We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommended!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
International Hotel Killarney
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2008

I stayed in the International with 3 friends last weekend. We really enjoyed our stay - the staff were extremely friendly and couldnt have been more helpful. Before deciding where to stay we checked out a few other hotels and chose the International as the reservations manager Anne Marie was very professional and made a very good impression. We were not disappointed. The location of the hotel is excellent -right in the heart of the town. The bedrooms were spacious and the food was very good. The receptionist gave us tips on shops to check out -got some lovely clothes in Weardrobe and Scarlet Ribbon. Overall a great weekend and we hope to go back again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Breda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,099 - 2,105 of 2,190 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2008

Stayed at the Best Western Killarney International March 2008. Excellent location within easy walking distance of all downtown attractions, shopping, restaurants and pubs. Friendly Hannigans Pub attached. Delicious full Irish breakfast included. Large, modern rooms. Internet access. Very helpful staff. Paid 130 Euros per night mid week. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank themama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2008

We stayed at the International Hotel for two nights recently. The hotel bedroom was a little on the small side but very clearn and warm. THe service was very good and staff were very helpfull at all times. We had lunch on arrival which was nice, our evening meal that night was really lovely and cooked to perfection. Breakfast on both morning was really very nice also. The hotel is quite central the only thing is there is no paking which is a bit inconvenient. A public carpark just down the raod is the best place to park at 1euro an hour until 6.30 then free after that but it is difficult to get a spot. We were waiting about half an hour on sat afternoon for a spot. The hotel did run out of hot water in our section of the hotel on sat nite so we couldnt have a shower before heading out for the night which was unfortunate but hopefully this was a one off and they did appologise many time for this. Overall had a very pleasent stay and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMR610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights on a weekend break flying from Manchester with Aer Arann. We paid £133 via ebookers for 2 nights bed and breakfast, this was for a standard room. We collected a hire car from Kerry Airport but had a little trouble finding the hotel, which is opposite the cinema in the centre of town. The hotel doesn't have its own car park but you can use the public ones just up the road. Charges are payable Monday to Saturday from 8.30 am until 6.30 pm at 1 euro per hour. It's a short walk down the road to the hotel, so not a problem. Check in was fast and efficient. Our standard room was clean and sufficient for our needs. Unfortunately the room overlooked an alleyway at the side of the hotel and this turned out to be a major cut through from the cinema into town. Although on the second floor, the sound reverberated and we were kept awake virtually all night. I rang reception at 1.30 am but was told there were no other rooms available. However, when we complained the next morning the very pleasant receptionist was extremely polite and apologetic and upgraded us to an Executive Room in the newer part of the hotel! Excellent customer service. It's certainly worth the difference paying for one of these rooms. It was a lovely quiet room (no. 143) with jacuzzi bath, flat screen tv, hairdryer, kettle and very nice furnishings. The hotel's location is brilliant. You're right in the centre of things. The breakfast is probably the finest we've had. Table service and a choice of Irish breakfast or fish dishes, together with delicious porridge and the usual juices, cereals, yogurts, etc. Highly recommended! All in all I would recommend staying here, but definitely opt for the Executive Room and make sure your room doesn't overlook the alleyway or you may be in for a sleepless night, especially at weekends!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jules K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2008

We stayed here for a couple of nights during a self-drive tour of Ireland.
We arrived earlier than expected, but were able to check in with no problem. Our room was very comfortable (standard room, not executive) with plenty of room for our luggage and bits & pieces we had accumulated over several weeks of travelling. Bathroom was plenty big enough with bath and shower.
Breakfast was included and was really good with plenty of choice. We didn't eat any other meals in the hotel, however we did have a lunch added to our bill in error, but that was removed as soon as we pointed out that it wasn't ours.
Location is really good - just a few minutes walk to town centre shops, etc and a laundromat just around the corner.
The only downside here was parking - it's on a meter with a maximum of I think 3 hours (memory's fading!) so if you're just hanging around town you have to keep moving the car. Overnight parking is free, but the meters kick in again at 8am, so you either have to feed the meter or move the car.
Would I stay here again - yes, definately.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank I'madesertgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2008

I stayed at this hotel after Xmas thru to the new year. I read two reviews posted by the last two reviewers and Im not sure if we stayed at the same hotel at all. The Best Wesern International was super & it was really xmassy to. There is a hugemoungous xmas tree in the lobby of the hotel and all outside was lit up with fancy lites. Ill post up some photos I took as soon as I get the chance.
I never thought of going to Killarney in winter before as I always thought of it as a summer town but its great for winter to. I went ice skating in the town which was cool but got a couple of bruises when I fell!! N Years is excellent is Killarney, we had a class nite out and we only had to stagger a few minutes walk until we were tucked up in bed. I got dinner in the hotel before I went out and they had a fancy do with a four course meal and baloons and stuff which was class also.
I have to congratulate the girls on the desk, I found them really kind and friendly, they gave me the insiders track on where to go out for the night and they sympathised when I came down with a sore head the next morning!!!!
This is really cool hotel with super people working dere and Im deffo going bak in the summer.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank podge-rodgeCarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2008

Having returned from the Best Western International Hotel in Killarney two nights ago, myself and the party I was travelling with are still outraged at the manner in which we were treated. I was with a group of six girls and we had travelled to killareny for a birthday weekend. We are six well mannered, polite girls and the way we were treated was completely incongruous.

Dispite being treated abruptly at check in, the trip was going fine until we got a phonecall at 9 o clock in the morning to tell us we were being fined for disrupting the guests next door to us, and using foul language towards them when asked to be quiet.

The reality is it was not our group who were making the noise. We did not have anyone come to our door to ask us to be quiet. And we certainly did not use foul language towards anyone.

The guests who complained obviously got it wrong as to who was making the noise, but the hotel staff simply failed to listen to a word we had to say! When we went to check out and explain our case, we were laughed at and ridiculed. It was obvious that because of our age group (21 average) we were treated without an ounce of respect. The kind respect any human being deserves.

In the end we were threatened by hotel staff that if we wouldnt pay the fine, it would be deducted from our credit card anyway. They backed us into a corner, and we had no choice but to pay. Pay a fine for something we did not do.

There were obviously other guests around and we were embarrassed by the hotel staff who were completely unproffessional towards all of us.

I'd reccommend this hotel to anyone who doesn't have a problem with forking out an extra 60euro on top of their bill, for a "crime" they did not commit.

I wouldn't reccommend this hotel to anyone who likes to be treated with respect and dealt with in a proffessional manner by hotel staff.

Maybe it was because of our age we were treated like this-in that case I would not reccommend this hotel to anyone who dislikes discrimination of any kind, because discriminating, disrespectful and unproffessional is the only way to describe the staff at the Best Western International Hotel in Killarney .

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VickyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,460 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,384 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#11 of 38 in Killarney
998 reviews
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,603 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Killarney

Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#5 Business Hotel in Killarney
#11 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $109 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — International Hotel Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A firm favourite with visitors to Killarney, the luxurious 4* International is one of Killarney's longest established and best loved hotels, bringing our guests the warmest of welcomes and our promise of excellence. Located in the heart of Killarney Town, just a stroll from Killarney National Park & Killarney House, boasting 94 exquisite guestrooms (Classic, Superior & Executive) each with a perfect blend of classical elegance and modern design to ensure our guests a restful nights sleep Facilities include Hannigans Award winning traditional Bar & Restaurant, live music nightly in season. All areas have complimentary Wi-Fi. Further facilities include our modern, air-conditioned gym, Snooker room, library and a Residents Lounge with complimentary newspapers. Voted as one of Tripadvisors Top 25 Hotels in Ireland 2015, 2016, 2017 We look forward to welcoming you to the International Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your International Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing