We also appreciated the chocolate chip cookies readily available in the lobby, and the brown bag of water and treats provided at our departure.

The hotel was located about 4.1 km outside of Killarney - we got a little lost getting there, as the hotel doesn't have a street address we could input into the GPS. We had to call the hotel for directions which was a tad stressful, but we did note that signage to hotels throughout Ireland was a little sparse.

We ate at the Molly Darcy pub and enjoyed it so much we cancelled our GB Shaw reservation and ate there a second night. On the first night, there was some Irish music being played by performers and we thoroughly enjoyed that.

We did go into Klllarney after we had driven around the Ring of Kerry. At that point, having found the drive quite stressful due to curving roads with no shoulders and 100 km/h speedlimits !!, we decided to leave the car at the hotel and call a taxi. The staff arranged this and it did not cost much - ~ 10 euros.

We enjoyed being right across from one of the jaunty ride access points - very convenient to just walk across the road and get into the cart to be driven around to the Torc waterfall, Muckross House, etc. This hotel was in an ideal location for us.

We would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Was at a wedding last week the meal was fantastic and service very good even if bar was a bit slow a fabulous hotel would definitely recommend it to anybody planning a wedding delicious mealy he food at the pre dinner reception was also superb especially the mini quiche things could have eaten them all day really nice hope to have another wedding here again will be staying the next time

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josephine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Couldn't give a better review. went here for our wedding anniversary. paid a good deal for the room, 5 star after all. had a small problem with the room and were unsure of complaining but the staff at the desk were brilliant, we went into town and when we came back we had a beautiful new room and they moved our stuff too! the Spa is amazing and relaxing as no kids allowed into spa area! it is 5 mins outside Killarney town itself, but don't let that throw you off. its well worth it. wife was pregnant at the time so we didn't go into town at night, but didn't need to. the adjoining bar and restaurant is brill and had entertainment too. we had a great break, seen the sights by day, enjoyed the spa after then relaxed in the bar at night. i have to say the staff went out of their way to help us, very friendly. would def come again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liam d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We found the rooms only adequate and the decorations looked like a bordello. Our friends were put in the handicap room -- definitely a retrofit. The sink was so low you couldn't even get the coffee pot in to fill the water. We've stayed at 5 star hotels, and this is not one. The service was excellent and the breakfast (included with the room) was one of the best I've seen.

Room Tip: Don't take a handicap room unless you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetraveling99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanODriscoll, Guest Relations Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Past Guest
Thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor.
We regret you did not like our decor – although the hotel was extended and fully refurbished in 2007, we were conscious of respecting the hotel’s history (here since 1795), hence the Victorian style used in areas of the hotel. I apologise you were allocated a disabled room and will address this with our Reception Manager. I am delighted to read you found our service throughout the hotel to be excellent.
Kind Regards
Geraldine O Neill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Having stayed in The Muckross Park hotel on the 24th of August I just had to review it . Working in the hotel industry myself I am quite critical of hotels but from beginning to end we had a great experience . Booking on the website was very easy to do it also gave great information on all aspects of the hotel from the look of the rooms to information on the spa and Molly darcy's bar and what you see on the website is exactly what you experience when you get there.
On arrival to the Hotel we were met by David who couldn't have been more friendly offering us hot towels to refresh after the journey and help us with our luggage .We arrived to the hotel earlier than check in time as we were attending a wedding and The girl on reception who's name I didn't get was equally as pleasant and professional did her best to accommodate us allowing us to get ready for wedding in another room and taking in our bags and getting them delivered to our own room so they were they when we arrive back from church. The manager on duty that evening was Shane who gave us directions to church and full of information on things to do in hotel and surrounding areas. Arriving back to the hotel at 2am we were greeted by the night porter who directed into the residents bar in Molly darcy's where a lovely English girl with blond hair served us till 4 am kept us entertained and was very professional .
The bedroom it's self was fab 4 poster bed and bathroom with seperate bath and shower .
Breakfast yum what can I say pancakes for breakfast menu is very extensive and caters for all fussy eaters
Check out very smooth and efficient given bottles of water for the trip home .
Would Definatly recommend this hotel to anyone .

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleenmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,384 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
4.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,313 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,460 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muckross Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muckross Park Hotel & Spa

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#13 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#14 Business Hotel in Killarney
#19 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#22 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $180 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Muckross Park Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellence surrounded by beauty - Muckross Park Hotel & Spa is uniquely located in Killarney's majestic National Park with magnificent mountains and lakes close by. The hotel is home to the renowned Spa at Muckross. Elegant, luxurious guestrooms and suites, award winning Yew Tree Restaurant and Monk's Lounge. The hotel has superb guest services and makes for a truly memorable hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Muckross Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muckross Park Hotel And Cloisters Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Cloisters Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing