We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Ranked #31 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, England
Level Contributor
137 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“An excellent stay”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My partner and I stayed here from Monday 3rd June to Friday 7th June 2013. From the moment we arrived (9.30am on the Monday morning) we loved the place. A special mention here for Kathryn on reception who told us to leave our bags with her and go straight up to breakfast whilst she organised our room being made ready - thanks, Kathryn). After breakfast we sat outside mesmerised by the view of Lough Leane and the Macguillycuddy Reeks mountains. I defy any hotel to have a better view. Our Lake View room (125) was a bit dated but very clean and another mention here for our room maid who was very attentive (we meant to leave her a tip but in our haste to depart early on Friday morning, to catch our flight, we forgot, so apologies for that). We booked the Golden Break package which is excellent value for money. It included a half day tour which we couldn't take as we were booked on a full day tour of the Ring of Kerry and a table quiz hosted by the owner's wife which turned out to be a holarious evening - we had some great laughs that night. The food was excellent - breakfast was plentiful (buffet style) and included Irish white pudding which I love; dinner in the restaurant with the fabulous views each evening was also lovely - plenty of choice and good quality food. Frank, in Mulligan's Bar, attended to our every (alcohol-related) need. We had sunshine all week which certainly added to our enjoyment. Whilst waiting for our car to take us back to Kerry airport on check-out day, we heard a guy complaining that he wasn't told breakfast started at 8am and he expected it to be served from 7.30am - "I will post on Tripadvisor" he said. Meal times are posted in all the rooms and we thought his was an unreasonable complaint. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed a lovely stay - we will be back!

Room Tip: Choose a Lake View room - it's worth the extra cost to wake up to that view every morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnwiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BridOS, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review of the Castlerosse Hotel.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here with us and took advantage of the activities as part of your Golden Breaks Package.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    228
    78
    35
    27
See reviews for
307
171
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great setting, houses spacious, clean, a little dated in decor but for 125 a night was great value.There was a basketball court the kids loved, also a playground. There are some great walks from the hotel and the views are the best you could get.

Room Tip: get a room with a view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazzahutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review of the Castlerosse Hotel and Holiday Homes. We are delighted that both you and your family enjoyed your stay here with us and that the kids enjoyed some of the many activities available to them. We look forward to welcoming you all back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
159 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just had sunday lunch in the Grosvenor restaurant at this hotel.Views from dining room overlooking lakes amazing and worth the price alone.Wonderful food served by friendly staff in an amazing setting and at a very competitive price.Must represent best value in Killarney.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vincent o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write your kind review of the Grosvenor Restaurant at the Castlerosse Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch and the secular Views from our restaurant. We hope to have you back to dine with us in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I recently returned from a bus tour to Ireland that started in Galway and brought us to Killarney, Kilkenny and ended in Dublin. The Castlerosse was the second hotel we stayed in. The rooms were small, the carpets were dirty and it was far from the center of town. To top it all off, they shut off all entrance and hallway lights at night. So if you plan on coming back late, be warned because it feels like you are taking a walk through the hotel from The Shining to get back to your room. The view of the golf course and the mountains, on the other hand, are absolutely stunning. If you plan on playing golf, then this would be a good stay. But stay away from the leisure center--it's beyond gross.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blosom8376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am so sorry that you felt so let down by the Castlerosse Hotel. We endeavor to ensure each guests stay with us is as pleasant and memorable as possible. I apologise if the rooms were not to your satisfaction as we strive to ensure each room is to the highest of standards. Regards location of the hotel as mentioned in your review the hotel is located 2km from Killarney town in Killarney’s National Park as noted on our website.
The Leisure Centre has a very strong policy on health and safety and cleanliness I am sorry you felt this was below standard. I have raised all comments made by you and have notified management of same.
I was glad to see you enjoyed our lakeside views and mountain backdrop. I do hope this did not hinder your vacation to Ireland and you enjoyed your visit.

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I plus another couple went for a Golden Break in May. We travelled on the recommendation of a couple of friends The Hotel certaintly lived up to its reputation. We upgraded to a lake view and we were not disappointed. Meals were excellent, great choices - something for everyone. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Another great plus - fantastic value. We will be back in September !

Room Tip: upgrade to a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your lovely review of the Castlerosse Hotel. I was glad to see you enjoyed your Golden Breaks stay here with us. We are delighted you found the Castlerosse good value and found the staff so helpful. We look forward to your return visit in September!

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Vey nice place beautiful
Small rooms though but cant complain the rest of hotel was superb
The pool was nice staff helpful
the bar was well stocked
The hotel is not in city but all tours stop at the hotel gates
the views from the restaurant are excellent almost breathtaking
They can make it better by adding a few activities at the hotel

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrTrip100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Castlerosse Hotel. I was glad to see you enjoyed your time here with us and took advantage of some of the many tours that can be organised by the hotel staff. We do have a number of other activities available to all hotel guests from playing a round of golf on our onsite 9 hole course, a game of tennis or use of our 20m Swimming pool and fully equipped gym or treatment rooms. We also have musical entertainment in Mulligans Pub in the evening. I was delighted to see how much you enjoyed our location and lakeside views. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Castlerosse Hotel again should you be visiting Killarney!

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband and I went for 3 nights B&B and 3 Dinners on a Golden Years Break from 12th to 15th May. The hotel was everything a hotel should be, the dinners were outstanding with a choice of 4 courses, with a course to suit every taste, with tea or coffee and waiter service which is just what I needed, someone to wait on me so I could just relax and enjoy the food. The breakfast, buffet style, had a great selection to choose from and the hot food was nice and hot, also the view from the restaurant was outstanding. Our room had a double bed as well as a single one, so it was quite big and very quiet. There was also entertainment each evening and activities during the day. It is a long time since we have stayed in a hotel here and the first time on a Golden Years Break, we normally go abroad just to get some sun, but due to ongoing medical treatment, we are now unable to do this. So we were pleasantly surprised with this lovely hotel and the activities available, although we didn’t avail of these as we had already planned what we wanted to do while we were there. Even though the weather wasn’t that good, we did go out, all day, every day, driving around, seeing all the wonderful places that we haven’t seen in many years. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a good relaxing break in a great location, so we hope to go back again sometime soon. I can’t wait to tell all my friends at the ‘Seniors Group’ I go to, about it, also all my friends that aren’t seniors. A big thanks to the entire hotel staff that helped make our stay a really enjoyable and relaxing one, it was just what we needed.

Room Tip: We booked a room with a lake view so maybe that is why it was a big room and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianetomCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write your kind review of the Castlerosse Hotel. I was delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay here with us. I was glad to see you enjoyed our Golden Breaks Package and found every thing to be to your liking, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.3 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
697 reviews
1.8 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 38 in Killarney
1,243 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,111 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#35 of 38 in Killarney
561 reviews
1.8 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 38 in Killarney
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes

Property: Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Address: Lower Lake, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#25 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes are located on the lakeside just 2kms from Killarney town, with magnificent views of the Lower Lake and Magillycuddy Mountains. It is in a pristine environment flanked on one side by Killarney National Park and on the other by Killarney Golf & Fishing Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlerosse Hotel & Golf Killarney
Castlerosse Hotel And Golf Resort
Castlerosse Hotel Killarney
Hotel Castlerosse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing