We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The beautiful setting made this a very relaxing weekend break. We stayed in one of the self catering golf bungalows, it was clean and well equipped. We tried the leisure facilities which were good, had a drink in the bar but didn't eat in the restaurant. Pars of the hotel do look like they need some TLC but its clean and all the staff a friendly and helpful.
Its a easy walk into Killarney so this makes it a good location for getting about.

Room Tip: The golf bungalows are really popular so when booking ask for one with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandP01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Castlerosse Hotel and Holiday Homes.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay here with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    221
    76
    34
    26
See reviews for
290
164
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have stayed here on several occasions, as a couple and with groups, and can recommend it on all counts, staff most welcoming, food always lovely, and views from the dining room superb , walks through the woods just beautiful. Well worth a visit. Idea location for touring all around Killarney . Very popular hotel.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review of the Castlerosse Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed yet another holiday here with us and took full advantage of the beautiful walkways through Killarney's National Park. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

12 of us stayed in 6 x Cottage apartments and found them extremenly roomy and comfortable. Yes they all needed a bit of TLC , but overall they had all of the amenities we required.The spa was pretty basic , with plastic chairs in the steam room , rather than benches , but again sufficed.The views are spectacular, as was the breakfast. We did not eat there in the evening , but went into town where there was a variety of very good restaurants - taxi cost about E12.
Staff were a bit dour - certainly in the breakfast room they would not catch your eye , or offer anything such as Tea/Coffee/Toast unless specifically asked.That being said , the overall atmosphere of the Hotel was nice and relaxed.Would certainly return back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is a pleasant, no frills hotel. It's room was basic 3* type, very clean and comfortable.
The staff allowed you great freedom, were very helpful and went out of their way to advise us on how to go for a walk on Torc Mountain. They asked on the next day how was it for us.
We were there for a wedding, banquet was very professionally arranged and the food was fantastic.
The location and scenery was out of this world on a very sunny and warm weekend.
No hesitation in recommending.

Room Tip: Try room 107. It overlooks the 9th. hole, the mountains and lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

stayed in one of the self-catering cottages for 3 nights.
Good accomodation, reasonable prices for high season. pool is great for kids.
Had breakfast in hotel one morning, recommended.
Service was poor with couple of hiccups arranging things with reception, so double check things - we had a problem with timing of a babysitter.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank notusuallytoofussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

What a location. I stayed on the 7th of September for a wedding. We arrived early and there was no problem to check in at 12.30pm which was great as the wedding was at 2.30pm. The location is second to none. The staff are friendly and efficient. The food at the wedding banquet was simply amazing.Breakfast was excellent. Maybe a little more variety in terms of breads/pastries? Can't wait to pay a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flycon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Just back from a three day breat at the Castlerosse with my boyfriend and 18 month old. We had a woodland cottage. House lovely, decor a little dated but clean. Kitchen had everything you need for your stay.

We ate in the bar and food was lovely and reasonable and what a view.

We used to pool and like other reviews said the changing rooms are a bit small but it was very quiet so not and issue. My only fault would be the kids pool it is really just a railed off section of the shallow end so too deep for young kids.

Staff were all lovely and friendly. Will def be back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EimearCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cahernane House
Cahernane House
#28 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
2.7 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
3.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes

Property: Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Address: Lower Lake, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#25 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes are located on the lakeside just 2kms from Killarney town, with magnificent views of the Lower Lake and Magillycuddy Mountains. It is in a pristine environment flanked on one side by Killarney National Park and on the other by Killarney Golf & Fishing Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlerosse Hotel & Golf Killarney
Castlerosse Hotel And Golf Resort
Castlerosse Hotel Killarney
Hotel Castlerosse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing