We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“70th Birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
International Hotel Killarney
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at the International Hotel Killarney as part of a weeks trip to see Southern Ireland for the first time, on my husbands 70th birthday.I have to say the staff, the rooms,the service,and the position of the hotel was very good .The only thing that was disappointing was the meals in the restaurant at night,we were served warmed up chips that were either frozen or par fries not fresh potatoes, and the portions quite small, we asked for more and were given more and some newly fried chips with an apology.Breakfast was very good with very friendly and helpful staff, we would stay there again but eat out in the evenings.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkshirecouple2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Yorkshirecouple2013,
Thank you for your very kind comments on our rooms, staff and service following your recent stay. We are sorry that you were somewhat disappointed with your meal in Hannigans, but glad to see that the matter was resolved to your satisfaction. Hannigans is generally considered one of the best restaurants in Killarney, rated highly on Tripadvisor Restaurants.
However we appreciate all feedback, and we hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your week around Ireland. In the meantime, we would also like to wish your husband a (belated) Very Happy Birthday from all of us at the International.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,462 - 1,468 of 2,190 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend. First impression was oh dear is this where I am staying! The receptionist wasn't very welcoming I also had to ask her where & what time breakfast was available. However I was thankfully relieved when we got to our room as it was nice, beds were so comfy, bathroom wasn't great I absolutely hate showers over baths. Breakfast was yummy & waitress were extremely welcoming & tentative. Feel that if you want a very average hotel that's nothing special you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Whitewi,
Thank you for your review which we are naturally disappointed with, however all comments are appreciated so that we can improve our service to our guests.
Just a few things if we could comment, our location is in Killarney town centre and the hotel is a listed building, over 100 years old, while fully renovated it still maintains many of the original features, and beautiful carved staircase. We appreciate this may not be to everyones taste if a more modern style is preferred.
Regarding your check-in, we do apologise that you were not given a more warm welcome on arrival, as this is very important to us and I will be taking it up with the staff member on duty on the day. Based on your information above, we have been able to ascertain with a fair amount of certainty your room number and arrival time.
Also, we do have bedrooms with separate showers and are happy to allocate one on request.
I am pleased however that you liked your room and that you enjoyed your breakfast the following morning and we thank you again for taking the time to give us your thoughts.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We recently toured Irleland and stayed in Killarney for two days at the Internatinal Hotel. Our room was reserved by Irish Rail Tours and we were expecting a decent, moderately priced hotel. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel was lovely; European classical furnishings and decorations, not out dated as another reviewer suggested. It was clean, well lit, the sheets and towels were plush and the bed was comfortable. Granted the room wasn't spacious ala Las Vegas dimensions but it was well layed out, had two windows that opened and (my wife's favorite) had a heated towel rack in the bathroom. Also, there were two armoires and a safe.

The desk personnel were helpful and the service was excellent. The chocolates on the pillows were a nice touch.

Just around the block is the main drag of Killarney where most of the restaurants are located; less than a 50 meter walk.

I would highly recommned this hotel for those staying in Killarney.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TTerpFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Tomterpfan
Thank you for your lovely review. We look after most of Railtours clients during their Killarney stay. Our town centre location is extremely convenient for their pick-up for their Tours and train and they run excellent trips. They are a very good client of ours so we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found our staff very helpful.
I hope the remainder of your holiday was enjoyable and that you had a safe journey home.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Well-located, superior hotel. Clean, comfortable rooms, good breakfast, attentive staff. The only downside was that it took almost 15 minutes for the hot water to come up. Ultimately, it did, but the after turning on the tap. I spoke to the management, who said to let the water run. That worked, but it's wasteful. Other than that minor issue, a lovely place to stay. I knocked one star off the rating for the water issue.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heartland23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Heartland23,
Thank you for your very kind review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We want to assure you the issue with the water was a one-off , our Maintenance Manager had been working on the system and it required some fine-tuning. We fully agree with you that it would be highly wasteful to let water run and I assure you that this is not the case, we are extremely eco conscious at this hotel.
That aside, we appreciate all comments and we much prefer to deal with any issues at the time so thank you for bringing the matter to our attention.
We hope to see you again at another time and wish you all the very best,
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager+

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I love TripAdvisor, and rely almost entirely on its reviews when planning a holiday, but sometimes I wonder if a few positive reviews create a herd mentality among its users, falsely inflating the quality of any given hotel or restaurant. The International Hotel in Killarney is not a bad place to stay; the rooms are clean, and its staff tries to be helpful. If you're on a budget, it is a perfectly acceptable place to rest your head after touring your way across Dingle or around the Ring of Kerry. But is it excellent? No. The rooms are small and outdated. The bathrooms, too, are uncomfortably small and poorly designed. My father complained one more than once that, to sit on the toilet, he had to cram his knees into the wall ahead. More annoying, however, was the Christmas-like lights that cover the hotel's front exterior. Imagine how pleasant it is, trying to sleep when a National Lampoon-type light display is blazing just outside your window. So if you're expecting home-like comfort in Killarney, my experience suggests you will not find it at the International Hotel. If you're only looking for someplace clean and budget-friendly (with an admittedly delicious free breakfast), then you're definitely looking at the right place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BedewedWithPleasures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear BedewedWithPleasures,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
As we always stress, all reviews are important to us and while of course we wish that every single reviewer gave us 5 stars, we understand taste is subjective.
We do however feel that our customers and reviewers are not so easily led as to have a 'Herd Mentality' and are very well able to make up their own minds.
Regarding our exterior lighting, unfortunately I do not know what room you stayed in but all front rooms (where the lights are) have heavy duty black-out curtains and these rooms were totally renovated in 2011 - in fact they are our most requested rooms due to their views of the Jaunting cars and National Park.
We do however appreciate your review and hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday in Ireland,
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel is handy to everything in Killarney, trains, tours etc.The staff were very accommodating. I had made an error when booking the hotel 3 months ago but they fixed it all and I got a lovely room.



  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Terry,
Thank you for taking the time to review us so positively.
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that your small issue with your Reservation was resolved to your satisfaction.
We hope we'll see back again at another time,
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Myself and friend just returned from a 2 night stay in this wonderful hotel. We were greeted by a very pleasent and helpful receptionist called Louise, nothing was too much hassle. She kindly arranged a late checkout for us and organised taxis for myself and friend. The rooms were very clean and spacious. We have stayed in many hotels in Killarney, but I have to say that the international hotel tops all hotels in the area. We will be back! Thanks guys for a lovely holiday....

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dav2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Dav2911,
Thanks for your great comments, we're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I will be sure to pass on your lovely compliments to Louise.
We're very happy to be your new favourite hotel in Killarney and we work hard to make sure each and every guest has a great stay.
We look forward to seeing you back again on your next visit.
With best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,460 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,384 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#11 of 38 in Killarney
998 reviews
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,603 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Killarney

Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#5 Business Hotel in Killarney
#11 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $109 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — International Hotel Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A firm favourite with visitors to Killarney, the luxurious 4* International is one of Killarney's longest established and best loved hotels, bringing our guests the warmest of welcomes and our promise of excellence. Located in the heart of Killarney Town, just a stroll from Killarney National Park & Killarney House, boasting 94 exquisite guestrooms (Classic, Superior & Executive) each with a perfect blend of classical elegance and modern design to ensure our guests a restful nights sleep Facilities include Hannigans Award winning traditional Bar & Restaurant, live music nightly in season. All areas have complimentary Wi-Fi. Further facilities include our modern, air-conditioned gym, Snooker room, library and a Residents Lounge with complimentary newspapers. Voted as one of Tripadvisors Top 25 Hotels in Ireland 2015, 2016, 2017 We look forward to welcoming you to the International Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your International Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing