We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, nice hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
International Hotel Killarney
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
rocky hill, CT USA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect location, nice hotel!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed for nights with a group tour.. We have visited Killarney many times, this is the first time in a hotel. The International is an older venerable hotel that is nicely appointed and decorated, retaining it's older charm with modern amenities. Our room was smallish, but had a comfortable king sized bed, plenty of closet space, and a nice clean big bathroom with a Jacuzzi tub and separate shower. Our view was of a courtyard and walls, but no matter, we did not spend much time in our room!
All the staff were very friendly and welcoming, and had an uncanny knack of anticipating our needs. We had a few meals in the restaurant, service was attentive and the food was very good.
The pub, Hanningan's, was a blast! The barmen are awesome, the music good, and the craic was mighty!
We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Cathy H,
Thank you for your lovely comments, we're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Many of our team have been with us for many years, hospitality is in their blood and of course Neill and his crew in Hannigans Bar go above and beyond to ensure everyone a good night!
We'd love to see you back again and in the meantime, thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel so positively.
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,541
    420
    79
    28
    12
See reviews for
491
896
87
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Novato, California
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2014

what a great city!!!! Fun,fun, fun, Lots to do and see. The Hotel was great lots of old world ambiance. The staff was for the most part great, the gals at the front desk were suprisingly not very helpful and didnt want to seem to get up off their chairs for anything. Other than that incredible.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigmove1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, General Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Bigmove1,
Thank you for your great review of our hotel, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
However I am genuinely very surprised that you felt our Front Office team were not very helpful, it would be most unlike them and I have messaged you privately requesting a little more information on this.
However, all feedback is much appreciated and we thank you again for taking the time to give it.
We hope to maybe see you back again at another time,
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We felt this was the best place we stayed during our vacation in Ireland. We loved the old world charm and everything was clean and pristine. Even more so the employees went beyond our expectations of service and friendliness. They showed the most concern of being accommodating to our needs. We loved the location because we were able to get around to many shops and restaurants without the use of the car. The buggy rides were right across the street and took full advantage of it. We have several friends and relatives planning their trips here and am planning to make sure they make this place one of them to stay at.

Room Tip: The corner room was the best of the three rooms large spacious bathroom, but can't complain abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dfmgsully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear dfmgsully,
Thank you for your lovely review. Many guests comment on the old world charm and ambience of the hotel. We are one of the oldest hotels in Killarney and the property retains many of its original features including high ceilings and nooks and crannies which we have incorporated into cosy sitting areas for relaxing in.
We'd be delighted to welcome your friends and family to the hotel and thank you for your recommendations.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We had a very nice time at the International Hotel. Our room was very comfortable. Everyone working at the hotel was extremely nice and helpful. We enjoyed a great meal at the restaurant and had a fun time at the bar. The location could not be beat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Judy J,
Thanks for your lovely comments, we're delighted you enjoyed your stay and we'd love to welcome you back at another time.
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

The International Hotel was a comfortable, clean, friendly hotel in downtown Killarney. The only downside was the parking was up the road; not a problem in warm, sunny weather but early spring weather was windy and wet.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Mary P,
Thank you your great review, we're sorry you found the parking difficult as genuinely it does not pose a problem for us except for maybe 5-6 very busy weeks in July/August.
That said, I take your point about the weather, which has improved greatly this week.
We're glad however that you enjoyed the hotel itself, our staff and facilities and hope to see you back again at another time,
Best regards
Anne Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hummels Wharf, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed at the Killarney International Hotel on March 10th and 11th 2014. It is a very beautiful old Hotel in the heart of Killarney that you could walk to many resturants and shops. The rooms were a little small but we were not in our room for very long. The atmosphere was great and the breakfasts were wonderful. If we ever get to Killarney we would stay at the International Hotel and highly recommend it to everyone.
Kathy Young
Hummels Wharf, PA

Room Tip: One rooms in the front of the Hotel have a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Kathy,
Thank you for your lovely comments following your recent stay with us, The warm friendly atmosphere of the hotel is something that is commented on frequently and we strive at all times to ensure all our guests enjoy their stay with us.
We hope to see you back again for a longer stay and appreciate you taking the time to review your visit.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The International Hotel is an excellent choice in the quaint town of Killarney. The price was great for the quality. Our room was a huge corner room on the 1st floor (really the 2nd floor) with a king size bed & a twin bed. The bathroom had a whirlpool tub and separate shower. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating, offering dinner choices and making reservations for us. They also booked us on a perfect Ring of Kerry tour, which was outstanding, due in part to a beautiful sunny day! The breakfast was included in our price, which was excellent. The only thing that I did not realize when I booked this hotel was that there is no parking for your rental car. You have to park in the city lot up the street and put money in the parking meter. It was free on Sunday, though.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room because I think it is larger, and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schnoodle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Schnoodle,
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and your room. 40 of our 90 rooms come with Jacuzzi bath, a nice way to relax at the end of a busy day sightseeing! And of course, there's lots to see and do from our town centre location.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Ireland and we thank you for taking the time to review us so positively,
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,387 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,193 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
899 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,146 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Killarney

Property: International Hotel Killarney
Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Killarney
#5 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#11 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — International Hotel Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A firm favourite with visitors to Killarney, the luxurious 4* International is one of Killarney's longest established and best loved hotels, bringing our guests the warmest of welcomes and our promise of excellence. Located in the heart of Killarney Town, just a stroll from Killarney National Park & Killarney House, boasting 94 exquisite guestrooms (Classic, Superior & Executive) each with a perfect blend of classical elegance and modern design to ensure our guests a restful nights sleep Facilities include Hannigans Award winning traditional Bar & Restaurant, live music nightly in season. All areas have complimentary Wi-Fi. Further facilities include our modern, air-conditioned gym, Snooker room, library and a Residents Lounge with complimentary newspapers. Voted as one of Tripadvisors Top 25 Hotels in Ireland 2015, 2016, 2017 We look forward to welcoming you to the International Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your International Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing