We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely phantastic - again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Weyhe, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Absolutely phantastic - again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2010

We had had a very pleasant stay (our honeymoon!), enjoyed the golfcourses in the surroundings (Mahonys Point, Killeen, Dooks) and in the evenings splendid dinners and afterwards a Guinness sundowner in the pub. Absolutely marvellous. The location situated next to the National Park is ideal for walking and cycling. The hotel personnel was very helpful at all times.
We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ubena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, December 13, 2010
Dear Ubena,

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review, I am deligted that you and your new spouse enjoyed your honeymoon to Killarney and surrounding areas!

We would love to see you back in the hotel again on your next visit to Ireland,

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    221
    76
    34
    26
See reviews for
290
164
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Celbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

We recently returned from a 4 night stay in one of these cottages.
They were lovely and spacious, clean and had everything that you would need.
Kids enjoyed the use of the pool and the playground. Our older daughter also enjoyed the magic show.
I had a facial which I was very disappointed with. Prob the worst I have ever had. The beautician was very nice but talked non stop. Any other facial I have had has been peaceful and relaxing. I got some cream on my face, a few pats on side of my face and head and then before I knew it my hour was up and I was paying a hefty price.
We will definitely return to the self catering but I will avoid the beauty salon.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DB19670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, December 13, 2010
Dear DB19670,

We appreciate you taking the time to write your review. I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay with us so much and I apologise for your dissatisfaction with the spa treatment you received. Rest assured we will discuss with the beautician your comments.

We look forward to seeing you and your family back in the Castlerosse in the near future,

Kind Regards,
Brid o Sullivan
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

Just returned from this hotel and we are planning our next stay already. We found this hotel very homely and friendly. The food was very good, the kids club very well run and the views beautiful. I don't know why there are negative review, I just think there is no pleasing some people. This hotel is an excellent base for families. Once the parents can sit and have a chat, a drink and something good to eat and the children are happy . . what more could be asked for. The hotel was spotlessly clean and any staff I dealt with were very nice and helpful. We will definitely be back, but for longer this time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DancingTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, December 13, 2010
Dear DancingTime,

Thank you for taking to time to write your kind review. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay so much with us. We endeavor to make each guests stay with us as pleasant and enjoyable as possible and look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Hotel next season,

Kind Regards,
Brid o Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

Stayed here for one night here and we were very disappointed with the level of service in this hotel. The lady at the reception desk was very friendly when checking in but it went downhill from here. The girl working in the bar was unfriendly and actually quite ignorant. Because of her attitude we decided to eat in the restaurant upstairs instead of the bar where we had planned on eating. Unfortunately, the two waiters in the restaurant were not much better. Before we even sat at our table we knew it was going to be a bad experience. They had no basic manners like welcoming you or even saying good evening. There was nobody else in the restaurant at this stage but yet they seemed put out that we were looking for a table. When we were eventually shown to our table the waiter left 4 menus sitting on the corner of the table and walked away. No such thing as handing each person a menu. It was a set menu for €33 and when we enquired if there was an al la carte, the waiter then proceeded to tell us that we could order al la carte from it. But yet we had to ask him what the breakdown in price was. Surely he should have mentioned this from the outset. When the soup arrived to the table it was barely luke warm so my husband sent it back. However, both of us had the pork for main course and it was excellent, very tender and hot. Another very annoying thing was the wine list. We ordered a bottle of Marques de Riscal for €24 which we thought was good value. However, when the wine arrived we realised that it was not Marques de Riscal at all. It was a wine called Riscal SL which is not in the same league as Marques de Riscal. When we mentioned this to the waiter he said that they use to do Marques de Riscal last year but they have not yet changed their menu. Again this should have been mentioned to us when we ordered it. Breakfast was fine. But why oh why do they have to pile the full Irish breakfast onto what is basically a side plate!!!!!! My sausages were under the bacon on my plate. Surely the hotel can use the dinner plates for breakfast the next morning. The breakfast was nice but just looked like a dogs dinner the way it was served. Having said all that the views did somewhat make up for this.

This hotel has a lot going for it with its stunning views. Unfortunately its staff are letting it down big down. What is extremely disappointing to see is that other reviewers have commented on the very poor level of service in the restaurant and bar and yet it is still the same. My husband summed it up perfectly when he said there would be people dying to have a job there in the current climate that would be more than happy to offer a friendly welcome and good service to guests. If the hotel can sort this they will be guaranteed return custom. Unfortunately for us, it is the service that will put us off returning again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hollie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, December 13, 2010
Dear Hollie2,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time here at the Castlerosse. I regret that you found our staff unhelpful in the Bar and Restaurant we do however provide both a dinner menu and full A La Carte Menu in our Restaurant with a complete price listing and am sorry you were not given this option on request.

I hope that your stay here did not upset your trip to Killarney, I apologise on behalf of the general manger, and can assure you I have brought his attention to your review,

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

Just returned from our third stay at the Castleross Hotel. We were on a golden oldies 4 night break, which we organised ourselves. The hotel is located approx 2 km from Killarney on the N72 to Killorglin and adjoins the Killarney Golf & Fishing Club where the 2010 Irish Open was recently held.
The hotel has its own 9 hole golf course and is in a wonderful elevated position overlooking the lakes of Killarney and the mountains. We had a good size bedroom with a double and a singe bed (very comfertable) overlooking the golf course and the lakes. The bathroom was also a good size and there was plenty of shelf space for toiletres etc.
The dining room is at first floor level and enjoys wonderful views over the golf course lakes and mountains. Breakfasts and the 4 course dinners were excellent and the dinner menu changes every evening which is great as many hotels don't do this any more. The choice of food was good with something to suit everybody and was well cooked. A bar food menu is available throughout the day. Free wirless Wifi is available in the bar. We did not use the leisure cenrte which is located at lower ground floor level.
There are 39 attractive self catering two bedroom chalets and golf lodges adjacent to the hotel and there are good walks in the hotel grounds.
The staff are friendly and very efficient and the manager Mr Bowe runs a tight ship and is very much a hands on manager. The golden oldies sessions which the hotel runs in April/May and Sept/ Oct are very poupular and it is advisable to book a table for dinner if you like to eat early as the dining room fills early. The hotel puts on events such as beauty demonstration, flower arranging music in the evenings and a free bus tour to the Gap of Dunloe and Muckross House/Killarney National Park.
The hotel gets a lot of repeat business from golden oldies, golfers and families in the self catering cottages. I am at a loss to understand why the hotel is only ranked 32 out of 40 hotels in Killanrey on Trip Advisor, I think that it is probably that the last review of this hotel date back to 2006/2007. We will certainly be returning again next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David'snews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, September 28, 2010
Dear David's News,

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review of the Castlerosse. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and had such a relaxing time.

We have been organising Golden Breaks in the Spring and Autumn for 15 years now and they are more popular than ever, with a huge amount of repeat business as you have noticed!

We look forward to seeing you in the Castlerosse again next year,

Kind Regards,
Triona Hickey
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

Stayed last week on a 3 day midweek break at this Hotel and all I can say it that they have the product 100% right. We stayed in the main hotel which has excellent views of the lower lake and is surrounded by a lovely little 9 hole golf course. The food for Breakfast was excellent however if you want to avoid the rush I recommend you get up early. For dinner we were treated to a 5 course meal included in or package where the portions were spot on not too much and not too little just right. As for the staff nothing was too much trouble.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Niall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, August 10, 2010
Dear AmericanPaddy,

Thank you for writing your kind review of the Castlerosse Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much,

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Castlerosse Hotel again in the very near future,

Kind Regards,
Triona Hickey
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

we booked this hotel at the last moment, it was the location that sold it for me, the hotel is ok .nothing out of the ordinary every thing was clean and food was just fine ,there was something missing , the wow factor, the pool was very cold maybe the lake would be warmer to swim in, got it cheap, but if i paid big money for it i would not be happy .went to get a treatment in the spa and was told you had to book in advance as there was no one on duty and only comes in if need.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, August 10, 2010
Dear CathIreland,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Castlerosse.
I regret that you found the swimming pool cold, we maintain the pool at the recommended temperatures and find that guests, I apologise that you were inconvenienced by not being able to get a walk-in appointment at the treatment rooms, it is hotel policy that advance booking is required.

We value all comments received by our guests, and all are considered by management,

We would love to see you in the Castlerosse again soon,

Kind Regards,
Triona Hickey
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cahernane House
Cahernane House
#28 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
2.7 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
3.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes

Property: Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Address: Lower Lake, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#25 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes are located on the lakeside just 2kms from Killarney town, with magnificent views of the Lower Lake and Magillycuddy Mountains. It is in a pristine environment flanked on one side by Killarney National Park and on the other by Killarney Golf & Fishing Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlerosse Hotel & Golf Killarney
Castlerosse Hotel And Golf Resort
Castlerosse Hotel Killarney
Hotel Castlerosse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing