We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great place to switch off from the world” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cahernane House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cahernane House
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a great place to switch off from the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

Just spent a lovely weekend in The Cahernane with my wife. The staff were really helpful, they upgraded us to a beautiful room in the old house on arrival and looked after us very well during our stay. We had dinner there on Saturday night and the food was outstanding. This was our second time staying there and we'll be going back again.
Much nicer and much friendlier then the big 5 Star places in Killarney (2 of which we've stayed in) and certainly better value.
Thanks for the hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siamsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    85
    35
    15
    4
See reviews for
96
230
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

My mom and I were in Ireland for a week and were looking for the "castle feeling" for one of our night stays. The true castle hotels I had found online were a little out of our price range so we decided upon the Cahernane House (as it was much less at 190 euro a night for a gorgeous superior room). Upon arrival, I thought I had died and gone to heaven! I was so pleased and instantly knew I had to book another night as I knew there would be no way to leave the following morning. The place was beautiful and had so much character. I felt like I had stepped back in time and didn't want to leave. The furnishings and decor were lovely and all of the sitting/public rooms had lit fireplaces which added to the charm. The cellar bar had a great atmosphere and John was an absolute delight to have serving us our drinks and dinner. He gave us an excellent tip to visit the nearby Killarney National Park which we did and were so glad! Take a short and inexpensive tour with a jaunting car to the Muckross House... you won't be disappointed. We also walked into the center of town (an easy 15 minute walk) and enjoyed Killarney nightlife both of the evenings we were there. We enjoyed tons of pubs with Irish music playing all night, which is typical of most cities in Ireland. I could have stayed at the Cahernane House all week but wanted to see other parts of the beautiful country. I can't wait to return with my husband and spend more time at this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corkymaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

Stayed at the Cahernane House Hotel earlier in the year. A lovely hotel set in its own grounds. The rooms were excellent and the food was satisfactory. The only slight niggle would be that there was no tea or coffee facilities in the room and at the price there should be. When I mentioned this I was told I could order through room service. However at 05.00 in the morning I just want to have a coffee when I want, not when room service want to deliver it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BMW8a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2010

I really enjoyed my stay at the Cahernane hotel. It is a hidden gem of Killarney. The hotel is located on the Muckross Road and has a beautiful tree filled avenue leading up to the hotel. The hotel itself is a lovely country house.It feels like going back in time into the world of the landed gentry. The room I stayed in was spacious with a comfortable bed and had a lovely bathroom with heated floor. I had dinner in the hotel and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were also friendly and helpful. If in Killarney definately give it a try. THe location is truly special.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheguevara59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas, Ireland
Level Contributor
360 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

We stayed at Cahernane House Hotel for our first wedding anniversary. The hotel is really charming and all the staff welcoming and polite.
The location is beautiful, with lovely views, although you'd want to take a taxi/drive into town, it's a bit of a spin.
Our room definitely needed some TLC - the shower door wouldn't close properly, the fan in the bathroom was REALLY loud, the carpet and wallpaper were worn out and stained, the furniture was old (and not the kind of old you'd consider antique!) but the bed was incredibly comfortable! Plus it's really quiet and peaceful, good sleep guaranteed!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marla7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

From the lane that takes you off the main road toward Killarney, with its long canopy of shade trees to serve as a buffer from unwanted noise, to the patio in the sprawling back garden - a view of the Killarney hills, a fine Irish whiskey after a full day's hike through the nearby National Park. Cahernane is no ordinary emerald. I'd say the staff was professional, but that would somehow diminish the sense that I was staying in a friend's home - albeit quite a well-off friend! Any day that starts with a morning view like the one my room afforded would satisfy the most demanding needs for relaxation, peace and how one imagines the west of Ireland before they get there.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeOfTheNorthPole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

We stayed at the Cahernane House when our original accomodations at Ballyseede Castle were overbooked. The Ballyseede manager made these arrangements for us and we were very pleased. It is a manor house with a new addition attached. Our rooms in the addition were spacious with sitting areas, large walk-in closets and balconies overlooking the pastures that surround the home. One room had a whirlpool tub that was not working, however. The public areas of the house are beautiful set with antique furnishings. A pub was a nice alternative for dinner to the formal dining room. My teenage sons enjoyed the Snooker room until late in the evening and tennis court in the morning. Breakfast was wonderful. Wifi access in the public areas but it would more convenient to be able to access internet in the rooms. All in all, this was a pleasant surprise we hadn't planned for.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candqmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#12 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
0.7 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cahernane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cahernane House

Property: Cahernane House
Address: Muckross Road | Cahernane, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#19 Family Hotel in Killarney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cahernane House 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cahernane House Hotel is a boutique four-star hotel located on a private estate on the edge of Killarney Park. Formerly home to the Herbert Family, this manor house is just a 10 minute walk to Killarney town centre. The hotel boasts 38 unique guest rooms; 12 of which are located in the original house and the other 26 are located in the garden wing of the hotel. Each room has many of the original features including wooden ceiling beams and beautiful fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Cahernane House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cahernane House Hotel Killarney
Cahernane Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing