We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
International Hotel Killarney
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Park City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“My favorite”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Awesome location, super friendly staff. I must say after 4 weeks in Ireland, water pressure is hard to come by & this shower was my 1st amazing shower! Beds were comfortable, windows opened so it could be cooled down & the location is the best!!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Jessica
Thank you for your lovely comments, you must have seen almost the whole of Ireland in a month, what a wonderful holiday! And of course you obviously stayed in many hotels so we're delighted o be your favourite.
We believe the essentials for a pleasant stay are a comfortable bed, good shower and great breakfast and judging by our guest reviews we offer all of these plus first class service, so thank you for commenting.
We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your time in Ireland and returned home safely with many wonderful memories.
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,557
    425
    80
    28
    15
See reviews for
496
908
90
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Such a lovely charming old world hotel. Situated right in the heart of Killarney. Beautiful room with every amenity. Walk in shower plus jacuzzi bath. Very high standard of housekeeping. Love the colours in the room,old gold and red. So relaxing.
Unfortunately due to work commitments can only stay one night. I travel for a living and this hotel really is first class.
Excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: Our room was perfect. Room 109. Due to the quality of the public areas I'm sure all the rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trafdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Trafnell,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay, we're very glad you enjoyed it. You commented on the quality and style of decor in your room and some public areas and this is continued throughout the hotel, truly no expense has been spared to ensure the top level of comfort for our guests.
We hope to see you and your family back for a longer stay and please don't hesitate to contact me if you would like to request 109 again.
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliston, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed at the International hotel last week on our driving tour through Southern Ireland. Of all the places we stayed we enjoyed our stay there best. It is a wonderful hotel. Everyone was very helpful and pleasant . We had great meals in the restaurant. The food was delicious and our waitress Antoinette gave us great service . Our room was lovely. Only complaint was the fact the mirror in the bathroom was way too high for a shorty like me...very minor complaint! We would definitely recommend the International to anyone..thanks for our great stay!

Christeen Lewis
Alliston, Ontario
Canada

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christeen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Christeen,
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I'll be sure to let Antoinette know.
Regarding your comment on the bathroom mirror, I will pass this on to our Maintenance Manager, all feedback is relevant and helpful to us, especially as I would be in a similar position to you height wise!
So thank you again for taking the time to give us your thoughts and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Ireland.
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed in hotel for 3nights service was fantastic it's my best stay in killarney having been here several times and have never experienced such terrific service food in restaurant was fabulous and the waiter called Brendan was most courteous and helpful the rooms seem like 5star instead of 4star we were given a front facing room which had a view facing the national park again I would recommend this hotel for anyone staying in killarney for first time

Room Tip: Choose room on 2nd floor facing front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Joe,
Thank you for your great review, we are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us and l will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to Brendan. Yes, our rooms are all furnished to a very high standard and the front-facing rooms are always in great demand due to their views of the Jaunting cars and horses, and general hustle & bustle of Killarney!
We hope to see you back again at another time and in the meanwhile thank you again for taking the time to review us.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We just spent 2 nights at The International Hotel on our whirlwind tour of Ireland. It was the best 2 nights so far. The hotel was nice and clean and the staff extremely accommodating. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and the city of Killarney is great!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank beany3421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Beany3421,
Thank you for your very kind comments, we're so glad you enjoyed your time with us and Killarney in general, it's definitely a great town to spend a few days in.
We hope to see you back again at another time, and hope you had a safe journey home,
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

From the pre-booking arrangements through to breakfast, meals, pub visits, and departure, the staff were very kind, helpful and all accommodating. They provided good references for our Ring of Kerry bus trip (Deros Coach Tours), for our music (Killarney Grand), and various food options. We ate in the pub which was delicious, as was their included breakfast. The family hotel room for the 4 young-adult children was a beautiful room providing them with ample space to share. Our parent room was beautiful and roomy, bathrooms fantastic.

Only complaint was work being done outside of our window, but that could not be avoided as they were finishing up gas line repairs which will now be done, and noise from people gathering in the lobby at night as our room was just at the top of the stairs. I look forward to our return someday and highly recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_BLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Betty C,
Thank you very much for your lovely review, we're delighted we were able to help you out with good tips and advice, this is where our team excel, most of us being either local or having lived in the area for a long time.
I am sorry you were disturbed by the laying of the gas lines, this was Town work and outside our control but we're very glad it did not take from the enjoyment of your stay with us.
We're always delighted to get recommendations and look forward to also welcoming you back again at another time,
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Our Ireland vacation was a package deal so we did not pick the hotels or the cities we stayed in, but the International Hotel in Killarney was my favorite! I loved the old-world feel of the stairway and hallways. We arrived after a very long and stressful day of driving. Upon checking in, the receptionist offered a guided tour for the Ring of Kerry, which we jumped at so that we could have a break from driving and both enjoy the scenery. After looking at the tour cost online, I think we could have gotten a better deal if we had contacted the tour company ourselves but we didn't mind at that point. Once we got to our room, we were in heaven. The decor was perfect, the bed was wonderful but the best part was by far the jacuzzi tub. It was so relaxing to have that amenity available after being in the car for so long. There was also a towel warmer in the bathroom, which made it extra special. I would definitely stay here again and I plan to!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Hillary S,
Thank you very much for your great comments. We appreciate package holidays can offer the full spectrum of hotels but our mission is always the same, to ensure each and every guest the same level of service and attention. The particular package you are on seems to involve a lot of driving and we've found that many people are glad of the day out of their while being chauffeured around the beautiful Ring of Kerry or Dingle.
Also, approx 50% of our rooms come with Jacuzzi baths and they are always a very welcome addition to the room. We're glad you enjoyed the relaxation.
Thank you again for taking the time to review us and I hope you had a safe journey home,
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,404 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,216 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#12 of 38 in Killarney
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
908 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,177 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Killarney

Property: International Hotel Killarney
Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#5 Business Hotel in Killarney
#11 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — International Hotel Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A firm favourite with visitors to Killarney, the luxurious 4* International is one of Killarney's longest established and best loved hotels, bringing our guests the warmest of welcomes and our promise of excellence. Located in the heart of Killarney Town, just a stroll from Killarney National Park & Killarney House, boasting 94 exquisite guestrooms (Classic, Superior & Executive) each with a perfect blend of classical elegance and modern design to ensure our guests a restful nights sleep Facilities include Hannigans Award winning traditional Bar & Restaurant, live music nightly in season. All areas have complimentary Wi-Fi. Further facilities include our modern, air-conditioned gym, Snooker room, library and a Residents Lounge with complimentary newspapers. Voted as one of Tripadvisors Top 25 Hotels in Ireland 2015, 2016, 2017 We look forward to welcoming you to the International Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your International Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing