We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A well located and maintained older classic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
International Hotel Killarney
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A well located and maintained older classic hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is a great stay - location is right in the heart of Killarney near everything in the central business district. A lovely refined place to stay - my wife was here 20 years ago, and says it has only gotten better. Staff were efficient and pleasant, food was outstanding, and rooms very well appointed for an older hotel. You won't go wrong staying here. Highly recommended as a perfect spot in Killarney.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bavarianbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Bavarianbiker,
Thank you for your very kind comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your first stay with us and please thank your wife for her lovely compliments.
The hotel has been fully renovated very sensitively over the last few years with our objective being to maintain all its original character and charm which is commented on so often.
We hope to see you back again at another time and thank you again for taking the time to review us so positively,
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,452
    405
    78
    27
    12
See reviews for
458
846
84
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in our trip to Ireland. They lobby was on the smaller side but had a style to it that reminded us of days past. There were several places to relax and a couple side rooms where people could talk or just have a break. Our room was in the executive section and was very roomy for European standards. It had a very comfortable bed and plenty of space to move around and be comfortable. The bathroom was also spacious and looked new. The shower was great with excellent water pressure although it would turn cool for a second or two every once in a while. It was minor though. The staff were friendly and always on point to help out with information that we needed. There were jaunting cars right outside to take you to Ross Castle or into the park itself. If you wanted to go to Muckross House or the Gap of Dunloe though you had to drive out of the city. The breakfast was included in our rate and was decent with a good selection at the buffet table and a choice of full Irish or other items. We had all 6 of our kids with us ranging in age form 11 to 24 and they all were happy with the selection and the quality.

Parking is a bit of an issue in Killarney. There is a lot down the street that is by the hour during the day and free after 5pm. We parked there and were gone during the day so it was no problem. It was a bit far to haul luggage though and you will want to drop your bags first then park.

The hotel is right on the downtown strip so it was so easy to walk to the shops and restaurants. There were pubs and lots of nighttime options with traditional Irish music and various sports themes as well. Our older kids loved that. Overall It was great anad the prices were decent.

Room Tip: The executive section was way in the back and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seacoasttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Seacoasttraveler,
Thank you very much for your detailed and comprehensive review of your stay with us, we're very glad you were pleased with the hotel and your time in Killarney.
We also hope you enjoyed the remainder of your Irish Holiday and had a safe journey home.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanute, Kansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

This hotel was perfect, nestled in the middle of city center. The service was impeccable and our rooms were very luxurious and immaculate! We had breakfast in the dining room and it was awesome and the service was exemplary. The reception workers were a great help in providing information about attractions and making the arrangements for them. The bar had great live music and we enjoyed our stay immensely!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Nina,
Thank you so much for your fantastic review.
We are truly delighted to receive feedback such as this, it makes our jobs so much easier!
Almost all our team here are local and are very helpful in assisting with tips and information on trips, restaurants, pubs - anything you could want to see or do in Killarney!
We hope to see you return again to us and thank you again for your great comments.
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

We spent a week on vacation in Ireland. We visited Kilkenny, Killarney, Limerick, Dublin, hotels in these cities. It was a older hotel in the center of the city, half a block from the main shopping, restaraunts, and interesting places. Beautiful, refurbished rooms, and lovely dinning room for breakfast. Excellent service both for the hotel and food. The parking could be a problem, but wasn't because we were at the hotel Saturday and Sunday, (free parking on weekends). We were able to park in front of the hotel. During the week parking is available in a public lot across the street in a meter. I would chose this hotel again for the location and it was just a great hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyndi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you Cyndi!
Favourite hotel of your trip - high praise indeed we are delighted - we really strive to make sure each and every guest to our hotel has a great stay and leaves us with happy memories and a desire to return and it's great to see we have succeeded here.
We hope to see you back again and thank you so much for taking the time to review us,
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Right from our arrival Didn't know where to park hotel staff assisted us immediately by coming out and waitng for us to circle around and hold a parking space in front of Hotel....Professional reception informative as things to do in town....rooms clean modern and alive....everything in walking distance to local entertaimnet and pubs...best hotel of the 3 we stayed at during our trip....5 stars

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debratc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear debratc,
Thank you so much - what a wonderful review - we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Personal service and attention to detail are paramount with us and we're delighted to be your favourite hotel of your trip.
We hope to see you back again and we appreciate you taking the time to give us such great feedback,
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

I loved this hotel. It was is close to everything we wanted to do, and the service was wonderful, the room so comfy... breakfast was great !! Went shopping for Christmas presents and ate at a wonderful restaurant which neither of us know the name, we looked at the menu outside, went in, ate ...love it, talking about it the next day...neither of us looked at the name of the restaurant! LOL

Room Tip: I could not rate the Pool or Spa because we did not use them, but both looked very inviting :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Suzie,
Thank you your lovely comments, it sounds to me like you will have to come back to stay with us and find your Restaurant again (not to mention 2014 Christmas shopping!)
Anyway - we're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to review us so warmly,
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Beauitful hotel in a great location.The staff are very friendly and helpful, our room on the thrid floor was big, bright and immaculately clean. Had some lovely gin and tonic's in the bar. The breakfast menu had a great choice of food, would recommend the eggs benedict. Would have no problem recommending this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Margaret,
We're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your great comments all around - our Eggs Benedict is very popular and many people have told us that ours is the best they have ever had!
We appreciate all recommendations and hope to see you back again to us at another time.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Killarney

Property: International Hotel Killarney
Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Killarney
#7 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#11 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — International Hotel Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A firm favourite with visitors to Killarney, the luxurious 4* International is one of Killarney's longest established and best loved hotels, bringing our guests the warmest of welcomes and our promise of excellence. Located in the heart of Killarney Town, just a stroll from Killarney National Park & Killarney House, boasting 94 exquisite guestrooms (Classic, Superior & Executive) each with a perfect blend of classical elegance and modern design to ensure our guests a restful nights sleep Facilities include Hannigans Award winning traditional Bar & Restaurant, live music nightly in season. All areas have complimentary Wi-Fi. Further facilities include our modern, air-conditioned gym, Snooker room, library and a Residents Lounge with complimentary newspapers. Voted as one of Tripadvisors Top 25 Hotels in Ireland 2015, 2016, 2017 We look forward to welcoming you to the International Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your International Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing