We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a family break - not ideal for a romantic getaway!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for a family break - not ideal for a romantic getaway!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

This is a very family friendly location. It seems to really cater for families with kids - which is a good thing!

My only complaint was that the service at the bar was very slow and that we had a long walk from our bedroom to the reception / bar area.

The room was clean, well maintained and the breakfast was fine. We ate from the "pub grub" menu and I have to say my steak was delicious!

The views from the breakfast room and bar are stunning.

You can't go wrong with staying here but be warned there are a lot of kids running about and it may not be the ideal, quiet location for a romantic get-away. We did stay here though in the middle of the school holidays.....

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, August 4, 2010
Dear Janedub,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here in the Castlerosse, during the summer and school breaks we are very busy with families as you noticed! Outside of school holidays, it is generally quieter and perhaps more relaxing, we feel that the children add a great holiday atmosphere to the hotel during the school holidays.
I apologise for the slow service you found in the bar, the reason for this is that all our food is freshly prepared and cooked to order which makes it somewhat slower.
With regards the distance from your rooms to reception area, when the hotel was extended we could not raise it any higher (as we would obstruct the views of those around us) so to continue lengthways was our only option!
Once again, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us and we look forward to seeing you here again in the very near future,

Kind Regards,
Triona Hickey
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    221
    76
    34
    26
See reviews for
290
164
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

Just back from a week in the Castlerosse Hotel and Golf Resort. I cannot recommend it highly enough. The value for money belies the top quality accommodation, location, dining and service. The general atmosphere is relaxed, efficient and attentive. The view from the hotel is breathtaking, and with leisure centre, spa, golf and playground there is something for adults and children alike.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, August 4, 2010
Dear Denwar,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us in the Castlerosse, we are very privileged to be located in this stunning part of Killarney, and strive to provide a high level of service to ensure that our guests have the most enjoyable stay with us as possible,

We look forward to welcoming you and yours back to stay with us again very soon,

Kind Regards,
Triona Hickey,
Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

I stayed in the Cottages with my wife and 3 small children. We actually enjoyed our stay in Killarney but not because of the accomodation but more to do with the location. The cottages are in need of a serious revamp - loo handle in one of the bathrooms was broken, damp musty smell when entering the house, furniture and fittings in need of replacement , snail trail on the carpet.
The service in the Bar was slow and the food was basic and expensive.
When I got the bill there was a standard charge of €5 per day for electricity. We knew there was a cost but assumed it was based on usage - just another way of getting more money in my view. When I went in to pay the bill on leaving I was waiting to be asked how my stay was and was ready with my answer but the question was never even asked.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eoinf_mcmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, August 4, 2010
Dear Mr. Mc Mahon.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Castlerosse Woodland Cottages, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in Killarney and am disappointed that you were unhappy with your accommodation here with us.

I apologise for the broken toilet handle, and am surprised that you found a musty smell in the cottage, these cottages are used very regularly during the year and are at full occupancy from mid May - September. The Cottages were refurbished in 2006.

I apologise for the slow service you found in the bar, the reason for this is that all our food is freshly prepared and cooked to order which makes it somewhat slower.

Once again I apologise that you did not enjoy your time in our Cottages, and hope that this will not deter you from visiting Killarney again,

Kind Regards,
Triona Hickey
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

Just back from two nights in the Castlerosse. The rooms from the dining room are truly amazing and the nearby Killarney National Park a great spot. All in all I will remember the hotel for the views, huge buffet full Irish breakfast and pretty basic hotel rooms (oh and the very long corridors). Much nicer hotels in Killarney but if you want a more country feel outside of the town centre this could be the spot for you.

Be warned there is very poor mobile phone reception in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackofEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
Dear Jackofeire,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and am sorry you were disappointed with your rooms. Interestingly, our hotel is 50 years old this year and when first built was a motel, which explains out long corridors! And also, when we expanded we had to go lengthways as we were not allowed build another story because of local planning laws. Our location by the Lake is the reason that mobile services are limited, and I apologise for this.

I hope to see you in the Castlerosse again in the very near future,

Kind Regards,
Triona Hickey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

We recently had our wedding reception at the Castlerosse (3rd July). We had the best day, everything was perfect. The food was fabulous, the Staff were most efficient and the view was spectacular. Their attention to detail & their expertise were excellent. Michael & Siobhan were on hand to make sure that everything went smoothly. Everyone was well taken care of and we could not have wished for a better day. The accommodation was comfortable and the hotel was spotless. I would definitely recommend The Castlerosse Hotel to anyone thinking about Killarney as a wedding destination. For a 3* hotel we definitely got 5* service.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mull2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
Dear Mr & Mrs Mulligan,

Congratulations on your recent marriage! I am delighted that you had a great day and hope your honeymoon went just as well!

Siobhan and Michael are very attentive and do everything they can to make sure a bride and grooms special day goes smoothly, I am delighted that your day went as well as you hoped it would and we look forward to seeing you in the Castlerosse again very soon for your next special occasion!

Once again, congratulations!
Triona Hickey,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

Just stayed for a weekend at this hotel and I have mixed feelings. A wedding took place on Saturday, and in the Irish style the hotel space was taken up with wedding guests; consequently there was no quiet open space to sit. Also there was a steady stream of noisy revelers walking down the corridor outside my room, well into the morning. This type of wedding planning, while common, leaves little room or priority for guests uninvolved.

While the reception staff were very friendly and professional, the restaurant was very peculiar. I was staying with a group of 27 and we had a group dinner booked on Saturday evening. Strangely, the seating was arranged in tables of four! The piece de resistance, however, was that the waiting staff refused to take orders at my table because only three seats were occupied. I explained the irrationality of this policy to two waiters, i.e., we did not come in groups of four and that a fourth person might not arrive to join us for some time. Also, of course no fourth person might join us (27/4=?). One stocky male waiter pointedly refused to serve me, and a somewhat more pleasant female said that she would confer with the manager, who apparently relented. I find this behaviour absolutely amazing!!!!!!! As a mature Irishman, I have had plenty of experience of waiters ignoring me or strolling over in their own good time, but never have I been told; thou shalt not eat. The restaurant has magnificent views, mind you.

This hotel is also very clean and the rooms pleasant. One significant flaw in the bathroom was that the extractor fan was not on a separate switch, which meant taking a bath in a cold draft, or in the dark, plus the irritating noise. Are we not competent to manage our own ventilation?

Overall, mixed feelings. A lovely location, reasonable price and good front desk professionalism, but Fawlty Towers in the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CelticNomadLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

I apologise for the way the waiter treated you on the evening of your dinner, this is not the standard we expect from our staff, and the waiter in question has been spoken to about this incident.

I am glad that you generally enjoyed your stay here with us, with regards the wedding party we try to accommodate wedding guests in the rooms nearest the reception to prevent unnecessary disturbance to our other guests, however this is not always possible due to allocation/special requests or requirements, and I do apologise for the disturbance you suffered .

I do hope you will come and stay with us again in a future occasion,

Kind regards,
Triona Hickey
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

Our stay was very pleasant. Staff were helpful and very friendly. Room was lovely and room service was excellent. Breakfast was very substantial and the bar food was lovely. Entertainment in lounge was a nice change and children were made very welcome. Kids club also a great option on rainy days. Restaurant meal was a relaxing experience and service was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dorfarrelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
Dear Dorfarrelly,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review, it was with pleasure that I read it and am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

We look forward to having you and your family stay with us again in the near future,

Kind Regards
Triona Hickey
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cahernane House
Cahernane House
#28 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
2.7 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
3.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes

Property: Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Address: Lower Lake, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#25 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes are located on the lakeside just 2kms from Killarney town, with magnificent views of the Lower Lake and Magillycuddy Mountains. It is in a pristine environment flanked on one side by Killarney National Park and on the other by Killarney Golf & Fishing Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlerosse Hotel & Golf Killarney
Castlerosse Hotel And Golf Resort
Castlerosse Hotel Killarney
Hotel Castlerosse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing