We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cahernane House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Brehon(Killarney)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gleneagle Hotel(Killarney)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Hotel(Killarney)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Randles Hotel(Killarney)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dromhall Hotel(Killarney)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (558)
Filter reviews
558 results
Traveler rating
403
95
40
15
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
403
95
40
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscellar barheated floorsbeautiful manor housesheep and cowstree lined driveclaw foot tubwalk in wardrobedrawing roomunderfloor heatingnew wingthe main housering of kerrynational parkmodern conveniencespublic roomsantique furnitureold world charm
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
273 - 278 of 558 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2013

If one wants to go back in time and enjoy Ireland as it was many years ago then this is the place to stay. A long tree lined drive greets you from the main road- a amazing sight as the leaves fall in November. The reception sets the scene with an open log fire. There are many amazing large rooms open to the public with old furniture and relazing seating. Great place to read a book. A large celar is down stairs where one can eat from a light menu. The food in the main restraunt is of top quality, well presented and one is not rushed. Breakfast is excellent with a large selection of cooked breakfast. The rooms are excellent. Do not expect CNN and channels on the TV are limited. We were the last customers to leave before the hotel closed for the winter. It opens again in March 2014. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Mountains- the views are great Internet is available in the receptions rooms close to the lobby. Great place to relax
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat1955021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Out of all the places that our group of 5 stayed over 2 weeks in Europe, this was our unanimous favorite. The rooms were nice but the real attraction here is the manor house itself. The public spaces are wonderful, the grounds are out of an 18th century painting and the public rooms are majestic and cozy feeling at the same time! It is really a special place and the people who we encountered who worked there were wonderfully knowledgeable, helpful and nice. The food was excellent both in the bar and the dining room. There is also so much to do in this area that we all wished we had planned more time there (Ring of Kerry, Dingle, world class golf courses). We are all planning our trip to return!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Jody L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Cahernane House hotel is very old, full of character in lovely grounds with superb breakfasts! The bedroom we stayed in was a 'standard' bedroom, nicely decorated with queen bed. HOWEVER!! Our bedroom was chilly when we arrived, and even though they gave us a plug in heater it was not near warm enough for our stay. The conservatory was freezing and the other public seating areas were definitely not warm enough. Also, there are only the Saorview channels and no wifi so a stay here might not suit some people! Don't think we would go back when Randles Court is just a stones throw down the road and far superior regarding comfort.

Stayed: October 2013
2  Thank Millieob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Having decided on a Thursday to head away for the weekend I couldn't have asked for a more perfect place. The setting - magical and the atmosphere so relaxing we ended up having dinner in the hotel!
Food was excellent considered we had the bar menu, even though the seating perhaps "too casual".
All in all a perfect weekend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grainne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel is ideally situated for exploring the ring of Kerry, as well as being close to Killarney town. It's setting is lovely with a beautiful view of the lake.

Our room was a generous size, clean, and decorated in keeping with the house. The bed was very hard and the pillows much too firm for me - I woke with a sore back. The breakfast was tasty and had a good selection - a buffet followed by a cooked breakfast option. The staff are friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the weather prevented us from exploring the grounds. The common living areas of the hotel are cosy with period decor and fires burning in the grates.

The hotel is decidedly low-tech with poor wifi and the television in the room so old that it is deeper than the screen is wide! It would be a good escape from the pressures of modern life.

We had a lovely weekend here and I would recommend it as a romantic country house hotel experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rach62442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews