We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eviston House Hotel
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Westmeath, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Bought a GrabOne deal for 2 nights stay in the Eviston House, with welcome drinks on arrival, room upgrade and late check-out - all for €79. Had read mixed reviews on TripAdvisor about this place and for the money paid, wasnt expecting lots. However, we were very pleasantly surprised with what we found and really enjoyed the hotel. We ate in the bar when we arrived; food was tasty but only OK. You could throw it together at home but it was fine. Our room was clean and fresh and just as good as four-star places we've stayed. Lovely jacuzzi batch and lovely strong shower. Large flat screen TV, very comfortable bed and room generally very cosy. Couldnt fault it. General decor in the hotel a litte dated, but that is not an issue at all. Small car park down a narrow alley accessed from Main Street. You then enter the hotel from the back, through the unused nightclub, then the bar and then into reception. Ate breakfast one morning at the bar, which was only €6.95 and again just OK, but fine. Staff were all lovely. Hotel location was excellent; so central and all bars and restaurants only steps away. Could leave the car and just wander around. Would have no problem returning to the Eviston House or recommending it to a friend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleD77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisM68, Manager at Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear MichelleD77
Thank you very much for your recent review, we are very glad that you had a pleasent stay, we hope that with our new menu you will find the food much more enjoyable during your next visit.
Best Regards
Assistant General Manager
Kris Muciek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    215
    138
    52
    40
See reviews for
104
269
39
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

The Eviston hotel and doesn't look that substantial from the outside. It's mostly dominated on the ground floor by a pub / food venue called the Danny Mann with a reception to one side. The floors above contain the rooms proper and the corridors stretch back miles meaning the hotel has close to 100 rooms. Ours was a family room right at the end of a corridor but we appreciated it because it was quiet. The length of the corridors could mean people near the elevators have a different experience from late night revellers.

What makes the hotel handy is that it's perfectly located in centre of Killarney. Step out the door and there are 20 or 30 bars and restaurants within 5 minutes walk.Killarney has some pretty great restaurants including some more affordable options.

The room was clean and well equipped with modern fittings such as marble bathroom and widescreen TV which belied our expectations. Wifi was also available and was very fast and easy to use. Breakfast was the usual full Irish and it was cooked to order - some other hotels just have a buffet arrangement - and it tasted great.

All in all we enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was good, Killarney is a great destination for a weekend. The only gripe was parking space in the hotel is very limited so we had to park in the pay and display public car park around the back of the hotel. It's a pay and display in operation from 11am to 6:30pm for a euro an hour but the sign suggested it was changing to 8:30am-6:30pm so plan to be somewhere else during the day or feed the machine first thing in the morning and get your ticket.

Room Tip: The corridors are long so the greater footfall near the elevator end might make some rooms noisier t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HibTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisM68, Manager at Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear HibTraveller
Thank you very much for your review with all the information regarding our Hotel and Danny Mann Pub, we are very happy that our customers notice and appreciate all the changes and improvement of our facilities and service we have done recently.We hope that your next stay with us will be even more pleasent.
Thank you very much
Assistant General Manager
Kris Muciek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Wheelchair facility very good except for a small dip from bathroom to bedroom which could easily be rectified to make this room 100% accessible.
Staff were so friendly and helpful- best we have stayed with since my husband had a stroke.
The members of our party were very impressed by the friendliness and the pleasant atmosphere in the hotel. Excellent location.

Room Tip: What appears to be a newer part of the hotel had bigger rooms with jaccuzi baths for exra comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisM68, Manager at Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Phil M
Thank you very much for your recent review, we all are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you and your hasband again,
Best regards
Assistant General Manager
Kris Muciek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

In July I went to Ireland with my girlfriends for 1 week , 4 days in Dublin 3 days in Killarney. When we checked into the Eviston House I knew I would have a great time. The hotel is right in the center of town witch was great. Loads of shops, restaurants,hotels & pubs.Its a great place to stay if you want to go shopping !! We shopped till we dropped !! The hotel was lovely , really clean & the staff could not have been more friendly / helpful . The Danny Mann is the bar/restaurant attached to the hotel, owned by the hotel. The food was Delicious!! They have traditional Irish music every night , witch we really enjoyed. Again the staff couldent be more helpful. I had a great time !! I will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kourtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisM68, Manager at Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Kourtney B
Thank you very much for your review, we are very happy that your visit in Killarney and our Hotel was so enjoyable. We hope to see you back soon.
Best regards
Assistant General Manager
Kris Muciek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanica, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed in the Eviston House a few months ago, It was A-M-A-Z-I-N-G. The Danny Mann is the bar connected to the hotel wich locals and guests can use. There food is devine and they're staff couldent be more friendly.We got a free upgrade and the room was way nicer than we expected! My husband and I went down to the bar and had some lovely dinner ( I would reccomend Cajun Salmon ). I really enjoed the music " The Molly Maguires " they were great "craic". There was a really cute little irish dancer, Alannah. We will definetly be back when visiting Ireland again !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patev, Owner at Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hi Jade B and sorry for the late response. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on the quality of our Irish Music and especially our young Irish Dancer Alannah. We have passed on your nice comments. Best regards, Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Was suprised to see this hotel ranking where it does with tripadvisor - because it's one with plenty of character and personality!!

The rooms are spotless and comfortable, the food great and the staff very welcoming. Sure the carpark is a bit tight, but with a little care it is really no trouble.

It is at night where this hotel really comes to life, with some fantastic entertainment with the live music in the main bar. And the bar staff must be amongst some of the best in Ireland given how busy the place can get on weekends.

In short this is a little gem of a hotel in Killarney, and one we are looking forward to visiting again very soon!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuruRebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patev, Owner at Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guru Rebel,
Thank you for staying at our hotel and your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Best regards,
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed for a week at the Everiston House Hotel and I have no hesitation is saying the person who made my stay the best I experienced in Ireland was Paul the barman.

He was also the hotel handy man who fixed my leaking toilet in no time flat.

The accommodation and meals were good but it was Paul who made the differnce, he is informative, funny and a bloody good bloke. He told me about all the non touristy places to visit which made my touring so much more enjoyable.

I recommend anyone staying at the Eviston catch up with Paul, he is a fantastic bloke.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the front are better, its a long way to the back rooms if carrying luggage. Be awar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterc1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patev, Owner at Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear peterc 1705,
Thank you for your kind review and for choosing our hotel. Paul was delighted to see your review. He is certainly a character and puts customers and fellow staff in a good mood. Hopefully you will visit Ireland again in the future and meet up again. Apologies for the late response and best regards, Patrick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#25 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
0.2 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#21 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eviston House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eviston House Hotel

Property: Eviston House Hotel
Address: 97 New Street | Kerry, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Eviston House Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eviston House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, the family-run. Eviston House offers free WiFi, free overnight on-site parking subject to demand and offsite parking from 5:30 pm to 8:30 am, nightly Irish music in the Danny Mann Pub. With a hot tub, sauna, and rooms with satellite TV, it is just 5 minutes’ walk away from Killarney National Park. Rooms at the Eviston House Hotel have large bathrooms with power showers, and some have king-size beds and whirlpool baths. They also feature tea/coffee making facilities. The Colleen Bawn Restaurant serves Irish and Continental cuisine, along with a full Irish breakfast buffet. The traditional Irish Danny Mann Pub features a daily à la carte menu. The Fitness Suite includes a modern, well-equipped gym with fitness machines, are also available. St. Mary’s Cathedral can be reached in just 5 minutes on foot. Ross Castle and Killarney Golf Club are a 5-minute drive, and Kerry Airport is just 15 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eviston House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Eviston Hotel
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing