We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad to say, this is the worst place we stayed at in Ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eviston House Hotel
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The only positives we could find about this hotel was the location. There are lots of lovely restaurants within walking distance, and the one within the hotel was nice too. Every other aspect was very, very rough. The walls and ceilings are paper-thin. Someone walking down the hallway sounded like a heard of wild horses. People in the room above us sounded like they were bowling when just getting up and walking around in the middle of the night-- needless to say, sleep was very challenging. Not to mention, the hotel staff did not make up for any of this. We stayed here three nights, never even complaining, and came and went from our room numerous times, at which point we were never acknowledged by hotel staff with any greeting at all. Not to mention, the parking situation is ridiculous. You have to park under the building after going through an alley with two inches on each side of your car, and trek through a club and the restaurant to come and go. We were very disappointed that this was the hotel we had to spend the most time in during our trip to Ireland.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessicaToy1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisM68, Manager at Eviston House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear JessicaToy1011

Thank you very much for your review. I am very sorry to hear about your disappointing stay and sincerely apologise if you felt our staff were not engaging enough. I can assure you that this is not normally the case and I have addressed this with the staff in question. We also are having our maintenance staff rectify the sound transmission you experienced. It is unfortunate you did not inform us as we would have offered to relocate you immediately. Regarding our Car park, yes it is down a narrow lane but due to our town centre location we cannot change this. We do inform all our guests on arrival about this and also that there is additional free overnight parking only 2 minutes walk away. It saddened us that we were not made aware of your problems during your stay so we could make you happy. Please accept our sincere apologies.
Best regards,
Assistant General Manager
Kris Muciek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (791)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 791 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed at the eviston last weekend and had a very enjoyable stay. got a nice good sized room at a great price. the hotel is right in the town centre so near to everything. They have nice pub with a big warm fire. the guiness was good and we had a tasty steak for dinner. They had a band called the molly maguires playing ballads which we enjoyed. Staff were friendly. Happy to recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ricke231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisM68, Manager at Eviston House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear ricke231
Thank you very much for your recent comments. All the Management and Staff are very happy that you enjoy your stay at Eviston House Hotel.
Best Regards
Assistant General Manager
Kris Muciek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Seems to be a place for stag and hen do's with drunken teenagers thrown in the mix too.Staff were helpful enough which is the only reason its not rated lower.Rooms are basic enough which is fine for what you pay but the walls are paper thin and as a reult you can hear everything that goes on all around.The breakfast offered was terrible and the bar downstairs seemed more like a holding pen for people waiting for a fight.If your on a stag or hen night fine but otherwise I'd look elsewhere

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisM68, Manager at Eviston House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Dear Pat D
Thank you for your recent review. While we were delighted that you have found our staff helpful and friendly, we were sorry to hear about your breakfast experience . It is unfortunate that you did not inform our staff so we could offer you something else. We can assure you that are breakfast’s are freshly made and we have discussed your comments with the chef to see where we can improve.

However, we do not agree with your comments about some of the guests staying in our Hotel. They were certainly not teenagers and were only enjoying themselves. At no stage were there any arguments and if anyone was to misbehave then we would deal with it in an appropriate manner. All our Management and Staff work very hard to provide the best possible service to all our customers. We offer entertaining live music in our Danny Mann pub and it is quite popular with residents and other customers. We can assure you that the enjoyment of our guest’s is very important to us and we regret that this was not the case for you. Once again thank you for your comments
Best Regards
Assistant General Manager
Kris Muciek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Recently stayed here. Nice enough hotel, just seems to attract some real eejits.

We were having a lovely sleep when the couple next door returned from a ditch somewhere in town. This must have been 2am. They then invited their friends round for a party.

The night porter did try to stop their party after 3 phone calls. And eventually the guests departed around 5.

The encore was a rigorous bed making session. Lots of panting and groaning. They must have tucked those sheets in good and tight!

If you want a quiet sleep not the place to stay at the weekend!

Room Tip: Check out the neighbours
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PrimeroPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

we stayed at the Eviston at the weekend, we had a great time, the rooms were spotless, we were on the third floor at the back of the hotel, lovely and quiet, except the floors creaked alot,but we got over that. the staff were lovely. its a great location, this is about my sixth time staying here and will again in the future, what else can I say. Stay here and see for yourselves

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabrinaskibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

this hotel is located in the heart of Killarney close to all the shopping and sites. very friendly and knowlegable staff. the only draw back is the parking, no parking in front to unload they have parking around the corner but the entrance is very narrow. the breakfast is ok.they do have free computer acess in the lobby.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eviston, Manager at Eviston House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear UsaHawkeye44

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Eviston House Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff very friendly and knowledgeable. We are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our car park but unfortunately the central location has some disadvantages and one of them is the lack of space for a large car park. On your next visit to our hotel please inform us of your estimated time of arrival and we will reserve a space for you.

Best regards

Kris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel was in a great location and the staff were really wonderful! Value for money was spot on. Pub downstairs was decent food and fun entertainment.- staff were great in there as well. It didn't feel like a Best Western-felt more like a family run hotel, which was nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lmhurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
Brook Lodge Hotel
Brook Lodge Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
326 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Heights Hotel Killarney
The Heights Hotel Killarney
#24 of 38 in Killarney
481 reviews
0.7 mi away
Killarney Court Hotel
Killarney Court Hotel
#31 of 38 in Killarney
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Innisfallen Hotel
Innisfallen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fossa
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#27 of 38 in Killarney
1,065 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eviston House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eviston House Hotel

Address: Eviston House Hotel 97 New Street | Kerry, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Eviston House Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range: $75 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eviston House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, the family-run Eviston House Hotel offers free Wi-Fi & free overnight parking. With a hot tub, sauna, and rooms with satellite TV, it is right in the heart of the action. All of Killarneys shops, pubs, restaurants and attractions are literally on your doorstep. Rooms at the Eviston House Hotel have large bathrooms with power showers, and some have king-size beds and whirlpool baths. They also feature tea/coffee making facilities. The “World Famous” Danny Mann Pub is located on site. Choose from a large selection of Draught, Wines and Premium Spirits. The freshest local ingredients are presented on our menu’s daily. Top it all off with live Irish Music every night. The Colleen Bawn Restaurant serves Irish and Continental cuisine, along with a full Irish breakfast buffet. The traditional Irish Danny Mann Pub features a daily à la carte menu. The Fitness Suite includes a modern, well-equipped gym with fitness machines, are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eviston House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Eviston Hotel
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing