We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
International Hotel Killarney
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Clare
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“fantastic stay”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed here with my daughter. We loved everything about the hotel. it is in a fantastic location near to the centre of town. The food was fantastic and the staff couldn't have been nicer. We found Kilarney in general to be a great place to stay. The people were friendly and there was loads to do. The atmosphere was great. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaregirlClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear ClareGirlClare,
Thanks so much for your great review, we are very glad that you and your daughter had such a good stay with us and enjoyed the hotel.
Killarney is a great town, you are quite correct - with loads to see and do and the natives are very friendly!
We hope we'll see you back again at another time and thank you again for taking the time to give us your thoughts.
With best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,512
    417
    79
    28
    12
See reviews for
477
883
86
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a very enjoyable three night stay at The International Hotel. This is a charming older hotel in a great location. The train station, cinema and the Killarney outlet centre is close by. A few steps the other direction and you're on main street. Our upgraded room was very spacious and clean with a double & single bed, I really liked that we could open the window. The bathroom was also spacious and very clean. The staff were very friendly, helpful & knowledgeable. The bar & restaurant is very nice and the food is excellent, great value for money. The wait staff could not do enough for us. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ab0h13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear AboH13,
Thank you so much for your lovely detailed review of our hotel.
Customer satisfaction is our number one priority and our staff are always commented on very favourably, most of whom are local or have lived in Killarney a good while so do know the area well - very important for visitors to our town.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again at another time,
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is in a prime location which would leave no worries for taxi's at the end of a night. The cinema is across the way and the town centre is always buzzing. There are many nearby car parks.
The hotel is a bit of a maze and we were on the third floor which took a while to get to. The room was very nice with a double bed and two single beds. It was very spacious and the bathroom was lovely too. There was no view from the window and the beds were only ok for comfort. The air conditioning was in perfect working order.
The staff were very accomodating even when we arrived down a little late for breakfast.
The reason it surprised me is that the hotel never stood out to me as an option before however on staying there I would defineately consider returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelle0k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear ChelleOK,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Judging from your description of your room, I believe you were in our Executive section which was newly built in a courtyard area of the hotel a few years back. The hotel is one of the oldest in Killarney, obviously completely renovated but maintaining many of the original features which make the hotel unique.
While we're pleased you liked your room, I am a little surprised that you did not find the beds particularly comfortable, they are usually commented on very favourably and are all handmade in Ireland with memory foam mattresses, that said, we appreciate the comfort of a bed is definitely a personal choice.
So, we thank you again for your favourable review, and now you have 'discovered' the International we hope that you will choose to stay with us again next time you are in Killarney.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A very enjoyable stay over Easter , extremely friendly and good service. Food good with a nice bar and always served with a smile !
Excellent location though the parking situation not ideal. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisbc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear ChisBC17,
We're delighted you enjoyed your break over Easter with us and thank you very much for your great comments.
We look forward to hopefully seeing you back again at another time,
With best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

About 20 girls stayed for a night in March. We had dinner booked in the hotel too for the girly together, great 3 course meal was served for very good value for money.
The staff were very helpful and friendly right from booking stage to check in and in the bar/restaurant. The hotel has a brilliant location in the town.
Any time I stay in Killarney it is the only place I stay!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzyDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Leonora,
We're delighted you all enjoyed your night and thank you for your wonderful review.
We really appreciate your loyalty to the hotel and hope to see back again soon.
With best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just a one night stay but the staff were so helpful and obviously love their jobs.Food in Hannigans
restaurant was excellent quality and staff the best we ever experienced.The rooms were of good quality,the only little quibble it was too warm. The breakfast selection and service was first class .We would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: Eat in restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Tim B,
Thanks so much for your fantastic review, and compliments on our staff, we're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.Hopefully your next one will be a little longer and we look forward to having you back at another time!
With best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2013

A bit of a bother navigating to our room, but it was well appointed and very clean. The staff was so friendly and helpful, a shout out to the very proper Englishman on early morning duty at the front desk, helped me purchase cigarettes in a machine, made change for me, and insisted that I got the brand I wanted. A gentleman in every sense. Had drinks outdoors, in the sidewalk seating, impeccable service. A short walk to shopping and dining. Great breakfast, the usual fattening Irish fare, waiters were wonderful. Also, help with luggage, a rarity, it seems, in Ireland. A great stay, throughout!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Tom M,
Thank you for your great comments and I will be sure to pass them on to our team - Peter especially ( who incidentally is not English but does not very cultured!).
We have Front Hall Porters on duty 24 hours to assist with all requests, including luggage as you kindly pointed out.
The International is all about great service and I am delighted you found this to be the case and again, thank you for taking the time to review your stay, it is much appreciated,
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#12 of 38 in Killarney
2,163 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,354 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
887 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,122 reviews
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Killarney

Property: International Hotel Killarney
Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#5 Business Hotel in Killarney
#11 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — International Hotel Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A firm favourite with visitors to Killarney, the luxurious 4* International is one of Killarney's longest established and best loved hotels, bringing our guests the warmest of welcomes and our promise of excellence. Located in the heart of Killarney Town, just a stroll from Killarney National Park & Killarney House, boasting 94 exquisite guestrooms (Classic, Superior & Executive) each with a perfect blend of classical elegance and modern design to ensure our guests a restful nights sleep Facilities include Hannigans Award winning traditional Bar & Restaurant, live music nightly in season. All areas have complimentary Wi-Fi. Further facilities include our modern, air-conditioned gym, Snooker room, library and a Residents Lounge with complimentary newspapers. Voted as one of Tripadvisors Top 25 Hotels in Ireland 2015, 2016, 2017 We look forward to welcoming you to the International Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your International Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing