We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and quality hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
International Hotel Killarney
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Loved this hotel. Excellent location. Will be back again. Rooms very clean. Had no breakfast so can't comment on that. Will def recommend to friends and family. Was staying for wedding nearby and this hotel was in excellent location.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glantann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Glantann,
Thank you very much for your review of the International Hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and of course even more so to hear that you would return!
l pass on your kind comments to all relevant departments as we really appreciate all guest feedback, and we hope to see you again at another time.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,648 - 1,654 of 2,228 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

The location of this hotel is awesome, and it really is beautiful. The room was beautiful, too, and the bed super comfy. My low rating is a reflection of the customer service we received. When we arrived, our room was not ready yet (no problem, we were early). They asked us to wait and said they would have someone get the room ready right away. I went to the ladies room in the lobby while we waited, and they were out of toilet paper. One of the toilets was stopped up, and one of the faucets would not turn off. When I came back out, I let the person at the front desk know this. A couple minutes later a maintenance woman went into the bathroom, and when she came back out she told me that none of the toilets were stopped up, and that the faucet turned off just fine. Okaaaaaay. I guess I was wrong? When we saw the beautiful room, I quickly put the incident out of my mind.

Later that evening after we returned from dinner, the room was very cold. We tried everything we could think of to get the heat to come on, but finally had to give up and call the front desk to ask for help. After over an hour had passed, no one had come to our room, so we called again. This time, a nice gentleman promptly came up. He was able to turn the heat on straight away. We felt a little silly, apologized, and he left. About 30 minutes later, the heat turned off. We had watched what the gentleman had done to turn it on, but we could not get it to work. Feeling embarrassed, we had to call the front desk again. About 30 minutes later, the same man came up, and he turned the heat on straight away, again. This time, I asked him to please show me what he had done. this is when he stated that the heat as to be turned at the front desk? So, once they did that, all he did was come up and turn the nob. Gee thanks for telling us. But wait - that's not all. 30 minutes later, heat turns off again. We call the front desk and they inform us that they will turn it on one more time, but that they are not allowed to have it on after 10pm. So, we were cold all night. If we ever return to Killarney, we will try someplace else.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlawish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Tlawish,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and while we appreciate all feedback, of course we are disappointed that overall, your stay did not live up to your expectations.
The last thing we wish to do is contradict you as I understand you feel this was done to you at the hotel, but suffice to say we're very sorry that your experience with our staff was not up to scratch as this is generally one of the areas we are most highly complmented on.
However we take it on board and will bring it to our staff attention at our next meeting.
I do feel however that we have to comment on the heating, as there is no 10pm time curfew on it and I cant understand why you might have been told this, again I can only apologise for any miscommunication.
However, we do appreciate your kind comments on our location, decor and bedrooms and hope that you enjoyed your time in Killarney and Ireland,
With kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed in the International Hotel on a girls night away and we couldn't have asked for more! From the moment we arrived to our check out the following morning we were made feel like we were so welcome. The staff were very friendly, rooms were spotless and the breakfast was beautiful. Will definitely be returning to stay at this hotel. Good value for town centre, walking distance to all restaurants and bars. You can't ask for more than that!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antoinette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Antoinette,
Thank you for taking the time to review the International Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and are only sorry it was not longer, hopefully next time.
Our thinking is that a good nights sleep in a comfortable bed, with a great breakfast and being greeted with a smile are the essentials for an enjoyable night away and we're very glad that it is being appreciated!
We look forward to seeing you on your next stay with us,
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed again in the International Hotel Killarney on Saturday night. The staff in this hotel are very helpful & friendly. They made us feel most welcome on arrival.
We were up graded on arrival to an Executive room which was beautiful. Lovely big bed, Jacuzzi bath. Room was very modern, tastfully decorated, big & had everything we could need.
Breakfast was beautiful, great selection & choice. Perfect start to a good day.
Location is perfect, in centre of Killarney town. Close to everything. Couldn't recomment this hotel highly enough. Will be back to stay on our bext visit.

Room Tip: The Executive room is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Joanne,
Thanks so much for your lovely review, we're delighted that you choose to stay with us when you come to Killarney as we really value our return guests - we can only repeat again how important you are to us.
Hopefully we'll see you back again soon, and in the meantime thank you again for taking the time to give your comments, we do appreciate it.
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The room has some very nice touches that make it stand out. Air conditioned, and with better quality fittings than most, it has clearly been upgraded recently. The breakfast was also very good value for money, and there's a lively and friendly bar. The hotel is a short stroll from the town centre, the horse drawn buggies are across the street, and the shops are all close by. There is no car park, but underground and surface car parking are both close, and not expensive for an overnight stop.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter at weekends, but it isn't critical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Gareth,
Thank you so much for your lovely review.
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and yes - you are quite correct - the hotel has been fully renovated over the last few years to a very high standard. In fact the last collection of bedrooms came back into use last week after their facelift and we're been getting great feedback.
We'd be delighted to welcome you back again at another time and thank you very much for choosing to stay with us.
With best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My stay at the hotel was grand! I was there for two nights. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The room was glorious, and I made good use of the jacuzzi.
The breakfast was wonderful-the food was good, -there were lots of choices, and the service was excellent.
The hotel is situated a short walk from the train station. Shopping and restaurants are nearby.
all in all, it was a lovely stay. I would recommend it to anyone, and I definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear DP,
What can we say except thank you very much for your wonderful comments on our hotel and service - While all feedback is appreciated, of course when it is so positive, all the better! And needless to say, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us so much.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Ireland and had a safe journey home and in the meanwhile, wishing you a very Happy St Patricks Day,
With best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed two nights in March for a local wedding. Breakfast was truly delicious. Staff were extremely friendly and in no rush to clear us out even at 11.30 am. Plenty activity during the day. Bedrooms very spacious and well decorated. Overall a good experience and we both would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are worth the extra few euro
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Mary F,
Thank you very much for your very kind review, we're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
All of our rooms have been renovated over the last couple of years to a very high standard, in fact the final 16 just came back into use this month and we're getting fantastic feedback.
I hope you enjoyed the Wedding and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again at another time,
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#11 of 38 in Killarney
1,008 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#7 of 38 in Killarney
2,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Great Southern Killarney
Great Southern Killarney
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,357 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,392 reviews
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Killarney

Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Killarney
#5 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#10 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $113 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — International Hotel Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A firm favourite with visitors to Killarney, the luxurious 4* International is one of Killarney's longest established and best loved hotels, bringing our guests the warmest of welcomes and our promise of excellence. Located in the heart of Killarney Town, just a stroll from Killarney National Park & Killarney House, boasting 94 exquisite guestrooms (Classic, Superior & Executive) each with a perfect blend of classical elegance and modern design to ensure our guests a restful nights sleep Facilities include Hannigans Award winning traditional Bar & Restaurant, live music nightly in season. All areas have complimentary Wi-Fi. Further facilities include our modern, air-conditioned gym, Snooker room, library and a Residents Lounge with complimentary newspapers. Voted as one of Tripadvisors Top 25 Hotels in Ireland 2015, 2016, 2017 We look forward to welcoming you to the International Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your International Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing