We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel & Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
International Hotel Killarney
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Thurles, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel & Friendly Staff”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is my first time to write a review about any hotel i have stayed in! thats how much i would recommend this hotel. Stayed on Friday and Saturday night, staff were so friendly and helpful from the minute we arrived to checking out they greeted us with big smiles and made an effort to chat to us which was lovely. the beds were so comfortable i didnt want to leave! had a lovely dinner and drinks in Hannigans bar on friday night and it got even better when the live music started at 9.30.
cant remcommend this hotel enough great value for money, lovely staff and a great central location!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michellephelan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Michelle,
We're blushing! Thank you so much for your wonderful comments, it's very flattering that you enjoyed your stay so much that it prompted you to write your first review.
We genuinely aspire to create a warm, welcoming atmosphere for our guests from check-in onwards and we feel it sets the tone for hopefully a great stay with us.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back at another time, and again thank you for taking the time to post your review.
With best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,560
    425
    80
    28
    15
See reviews for
497
910
90
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tipperary ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just got back home from after a great week-end at The International Hotel Killarney.What can I say we had as usual a great time there. This wasa our 4 th time staying there.It was great to see all the familiar faces working there and doing a great job.Every one of the staff were so nice and made our stay so good.a big THANK YOU We hope to go back there in October.I must mention Michael who is such a nice man he told me his wife Mary and himself have been working there for years .That says enough about this hotel.(happy in your work) To all the staff THANK YOU see you all again in October.

Room Tip: A Home from home
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank failte52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Failte52,
Thank you so much for your lovely review, all our guests are very welcome of course, but our return ones especially so. I will be sure to tell Mary and Michael you were enquiring about them, they have indeed been with the hotel for many years, as have most of the Supervisors and a lot of the staff.
We look forward to welcoming you both back again in October and thank you again for your time in reviewing us.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel. First class service, hospitality and most importantly food. Staff could not be more helpful. I can't wait to return to Killarney again to stay in the international hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMC187791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear DMC187791,
Thank you so much for your lovely comments on our hotel. To call us a 'home away from home' is truly a compliment to us as our aim is to provide a friendly, warm welcome and an enjoyable experience to all our guests.
We're very glad to hear that you will return to the International and we look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a family meal in the International last weekend and it was top class from food to service. Fantastic friendly helpful staff and great atmosphere in the Hotel.
Excellent central location.
Cleanliness was next to none.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Phil,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your dining experience with us, we're delighed you enjoyed your meal in Hannigans. Our Head Chef and his team are passionate about food and using only the freshest of local ingredients wherever possible and it shows.
Also of course, thank you for your lovely comments on our staff, which I'll be sure to pass on to them.
We very much hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again at another time.
With best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hotel was very clean and attractive but there is no readily available parking. The staff were very helpful - one doorman "saved" us a parking space with orange cones so that we could park in front of the hotel after we got back from our Ring of Kerry drive! The breakfast room was very beautiful and service wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Anne B,
Thank you for your review, we're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regarding parking,due to the extremely central location of the hotel, we don't have our own car park, but parking is plentiful around town, and good value, ( approx €7 per day) with 3 large car parks within a 3 minute radius of the hotel. We also have a set-down area for unloading luggage and a Porter on duty 24 hours a day to assist. We're glad this option worked for you and that you enjoyed your day on the Ring of Kerry.
With kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Friday night receptionist very grumpy. Our room was tiny, no hot water shower unless you scald yourself in the bath, tiny single beds. Just very unlucky I guess. Rest was lovely tho,overall food and service, location.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loveluxury2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Loveluxury,
Thank you for taking the time to review us, and while we obviously wish it was a more positive review overall, we appreciate all feedback and we're glad you enjoyed some elements of your stay.
I cant say from your details what room you were in, we do have slightly varying size rooms but generally they are all of a reasonable size, so I do apologise that you were disappointed.
If you would give us the opportunity to redress the situation next time you are in Killarney, I would be happy to offer you a Complimentary Upgrade to an Executive room and a very favourable rate.
With best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions,most recently last weekend.Always it is a great hotel to stay,so central to everything.I have found all the staff to so nice,polite and very helpful.Any room i have stayed in was of a good size and always exceptionally clean.Breakfast is first class and there is a cosy bar if you favour a drink.I will be back again and can only say to anyone that if you visit Killarney this is the place to stay,you will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Ask for room in the front,views of the square and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Michael,
Thank you for your lovely review. We really appreciate such positive comments on our hotel and staff and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
We are holding your front room for you!
With best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,406 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,229 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#12 of 38 in Killarney
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
910 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,187 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Killarney

Property: International Hotel Killarney
Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Killarney
#5 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#11 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — International Hotel Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A firm favourite with visitors to Killarney, the luxurious 4* International is one of Killarney's longest established and best loved hotels, bringing our guests the warmest of welcomes and our promise of excellence. Located in the heart of Killarney Town, just a stroll from Killarney National Park & Killarney House, boasting 94 exquisite guestrooms (Classic, Superior & Executive) each with a perfect blend of classical elegance and modern design to ensure our guests a restful nights sleep Facilities include Hannigans Award winning traditional Bar & Restaurant, live music nightly in season. All areas have complimentary Wi-Fi. Further facilities include our modern, air-conditioned gym, Snooker room, library and a Residents Lounge with complimentary newspapers. Voted as one of Tripadvisors Top 25 Hotels in Ireland 2015, 2016, 2017 We look forward to welcoming you to the International Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your International Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing