We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eviston House Hotel
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Rough”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Seems to be a place for stag and hen do's with drunken teenagers thrown in the mix too.Staff were helpful enough which is the only reason its not rated lower.Rooms are basic enough which is fine for what you pay but the walls are paper thin and as a reult you can hear everything that goes on all around.The breakfast offered was terrible and the bar downstairs seemed more like a holding pen for people waiting for a fight.If your on a stag or hen night fine but otherwise I'd look elsewhere

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisM68, Manager at Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Pat D
Thank you for your recent review. While we were delighted that you have found our staff helpful and friendly, we were sorry to hear about your breakfast experience . It is unfortunate that you did not inform our staff so we could offer you something else. We can assure you that are breakfast’s are freshly made and we have discussed your comments with the chef to see where we can improve.

However, we do not agree with your comments about some of the guests staying in our Hotel. They were certainly not teenagers and were only enjoying themselves. At no stage were there any arguments and if anyone was to misbehave then we would deal with it in an appropriate manner. All our Management and Staff work very hard to provide the best possible service to all our customers. We offer entertaining live music in our Danny Mann pub and it is quite popular with residents and other customers. We can assure you that the enjoyment of our guest’s is very important to us and we regret that this was not the case for you. Once again thank you for your comments
Best Regards
Assistant General Manager
Kris Muciek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    214
    138
    52
    40
See reviews for
104
269
39
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Recently stayed here. Nice enough hotel, just seems to attract some real eejits.

We were having a lovely sleep when the couple next door returned from a ditch somewhere in town. This must have been 2am. They then invited their friends round for a party.

The night porter did try to stop their party after 3 phone calls. And eventually the guests departed around 5.

The encore was a rigorous bed making session. Lots of panting and groaning. They must have tucked those sheets in good and tight!

If you want a quiet sleep not the place to stay at the weekend!

Room Tip: Check out the neighbours
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrimeroPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skibbereen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

we stayed at the Eviston at the weekend, we had a great time, the rooms were spotless, we were on the third floor at the back of the hotel, lovely and quiet, except the floors creaked alot,but we got over that. the staff were lovely. its a great location, this is about my sixth time staying here and will again in the future, what else can I say. Stay here and see for yourselves

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrinaskibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

this hotel is located in the heart of Killarney close to all the shopping and sites. very friendly and knowlegable staff. the only draw back is the parking, no parking in front to unload they have parking around the corner but the entrance is very narrow. the breakfast is ok.they do have free computer acess in the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UsaHawkeye44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eviston, Manager at Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear UsaHawkeye44

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Eviston House Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff very friendly and knowledgeable. We are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our car park but unfortunately the central location has some disadvantages and one of them is the lack of space for a large car park. On your next visit to our hotel please inform us of your estimated time of arrival and we will reserve a space for you.

Best regards

Kris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel was in a great location and the staff were really wonderful! Value for money was spot on. Pub downstairs was decent food and fun entertainment.- staff were great in there as well. It didn't feel like a Best Western-felt more like a family run hotel, which was nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lmhurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We spent three nights at this hotel, and had were woken up by loud and obnoxious behaviors and people banging on our door all 3 nights... This always occurred between 2am and 5am after the pubs closed. The night security was responsive, but the walls are so thin that everything is loud. It's an old building, in a nice location. When we spoke to the manager about being unsatisfied with our stay, he was very nice and apologetic... Good staff, and nice location, but I still wouldn't stay again because of the noise!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nurseman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eviston, Manager at Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Nurseman21

I am reverting to your complaint about your recent stay at the Eviston House Hotel. It is unfortunate that your experience with our hotel was ruined by some irresponsible guests making noise. If you are staying in Killarney again please contact me directly and I will assure you will have a peaceful and comfortable stay.

Best regards, Kris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youghal, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here with a mate of mine after a charity event where we had cycled from cork to killarney and gone up and down carrantouhill. needless to say we needed a good nights sleep. which we did not get. room was poor without even proper duvets. noise from the street was shocking we hardly got a wink of sleep and breakfast was appalling. over all a poor poor stay

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpyoughal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eviston, Manager at Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear jpyoughal

We are very sorry to hear that you stay was unpleasant. With regard to your room it is suitably equipped to Failte Ireland regulations. Your bed had 2 sheets a bedspread and a spare blanket in the closet. If you required extra bed linen or an upgrade to a deluxe room the receptionist would have obliged. We regret that you heard noise from the street but like any town centre hotel this can occasionally happen. We are sorry that our buffet breakfast was not to your liking but again you did not mention that to any member of staff. We served breakfast to nearly a hundred customers that morning and did not receive any other negative comments .It is unfortunate that you did not inform of us of your dissatisfaction during your stay or on check out so we could rectify matters.

Best regards,
Kris Muciek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#25 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
0.2 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#21 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eviston House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eviston House Hotel

Property: Eviston House Hotel
Address: 97 New Street | Kerry, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Eviston House Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eviston House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, the family-run. Eviston House offers free WiFi, free overnight on-site parking subject to demand and offsite parking from 5:30 pm to 8:30 am, nightly Irish music in the Danny Mann Pub. With a hot tub, sauna, and rooms with satellite TV, it is just 5 minutes’ walk away from Killarney National Park. Rooms at the Eviston House Hotel have large bathrooms with power showers, and some have king-size beds and whirlpool baths. They also feature tea/coffee making facilities. The Colleen Bawn Restaurant serves Irish and Continental cuisine, along with a full Irish breakfast buffet. The traditional Irish Danny Mann Pub features a daily à la carte menu. The Fitness Suite includes a modern, well-equipped gym with fitness machines, are also available. St. Mary’s Cathedral can be reached in just 5 minutes on foot. Ross Castle and Killarney Golf Club are a 5-minute drive, and Kerry Airport is just 15 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eviston House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Eviston Hotel
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing