We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eviston House Hotel
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
drogheda, ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just spent the Aug bank holiday weekend in the Best Western, and can honestly say it was one of the best hotel we have stayed in. On arrival, we were upgraded as they had no smoking room for us. Girls on reception could not have been more friendly ,professional and helpful. Food at the hotel was top nosh and very reasonable in price. Great banter from the bar staff, especially James, who was very personable, funny and a credit to the hotel. The entertainment was brill, the band is a must see for all that love Irish songs .Get there early as they attract a large following .Thanks for a great time, we did not want to leave. Defo will be returning soon.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room at the back of hotel. Quite enough. You are going to hear some noise as you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patev, Owner at Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear LauraC
Thank you for your very kind review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. The recptionists and James in the bar are especially happy with your comments. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards, Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    215
    138
    52
    40
See reviews for
104
269
39
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had a great stay at the Eviston House Hotel. All of the Hotel and bar staff were very attentive, the hotel restaurant was always busy and the food and service was always very good. The rooms were all functional and very clean. The jewel in the crown was the live entertainment in the Danny Manns Lounge. The hotel is located in the heart of Killarney and so convenient for the shops, bars and restaurants of Killarney

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manager-CTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patev, Owner at Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Ian G,
Thank you very much for staying at our hotel and for your very kind review. We are delighted that you found our staff friendly and attentive , enjoyed the food and especially our traditional pub- The Danny Mann. Hopefully, we will see you again on your next visit. Best regards, Patrick Eviston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Overall we had an amazing stay in Ireland and Killarney, and while the Eviston House does have a great location and pub, we want to take a moment to commend both the Assistant GM and Owner of the Eviston House Hotel, Best Western in Killarney, Ireland. My wife and I travel all over the world and have stayed in hundreds of hotels, and during our stay here, what could have been an ugly incident, was resolved in the most efficient, caring and helpful way we have ever encountered. The speed and professionalism with which the Hotel management investigated and resolved the situation was something we have never experienced before, and we truly felt cared for and looked after by them. Their actions are absolutely commendable and renewed our faith in the Industry as a whole!!! We most definitely hope to be able to visit again. THANK YOU!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dplattman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patev, Owner at Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear dplattman,

Thank you for your exceptionally kind review. We were delighted to sort out the problem you experienced. We understand that when you are in a different country assistance is greatly appreciated. We also want to make sure as much as possible that when a problem occurs that we do what we can to look after our guests. Thank you again for staying at our hotel and we would be delighted to see you again some time. Best regards, Patrick Eviston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed for two nights on holiday during a very busy weekend and the hotel staff was fantastic. Caroline at the front desk was outstanding and even put up with my overbearing travel partners. She pushed the cleaning staff to prepare rooms for us several minutes ahead of check-in time after we arrived from a long travel day and provided help for us on every question we had. She also explained to us the ticket coloring system for a GAA match at Fitzgerald Stadium. The pub staff, led by Chris and helped by Maria and Elvis, did an excellent job keeping our bellies full of full Irish breakfast and pints. The rooms were clean and well kept. The showers are a bit small, unless you are a fourth-grader. The hotel is located in the middle of the city centre in a great location, very convenient for the Killarney night life as well as walks to Ross Castle or Killarney National Park.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patev, Owner at Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Ed M,
Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay which was greatly enhanced by Caroline, Marie, Elvis and Kris. I may have met you and certainly some of your friends after the match in the pub. I was serving behind the bar and Caroline was in your company proudly wearing her Kerry Jersey. We take great pleasure in knowing that our guests are having a good time and we are fortunate to have some lovely people on our team. I hope the rest of your vacation was just as enjoyable and thank you for staying with us. Best regards Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights while on a tour, and we found the food to be excellent, and the staff very friendly and helpful.
I had reservations about the hotel having a pub below, but these were misplaced. We did not hear any noise when we went to the room at night, and the pub itself was very friendly and the music was great.
Definitely one to go to again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonyWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patev, Owner at Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear AnthonyWK
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hop the rest of your vacation was as good. Best regards, Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed for three nights, the first welcome at the reception and the attention given to us was very promising and we were not disapoited, rooms were clean and serviced very well every day and the housekeeping manager Lidia was very helpfull. The breakfast at the restaurant very good and the staff simply briliant very profesional. The Manager Kris was simply everywhere we have seen him in the morning at restaurant, then during the day in the Bar and after again serving in the Bar he is the very good sample for his staff who simply followed him. To sum up very good stay, excelent food and music at the Danny Mann pub and simply we felt like special guest. Well done , we will be back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patev, Owner at Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Anna P
Thank you for your very kind review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Kris and Lydia will be especially proud of your positve comments. Thanks again and best regards,
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrykeel, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Firstly we were shocked at the narrow graffiti dirty lane way which was the entrance from the Main street down to the hotel carpark, I would advise any nervous driver to not attempt this as you have to push your mirrors in to fit down the laneway. Our welcome at reception was good.
The stench of sewarge from the bar area was eye watering to say the least on our 3rd night here so we left the next day, the rooms are average, dusty but not filthy, a bit on the cold side..Loud music from the bar late at night. Would not recommend and would never go back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Reviewer638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patev, Owner at Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer 638,

I don't know what sort of satisfaction you get from posting such an untrue and nasty review!
There is absolutely no smell of sewarge from our bar. I am sure that the several hundred customers who attend our Danny Mann Restaurant and Pub every night can attest to that or by checking out our Danny Mann reviews. Our pub is tradtional, rustic, over 70 years in existance and has a lot of old wood but there is no odour. My wife, myself and our 11 year old Daughter who Irish dances in the pub several nights a week can attest to that. Also, if you were so affected that you eyes were watering we would have happily allowed you to check out immediately rather than stay 3 nights.
As regards the lane way, your comments are correct but unfortunalely that is not our property.
Regards, Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#25 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
0.2 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#21 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eviston House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eviston House Hotel

Property: Eviston House Hotel
Address: 97 New Street | Kerry, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Eviston House Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eviston House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, the family-run. Eviston House offers free WiFi, free overnight on-site parking subject to demand and offsite parking from 5:30 pm to 8:30 am, nightly Irish music in the Danny Mann Pub. With a hot tub, sauna, and rooms with satellite TV, it is just 5 minutes’ walk away from Killarney National Park. Rooms at the Eviston House Hotel have large bathrooms with power showers, and some have king-size beds and whirlpool baths. They also feature tea/coffee making facilities. The Colleen Bawn Restaurant serves Irish and Continental cuisine, along with a full Irish breakfast buffet. The traditional Irish Danny Mann Pub features a daily à la carte menu. The Fitness Suite includes a modern, well-equipped gym with fitness machines, are also available. St. Mary’s Cathedral can be reached in just 5 minutes on foot. Ross Castle and Killarney Golf Club are a 5-minute drive, and Kerry Airport is just 15 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eviston House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Eviston Hotel
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing