We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, beautifull views, but....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place, beautifull views, but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

This place was nice, rooms were clean and decent, the only thing that spoilt it was that the pool insist you buy a swimming hat for 2 euros and rent a towel for 1 euro or you can't use it even though it was advertised as free to use, and the breakfast was extra even though it stated it was included in the price, the food is steeply priced too, 5 euros for a toasted sandwich 50c of that is for toasting it, a pint of Guiness a white white wine and a 7up came to nearly 13 euros, shame as it is a nice place, there seems to be a policy of"Tourist Fleecing" in Killarney at the moment so shop around before eating or booking somewhere to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pr0digalS0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted you enjoyed the Castlerosse Hotel however, it is for health and safety reasons that we require each person wear a swim hat while in the Leisure Club. We believe our prices are not extravagant and try to give each customer the best value for money.
I do hope this has not upset your holiday to Killarney or the Castlerosse.

Kind Regards
Brid O Sullivan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    221
    76
    34
    26
See reviews for
290
164
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

I stayed at the here in March with my 14yr son and mother and the accommodation was absolutely brilliant. The view from the lounge and my bedroom was breathtaking. I would definetely recommend to everyone. The staff were very helpful and lovely and did go out of their way to accommodate us with the dates we had chosen. Great location. Will definetely be staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbie098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for writing your kind review of the Castlerosse Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Castlerosse Hotel again in the very near future,
Kind Regards,
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

Just back from the Castlerosse Hotel. This time we stayed in the cottages and we were very impressed. We had stayed in the hotel before but as our children are getting older we felt we needed more room. The cottages are lovely, with two bedrooms and two bathroms and a very spacious living area. The hotel is very homely, with all staff being friendly while at the same time staying professional. We ate in the bar and the restaurant and really enjoyed the food. The location of the hotel is beautiful - looking out onto lakes and mountains. We hired bikes through the hotel and we were able to cycle right from our house into the centre of Killarney with most of the journey through parkland, so it was safe and enjoyable. I could not recommend this hotel highly enough for anyone travelling with kids. The kids club is excellent, our kids played soccer had quizzes and movie time so the grown ups were happy too The Manager (I think his name was Dan?) is always keeping a watchful eye on everything - and it shows. We will definetely be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DancingTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Dear Guest,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us in the Castlerosse, we are very privileged to be located in this stunning part of Killarney, and strive to provide a high level of service to ensure that our guests have the most enjoyable stay with us as possible,

We look forward to welcoming you and yours back to stay with us again very soon,

Kind Regard's
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

The Castlerosse has a spectacular location overlooking Lough Leane. The view from the dining room is breathtaking. Stayed there with my wife for a weekend, our third time doing so. The staff are courtesy personified and the food is great. I couldn't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shayokcork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your kind review.
We do love our lakeside location! We hope to see you back at the Castlerosse agin soon for your forth visit!
Kind Regard's
Brid O Sullivan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

Enjoyed a long weekend with family and friend. Lodge very comfortable - two ensuites and downstairs loo. Ask for lake view. Hotel open for season . We chose self catering but got a great offer on dinner with wine. Food and service so good we could not resist going again. Breakfast, fresh and tasty and at €8 for the best view in ireland is not to be missed. Walk it off with any of the numerous lovely walks in and adjacent to the hotel grounds. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scyrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive review. We at the Castlerosse are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and welcome you back again in the near future!
Kind Regard's
Brid O Sullivan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin,ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

Stayed here with my wife and two other couples for week-end to climb Carrauntohil and play golf. From the first moment of checking in to the last checking out everything about this hotel was perfect. The receptionist Eva was very friendly and helpful and organised packed lunches for our trip up the mountains.The double room was spacious and very clean and had a lakeside view.The breakfast buffet offered all you could want for breakfast to keep you going all day.We had dinner one night in the restaurant, which has stunning views, from a varied menu and the food on offer was fabulous and very good value.
We availed of the leisure facilities after our day on the mountains and the the jacuzzi was just the tonic for weary limbs.
I would recommend this hotel for value, location , friendliness and great service.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinocallaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to write this lovely review. I hope you enjoyed your climb on Carrauntohil and will be back to do it all over again and look forward to seeing you all soon!
Kind Regard's
Brid O Sullivan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

We have just spent a long weekend in the Castleross Hotel. We had a room with a lake view, which was very comfortable, and extremely clean. We really enjoyed the breakfast which was varied and all the food was freshly cooked - we also had lunch in the bar which was also very tasty.

We were able to walk into Killarney town centre over the weekend, through the national park, in the streaming sunshine which was such a pleasure - takes no longer than 20/25 minutes so very suitable for all ages and people with buggies or young children.

We would recommend this hotel to all our friends and the cottages would be very suitable for our friends with young families as there is something for everyone, a golf course on site, swimming pool and leisure centre and children's playround and tennis court.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PollyDublin30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlerosse, Guest Relations Manager at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this review, April 28, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your time in the Castlerosse Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you bacj again soon.

Kind Regard's
Brid O Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cahernane House
Cahernane House
#29 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
2.7 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
3.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes

Property: Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Address: Lower Lake, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#25 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes are located on the lakeside just 2kms from Killarney town, with magnificent views of the Lower Lake and Magillycuddy Mountains. It is in a pristine environment flanked on one side by Killarney National Park and on the other by Killarney Golf & Fishing Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlerosse Hotel & Golf Killarney
Castlerosse Hotel And Golf Resort
Castlerosse Hotel Killarney
Hotel Castlerosse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing